wazua Tue, Apr 21, 2026

Who's cutting fiber in Kenya?
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 9:33:17 AM

Eiissh! Is this thing an excuse, genuine sabotage or not? Poor service.

Just heard Claire Ruto, Safaricom on radio saying there are malicious guys hacking fibre for a living. And I see Safaricom reporting 10 major fiber cuts last weeks outside road construction and infrastructure areas.

Then yesterday, cuts in Nairobi, Western, Central...until MPESA upgrade has been postponed.

And who owns this fiber? KDN, Orange, Jamii
Who benefits when these things are cut?

anasazi
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:13:40 AM

Yeah, I was wondering the same. This weekend there were too many cuts for it to be normal. Must be sabotage #shindwe
Form is temporary, class is permanent
sky5
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:44:03 AM

Fiber cuts could be as a result of various reasons:-

1. Sabotage - when competitors disrupt each others services
2. Vandalism - where vandals cut lines of cable to sell
3. Construction works for roads, houses etc
4. Poor cable layout, termination/splicing etc.

KenyanLyrics
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:45:30 AM

Looks like Bob Callmemore is gonna let other people speak on matters Safaricom
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:03:16 AM

He's also talking and he agrees with @sky5 reason 1.
Just 25mins ago @bobcollymore
Now convinced the increase in fibre cuts affecting Safaricom & Orange is sabotage. Govt engaged & helping to solve
kivairu
#6 Posted : Saturday, November 13, 2010 1:32:29 PM

Cutting fibre for whatever rason is the most stupid thing i ever heard.A whole economy is being sabotaged affecting each one of us in more ways than one.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
iKenya
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 9:18:46 AM

and how is this any different from cutting of landline telephone wires or tapping of elec/maji?? Which was/is happening all around you?
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 11:14:40 AM

kivairu wrote:
Cutting fibre for whatever rason is the most stupid thing i ever heard.A whole economy is being sabotaged affecting each one of us in more ways than one.

At least you didn't say one of the most stupid thing ever read coz I have sure just read one today.
mozenrat
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 3:54:31 PM

iKenya wrote:
and how is this any different from cutting of landline telephone wires or tapping of elec/maji?? Which was/is happening all around you?

Your point being????

#10 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 10:01:54 PM

Now that the cables serve as the primary conduit for kenya n the outside world, any acts of sabotage should be construed to be economic sabotage by Enemies Of The State. Such shameless n spineless scallywags should attract the harshest penalty fm the courts. In the US, that is a very serious criminal offence, ukishikwa wewe kwisha.