SME
Marketing
safaricom die hard section.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
First I am disappointed with wazuans for taking the tarrif war too personal.If you are shifting to the competition do it quietly and if you have already shifted pilipili usioila yakuwashia niniSecondly I do admire the competition for making such a bold statement by starting a price war which I believe is good for the market. Anyway I wont be shifting soon since Safaricom is a 60% localy owned and unless the competition lists in the NSE I will stick with my company. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
I second your opinion. Bharti Airtel can return to India for all I care. Go Safcom GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am sure you buy milk, bread, clothes, pay school fees and rent only to companies listed on the NSE. Correct? Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Hii pilipili tumeikula miaka nyingi mpaka hata tukiacha kuikula bado itatuwasha miaka ka mbili hivi GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,097 Location: Nairobi
LOL... Folks who have chosen the BITTER Option... I am far, far, far better off with 100% Indian owned Bharti than 40% + (other foreigners approx 20%) owned SufferingCon BTW, Zain is losing money at the moment at 3/- so in a weird sense they are CONTRIBUTING to Kenya's economy... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Jangwa la Jangili wrote:I am sure you buy milk, bread, clothes, pay school fees and rent only to companies listed on the NSE. Correct? If kcc and millbakers ever list guess where I will be buying my bread and milk. The issue here is where you open a shop and start buying from your competitor just because he wants to rebrand while using the easiest route to retain its customer. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
Kenyans.....they are peculiar indeed! Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,097 Location: Nairobi
selah wrote:Jangwa la Jangili wrote:I am sure you buy milk, bread, clothes, pay school fees and rent only to companies listed on the NSE. Correct? If kcc and millbakers ever list guess where I will be buying my bread and milk. The issue here is where you open a shop and start buying from your competitor just because he wants to rebrand while using the easiest route to retain its customer. It is a FREE economy. Buy from whom you want... Let me enjoy my 3/- rate... I have vuka'd kabisa from The BITTER Option or The CONplicated Option... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Mteja wa nambari uliyoipiga ama Vuka Zain!
bird_man wrote:Kenyans.....they are peculiar indeed! Tell it to the birds!!!!!!!!!!
VituVingiSana wrote:selah wrote:Jangwa la Jangili wrote:I am sure you buy milk, bread, clothes, pay school fees and rent only to companies listed on the NSE. Correct? If kcc and millbakers ever list guess where I will be buying my bread and milk. The issue here is where you open a shop and start buying from your competitor just because he wants to rebrand while using the easiest route to retain its customer. It is a FREE economy. Buy from whom you want... Let me enjoy my 3/- rate... I have vuka'd kabisa from The BITTER Option or The CONplicated Option... Selah's point is that why are y'all making a meal out of moving?? You have moved, so what?
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
selah wrote:The issue here is where you open a shop and start buying from your competitor just because he wants to rebrand while using the easiest route to retain its customer. That, selah, is The Beauty of Capitalism GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
My 2 cents wrote:I second your opinion. Bharti Airtel can return to India for all I care. Go Safcom GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So if Bharti returns to India, where should Vodafone return to? Amazing how anything British/white is ok, but if its a third world company...rudi nyumbani...blah blah Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
and the debate continues, let the struggle go on. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/23/2010 Posts: 52 Location: Majuu
I care less where the company comes from....I just want to make money...lots of it...If Zain or whatever lists, I will invest in them and hope they have a good business model to make a return...For now, I have invested in Safaricom and I wish they survive the price war, trounce the opponents, mantain the monopoly or dominance or whatever you want to call....and Mint money...Give me a dividend and more important add value to the shareholders in terms of capital gains....That is why I trade at the NSE, NYSE or anywhere else for that matter.....I just want to make money...money and Money.... As an investor I behave like a tick, patiently waiting on grass and larch onto the first cow that shows up. As an investor I dont behave like a tick...I jump off the the cow as soon as am fully engorged before it dies...
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Selah you are a good one,take a soda on my acount i will come to pay!!we are behind safcom and we will retaliate with equal force. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Quote:Selah you are a good one,take a soda on my acount i will come to pay!!we are behind safcom and we will retaliate with equal force. Thanks man. The zain tarrif is a marketing ploy to make the rebranding as painless as possible while at the same time hurting the competitors. If you look at their advert the ZAIN logo and A WORDERFUL WORLD trademarks are being used temporarily. They knew with the bad vibe about rebranding it would have been difficult to fight safaricom dominance.So instead of using alot of money rebranding they use a very predictable and easy strategy ,reducing the tarrif and making a spectacle out of it to win sympathetic customers. Given the losses Zain made during its rebranding it is clever of Mr.Menza to come up with a strategy which is unsustainable for a company rolling up its 3g network. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Safco diehards.Reminds me of a parable Malcolm X used to tell.Looks like we got quite a bunch of house negroes right here.. http://www.zimbio.com/Bl...use+Negro+vs+Field+NegroNothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/11/2010 Posts: 1,011 Location: nairobi
and whoever moved my cheese has just returned
SME
Marketing