wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

Virtual courts............
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 9:27:32 AM

Justice has finally gone digital. This Tele-justice initiative is intended to enhance delivery of quality justice expeditiously....we are told that with virtual courts judges will be talking to cameras and lawyers bowing to screens!!

Since everthing is going digital, we should now go further and allow accused persons to pay bail using M-pesa and even have 'virtual prisons'!!Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 12:53:48 PM

BobCollyMore: Witnessing East Africa's 1st virtual court with a telepresence link between Nairobi & Mombasa facilitated by Safaricom and Cisco

Sasa hii ni nini! These Safaricom guys are beginning to represent the only tech listed company in Kenya (knowing the travails of ACCK).

Imagine if Court of Appeal could hear cases from one location, or High Court judges don't have to travel to hear an injunction!

No no no, I should have bought more at 4.05/=
I need to own me a technology company, noting that AAPL has for the first time in the company's history closed above $300. The answer is “Products, Products, Products“.

mzee safari
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:35:10 PM

This is a step in the right direction.The hassles of having to travel miles away to present your case before judges will be a thing of the past.Equally important will be the time and costs incurred towards preparation for these cases.Technology is proving to be solution provider in so many aspects of life.I hope this time round they will get it right and implement it for good.
kiriita
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 2:00:55 PM

Commendable, but I think a more pressing/urgent need is to have stenographers record proceedings - the way the Judges/Magistrates have to handwrite in long hand is just not on!
#5 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 8:56:59 AM

Is this video-court system in use in other countries?

I would have preferred they start with lower courts instead of court of appeal. You know the way you are driving from Migori to Nairobi and a cop gives you a ticket to attend court in Kisii the following morning? Then you'd just go to a video court in Nairobi and answer the charges.... I'd be willing to take that option even for a fee...
#6 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:01:08 AM

....and that reminds me; in the 1980s, you'd get such a ticket but have 14 days to admit the Offence.... simply sign the "Guilty" section at the back of the ticket, send it by post to the relevant court....the court would decide the fine and write back by post to advice you of the same....and you'd have another 14 days to pay it at your nearest court house....

@Guka, do you remember those good old days?
#7 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:04:33 AM

....but now we are contemplating instant fines for traffic offences; this is how I'd do it:

Example - speeding, instant fine Sh3,000. If the driver rejects it and prefers to go to court, the fine there becomes Sh30,000!! Ten times! Or three months behind bars in default.
#8 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:21:41 AM

...but guys don't you think the downside of the system is that the judge is in a sense detatched from the witnesses/accused persons and may therefore not be in a position to 'read' the emotional side of the litigants?....
Cardinal
#9 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:47:49 AM

Commendable.Safaricom is quite a company and a half.You can imagine the figure they get from this.
#10 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:54:25 AM

mukiha wrote:
....and that reminds me; in the 1980s, you'd get such a ticket but have 14 days to admit the Offence.... simply sign the "Guilty" section at the back of the ticket, send it by post to the relevant court....the court would decide the fine and write back by post to advice you of the same....and you'd have another 14 days to pay it at your nearest court house....

@Guka, do you remember those good old days?

I thought it was possible to plead guilty on the ticket and receive your fine by post. Kwani that has changed?
#11 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 10:24:20 AM

With the million cases at stake. Voice recognition services applied, cisco are bound to benefit a lot. Safaricom are only submitters, sort of like data provision.
#12 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 10:58:11 AM

@Sober, Cisco to benefit a lot but Safaricom NOT - Are you very sure? The company that provides the cars makes more money than the one supplying/charging for use of the road...

I wouldn't downplay Safaricom's role; this is the kind of thing that requires a large corporate with respect in establishment to pull through (read Safaricom or Orange). In my opinion I'd be more surprised if Cisco had the client directly.

@mukiha you are right on the money. Solution deployed in US, Canada, Europe, India, Singapore etc.
It seems sometimes it helps crooks with security issues not have to go to court, even just for visiting inmates; resolves petty offences in other countries, and with Kenya they'd like to use it for court appearances for High Court and Court of Appeal.

Judiciary launches virtual courts
#13 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 11:06:13 AM

@selah, sorry to quote you here but I'm worried the "die-hard" thread may lead to loss of objectivity smile
selah wrote:
Safaricom collaboration strategy seems to be gearing up What with Serena, barclays joining the Mpesa platform.Then there is the ongoing collaboration with Cisco in offering videoconferencing facilities The kenyan judiciary is already hooked.

Now the next frontier is the digital villages which safaricom has some pilot projects.

I embrace your point. These useful Products are making Safaricom look very attractive to me! Keep it up Safaricom!

I was reading yesterday about Apple computers and 10 years ago, Michael Dell of DELL computer no less, then on a roll, actually suggested the company should send cash back to shareholders and pack it in.

And what made the difference - Products, Products, Products - and good ones at that. On the other hand, Microsoft has tried and failed at virtually everything over the last decade - from music to social networking to search to content to mobile.

http://thefastertimes.co...would-warren-buffet-do/

#14 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 11:17:59 AM

@Muganda
This post will not lose its objectivity. It is based on the fact that technology will eventually conquer no matter what. You fight it and you will have no chance to use your knuckles, ask telcom with the landline issue.
Teleconferencing is the way to go, it's being used in board meetings in kenya where the directors do not have to travel hundreds of miles to meet and make a decision in 45 minutes.
Mpenzi
#15 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 11:18:47 AM

Virtual courts are not the most critical change that the judiciary needs as a matter of urgency. The following are the most important in my humble view:

1. Deployment of stenographers to record evidence as somebody pointed out above.

2. Digitisation of court records, leading ultimately to provision for filling of e-papers to the courts.
#16 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 11:22:19 AM

@Mpenzi agreed on your urgent priorities - stenographers, digitization. The problem is the government is hard pressed to move on its own momentum on its own priorities. Even this telejudiciary must have been an agenda of corporates pushing the envelope!
#17 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 3:12:35 PM

...also, don't forget that the courts are seriously understaffed. Improving terms of service for magistrates will attract many lawyers to the profession...