wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

M-pesa down
#1 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 3:57:00 PM

Since sato. I have 30k stuck in there,can these guys b sued? Bladi makodofia!

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#2 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 4:20:00 PM

@ kabz,

i think you have a contract with them for the cash transfer,but the contract does not give the execution period or lifespan. you cannot take them anywhere.....kwa hivyo kaa bila pesa mpaka ianze kufanya kazi tena....pole ndugu

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
faa
#3 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 4:31:00 PM

Its true MPESA have been down for quite a while,I failed to do my KPLC payments on time,

These guys should get serious..MPESA is more than a bank and they can afford it to be down...

@simon kabz take heart.

yayo
#4 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 4:36:00 PM

What has surprised me most is the fact that this wasnt part of sk breaking 'gossip' news since sato! Money was poured na sikupata! These guys cnt even make a press statement. MJ shidwo!!

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
chris79
#5 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2009 8:25:00 PM

GSU officer kills Flying Squad counterpart

By Job Weru

A General Service Unit officer shot dead his Flying Squad police counterpart after a disagreement.

The officer was killed on Sunday in Mathira Division. Police are looking for the suspect,who also fled with the AK-47 rifle he used.

Police claimed the suspect,who had delayed in settling a bar bill,shot the officer. But other sources said the duo had disagreed over a woman.

Nyeri OCPD Kirunya Limbitu said the deceased,who was attached to Karatina Flying Squad base,went to Hill Park Bar and found his assailant in a disagreement with a waiter.

'He had taken beer worth Sh300 and paid through M-Pesa cash transfer service. His cell phone indicated he had sent the money,but the same was not confirmed in the bartender’s mobile phone,' said Mr Limbitu.

He said the delay prompted a quarrel. 'The deceased urged the officer to pay his bill in cash,' he said.

But the officer went to Karatina Police Station,picked an AK-47 rifle and shot the officer outside the bar.

Be the change you want to see in the world...
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 4:11:00 AM

@chris the shooting as result of failed transaction is sad.
@simonkabz one guy i know was affected received an sms.

AKS
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 5:21:00 AM

Ati they r sorting out the saturday mess on a case by case basis! Its gonna be a while...and I will b very sober.

lennz
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 5:51:00 AM

its very unfortunate that m-pesa system could go those extends but i beg to bring a new dimension to this. First,when all of us enjoyed sending and receiving money at the comfort of our seats,no one complained; we all liked it. Now,when a mishap happens,which of course is common with technology (for those of us who appreciate this fact),all of us forget the good things the system has done for us ....though this is human nature. And its not like the stuck was oping to get lost anyway,only that there was delay in delivery. i believe MJ is exploring serious system upgrades to avoid such happenings again.

The only place where dreams are impossible is your mind
The General
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 6:59:00 AM

@ Lennz,

They should issue a statement here

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:32:00 AM

@lennz... why should we accept bad service because we enjoyed good services earlier? its the inconvenience that it causes that make people complain.

@Thimioni
Kwani,which m-pesa are you using? telkom or yu? I sent money using m-pesa yesterday and it went through in less than 10 minutes.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
majimaji
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:40:00 AM

May be Safcom has been told to funga Mpesa coz of Hillary Clinton's visit.

we would not want some somali pirates sending their loot via mpesa to cause mayhem would we?

In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:47:00 AM

@majimaji..
LOL kweli wewe ni majimaji tu...
chris79
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:56:00 AM

@wendz Its only the saturday transactions which were affected. @all,it's not like somebody at safcom woke up and decided to switch off Mpesa to punish kenyans. It's inevitable that any machine made by human hands will at one time or another experience some downtime. Hell,even God's creations do get sick! It's how quickly they deal with such emergencies that you should be criticizing,not the fact that the downtime occurred. And i think saf moved fast to contain the situation,given the sheer magnitude of the pending transactions...

zamali
#14 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:01:00 AM

Seems ome people here work in Safcom customer care or are dealers. For me,no Kind words for uch downtimes. This is a very critical service which we are now overly dependant on... so any disruptions beyond 1 day means hell !!

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
chris79
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:05:00 AM

I knew that comment had to come. I DON'T work for saf,am just a mere student.

#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:12:00 AM

........I can't send money now as we speak.....telling me to try later,this is bad....it may tempt me to test Zap!!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Fundaah
#17 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:16:00 AM

I sent 2000 yesterday at 6.28 pm ..... waited for a 3 minutes and it went through....No man made creature is perfect....be patient... Mpesa is a phenomenon that need to be nurtured rather that killed.....

Note that I'm not a Safcon agent...

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Fundaah
#18 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:18:00 AM

BTW Chris79 ...I had not read your reply ...we seem to have common thinking....

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:35:00 AM

Fundaah..........imeenda through,it was critical......now i'm happy!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:50:00 AM

Just got this update!!!!!

On Saturday 1st August 2009,we experienced MPESA system downtime which resulted in all the send money,deposit and withdrawal transactions initiated on that day being in authorized status; this means customers/agents cannot transact until the transactions in authorized status are completed. The action taken to resolve the issues arising are:-

1. M-PESA Send money transaction- the transaction were automatically completed on 02/08/2009 at about 11.00PM. Please advise any customer inquiring on a customer to customer transaction to verify by checking their balance which should reflect the cleared balance.

A number of these customer transactions had expired and the money was sent back to the sender’s account.

NB: The automatic SMS response message confirming the recipient of funds was not sent,it will be sent to all affected customers later in the day.

2. M-PESA money sent to a paybill accounts e.g. Safaricom Postpaid,KPLC – All M-PESA/paybill transactions were completed and the respective paybill businesses received SMS notification messages that they've been paid. Please advise the customers accordingly.

3. M-PESA money sent to unregistered customers -All transactions sent to unregistered customers expired after the SLA of 24 hours. The money and an expiry SMS messages were sent to the senders.

4. M-PESA agent transactions (deposits/withdrawals) – MPESA department is currently following on the completion of all M-PESA deposits and withdrawals transactions initiated on 1/08/09. We will continue to advice on any new developments.