Kaigangio wrote:hi all,
I think this time round the public transport industry will be tamed kabisa and sanity brought back...14 seaters cease to be licenced as from january 2011...all public transport operators to join a licenced sacco or a transportation company by end of Dec 2010 in order to be elligible for the business, meaning to drivers and makangas it will be a normal and well guarded job just like the others, no more "squads"...
hey kimunya we not only want those teeth but fangs to subdue these mathree holigans..
looks like the meat has become juicier again in mathree industry...i am considering going back in...or could i be making a big mistake again?
Corruption, Corruption, Corruption!!!What's all this fascination with phasing out 14 seater matatus? Why do we always insist on killing the baby as soon as he gets a cold? Phasing out 14 seaters will not bring back sanity to the roads. who do you think will be driving the 33/48 seaters? Get
creative solutions!!!
This is my take - and my explanation as to why I believe this is another scam in the making. Some big shots have realized how lucrative the matatu business is and the want a piece of the cake. Nay, they want the whole cake! What to do? Start Bus Companies, but before then, get rid of the matatus to avoid competition. We'll end up with bus company monopolies in charge of public transport!
Monopolies!!! Guess who'll be owning them!