Fuel pumps - Are they up to standard?
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:49:21 AM

...Yesterday I filled my 60 litres tank vehicle with 63 litres in one of the 'branded' fuel stations. The manual of the car says that when the red sign comes on, there is 7 liters remaining in the tank. Since I wanted to check how many liters the tank will hold, I ran around for afew more kilometers and by the time I went for refilling there must have been 4 liters left. My question the is how can you fill a 60 liter tank with 65 litres or thereabout? Shell is a known company and I am sure there have their pumps checked by KEBS. HAs anybody experienced this? I have the receipt and would like to hear your opinions before I go to KEBS...If there is need. Most of us do not fill our tanks and therefore difficult for us to know that we are being robbed by these oil companies.
Eddy
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:59:10 AM

@Magigi,

Very unfortunate, i have also noticed when i put 1k i do not always get roughly the same mileage sometimes with a discrepancy of 20 kms and a lot of embarrassment ..... running around with a kibuyu. Shame them by name and get to KEBS
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 12:08:45 PM

@ Magigi,

I think its not KEBS but the department of weights and measures in the Ministry of trade. Inspectors are supposed to check regularly for conformity and are supposed to put a stamp of approval once satisfied.
check on these links for more info.
http://www.tradeandindus...e/documents/wm_laws.pdf

http://www.trade.go.ke/i...amp;id=24&Itemid=45

Other con men include the butchery guys. One Kg in one butchery will not weigh the same in the next, especially those using non electronic types.
kichwangumu
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 12:12:53 PM

problem 1:
mine experience probably is different, at first i thought my car had issues, then came the idea maybe its the prices which shoot up almost daily, i fuel at one particular station. along msa road i think at round 97.6 per liter, with 1500/= i would do my week's errands then will fuel on saturday for my weekends errands. of late by wednesday the red light comes on I got to refuel, which calx that same errands at an extra 500 bob a week.

problem 2:
the car starts to lose power esp. when im doing over 100km/h, I realise my colleagues too, have this problem, i go to my mech and im told "unatumia mafuta chafu...." the station is kenol, he tells me that we have to be changing the fuel filter when doing the car's service.
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 1:00:39 PM

There was a petrol station between Muthaiga and Pangani that used to be called GAS - Glory Auto Station [or something like that]. This guys used to quote and sell fuel at some of the 'lowest' prices in Nairobi. Woe unto you if you actually fuel there. They had messed up with their pumps and they were actually among the most expensive filling stations. People started realizing that they actually covered less distances after fueling there as compared to when they fueled at the more 'expensive' stations. You fuel at an 'expensive' station for x shillings and the fuel last you 6 days. You fuel at GAS and the fuel last you 4 days - Exactly same routine! With time they ran out of customers and had to sell off the station to some walalos. The walalos are okay but it has become very difficult to convince old customers that the station is 'now under new management'. They are also planning to sell it!!!

Moral of the story? These pumps can and are actually messed up with to dispense lesser fuel than indicated. If you notice you are doing less mileage for the 'same' amount of fuel, potea!!! Suspect the station before you suspect your car!!!
milken
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 1:53:30 PM

I have worked in the oil industry in Kenya for over eight years (for three different Multinationals). The companies wil normally lease a station to a dealer who may be dishonest and doctor the pump. However, the maintenance of the pumps and calibration is normally outsourced to reputable companies by the oil company itself. Therefore, unless a dealer works in cohorts with the calibrating company and the maintenance company, the oil company will get wind of any such malpractices and they will rescind the dealership.
Always ensure ansure that you fuel in reputable stations to avoid adulterated fuel. Even better try company run stations like Total Arwings Kodhek. Although I left Total I can tell you they take quality very seriously and can not entertain a dealer playing customers)
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
mjuaji wa stocks
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 1:59:29 PM

Ngai fafa... i am a victim.....kumbe that is why i thought the rate of consumption of my guzzler imepanda????? d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

I discovered this afew days ago...and thought of changing my spark plugs!!!

Kwani is it possible to pump air instead of fuel to the tank? Sad Sad Sad Sad

I realized that the distance that i can travel with the same amount of fuel after filling is now lesser.....i may need to fuel freuently compared to mbeleni.....

I was wondering kumbe i am not alone??

I fikad an extend of coming out of the car to check that wanaweka.....

what is the way forward?? MAJAMAA WATATUMALIZASad Sad
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#8 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 4:19:39 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
Kwani is it possible to pump air instead of fuel to the tank? Sad Sad Sad Sad

Yeah, it is! I'll give you an analogy of a mountain bike. When you change the gears, and subsequently start cycling, the distance covered will be different [more or less] per cycle. Fuel pumps use the same concept and adjusting the size of the those circular things that are rotated [can't remember the name] gives erroneous readings. You can achieve higher readings [or lower if you wanted] for the same amount of fuel.

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
what is the way forward?? MAJAMAA WATATUMALIZASad Sad

If you have a car with a digital fuel gauge [the ones that show the exact quantity of fuel - e.g. 42.75 litres] then you are safe. If not, then you have to depend on intuition. And also fuel at a different station - with roughly the same price as you 'ka-locals' - and compare the mileage for the same quantity of fuel.
XSK
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:27:17 PM

[/quote]
If you have a car with a digital fuel gauge [the ones that show the exact quantity of fuel - e.g. 42.75 litres] then you are safe. If not, then you have to depend on intuition. And also fuel at a different station - with roughly the same price as you 'ka-locals' - and compare the mileage for the same quantity of fuel.[/quote]
@maich

Are there cars that have a digital fuel gauge? sio mambo ya indicator for full and empty?
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:41:03 PM

If you have a car with a digital fuel gauge [the ones that show the exact quantity of fuel - e.g. 42.75 litres]

So do you or any one you know have one of these? And using it can you confirmed whether or not fuel stations actually con us?

mjuaji wa stocks
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 5:41:21 PM

OK guys....kama ni hivyo kunaenda....mimi nitanunua na jerikan then mimi mwenyewe nikamwagia kwa tank kutumia funnel....NKTest!!!!

Hao majamaa wanadhani sisi tunawatafutia????
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Jaina
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 9:29:38 PM

Because gasoline expands and contracts based on temperature, the industry uses a standard temperature 60 degrees Fahrenheit -- as part of its definition of a gallon. To the industry, a gallon of gasoline is the amount of fuel that occupies 231 cubic inches at 60 degrees.
But at 75 degrees, the same amount of fuel occupies 233.4 cubic inches. At 90 degrees, the gas expands to 235.8 cubic inches.

Meaning you will get less fuel into your car tank when fuel being pumped has already expanded.

Its always advised to avoid fuelling your car When:

1. Its extremely hot. (Fuel when its cold, early in the morning)
2. The Gas stations' underground tanks are being re-filled or have just been re-filled.

Variations will be more noticable when filling a full tank.

thuks
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 10:17:14 PM

what is this thread doing in sports? hapa hakuna mchezo! nkt or is it nyet?Sad
I care!
safariant
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:48:15 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
OK guys....kama ni hivyo kunaenda....mimi nitanunua na jerikan then mimi mwenyewe nikamwagia kwa tank kutumia funnel....NKTest!!!!

Hao majamaa wanadhani sisi tunawatafutia????

A high number of Petro companies/stations will not sell super/premium if ur buying using jericans.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
wasee
#15 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:44:01 AM

As u continue with this discussion, maybe you need to Mulika the rogue Petrol Stations so that wazuan dont fuel there!!
#16 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:50:43 AM

[quote=MaichBlack]
I'll give you an analogy of a mountain bike. When you change the gears, and subsequently start cycling, the distance covered will be different [more or less] per cycle. Fuel pumps use the same concept and adjusting the size of the those circular things that are rotated [can't remember the name] gives erroneous readings. You can achieve higher readings [or lower if you wanted] for the same amount of fuel.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Liar Liar .
@Maich,
I almost fell of my stool with laughter....well,i suggest you present your physics teacher to me for hangingLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
otienosmall
#17 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 2:35:50 PM

Another trick; if the petro attendant had just fuelled another car say like 400 ksh and has not replaced the fuel muzzle, then you ask for a 1,000 ksh refill, all the guy does is to enter +600 and the display shows 1,000 ksh and you are softly swindled Sad Sad