wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Rudisha breaks 800m world record
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 10:12:47 PM

Applause Applause for this young man, the sky is surely the limit....
KenyanLyrics
#2 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:42:25 AM

Actually, I'd be very shocked if he stayed competitive for long. Kenyan athletes, though prominent winners, have shown low staying power.
tony stark
#3 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 4:25:07 AM

Rudisha making Kenyans proud!
At last the 800 meter records come to Kenya where it should be! Keters (danish) 13 year record has been broken at last.
Im looking forward a rudisha vs kaki khamis race but khamis is smart he is bidding his time rudisha is too fit right now!
In other new Semenya won racing as a woman
winston
#4 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 11:47:51 AM

Kaki chickened out of a direct confrontation with Rudisha during the just ended senior african games...opting to compete in the 4x400m relay rather than the 800m.

Semenya...thats another story. In sports there is the fame/glory then there is the money...its becoming clear what this is now all about.
cnn
#5 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 12:05:37 PM

Watched the race and was absolutely ecstatic when he crossed the line in 1.41.09.Kipketer's record like Daniel Komens in 3000 looked safe until this fellow came around.I feel he will break the 1.41 barrier.He faces Kaki on friday in Brussels ,should be interesting.
conos
#6 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 12:30:11 PM

Applause Applause The guy who had the record was a kenyan moved to denmark.Rudisha has just taken back the pride that belongs to kenya thus RUDISHA HAPA KENYA.
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
#7 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 1:26:10 PM

It runs in the family.His father was in the 4x400m rely team which won Kenya a silver medal in the 1968 Olympics.
#8 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 1:37:38 PM

the talent in this country is amazing breaking a world record is no small fete if rudisha were from rwanda TZ or UG he would become an instant hero thousands would meet him at the airport sadly here in kenya a bowl of mursik and traditional dancers will be welcoming him when he comes back
#9 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:56:31 PM

Njunge wrote:
It runs in the family.His father was in the 4x400m rely team which won Kenya a silver medal in the 1968 Olympics.

Pun intended? smile
#10 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 12:57:07 PM

two world records in one week yet he looks so comfortable whats one abubakar kaki thinking at this moment
kizee
#11 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:04:54 PM

lets hope hes clean
Wa_ithaka
#12 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:05:39 PM

The commentator sounds like those football commentators from Brazil.

Reckon he'll dip into 1:40
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#13 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:15:01 PM

Our athletes make us really proud... I wish they'd be more appreciated. Congrats to Bwana Rudisha(his name sounds kinda funny though)and i hope he soldiers on and doesnt give up like akina Jelimo & co..
cnn
#14 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 1:26:05 PM

The Rieti track is a middle distance athlete's paradise and in his current form he was always going to break his own mark.Going down to the 1.40s is the next goal.
#15 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 2:40:03 PM

rudisha rudia eeeh rudisha rudia ati? Rudisha rudia ai rudisha rudia. Sema tend rudisha rudia...! Rudisha rudia.
#16 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 7:48:14 PM

Congrats are in order to Rudisha. As someone said, breaking a world record is no joke. I hope no one is imagining that for the last 13 years nobody was interested in breaking the record or the athletes were not good enough. Ni kibarua!!!
kizee wrote:
lets hope hes clean

You can bet all your paka and Olympia shares [You can even add the ones for the majority share holder (vvs)] that Rudisha is one of the most tested athletes at the moment! And in any case, our world beaters do it the good old way - through hard work!
#17 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 8:17:34 PM

Fantastic! Congratulations Rudisha! I like his coolness and calmness. The exact opposite of Usain Bolt and his madaha mingi mingi! smile
#18 Posted : Monday, August 30, 2010 8:47:49 PM

jguru wrote:
Fantastic! Congratulations Rudisha! I like his coolness and calmness. The exact opposite of Usain Bolt and his madaha mingi mingi! smile

Hiyo madaha ndiyo inaleta mkwanja! That is one of the reasons Usain Bolt is the highest paid track and field athlete in history [From his Puma deal] - in addition to his speed of course. You can actually use him/his image to push your product

What Kenyan athletes don't seem to understand is that you make more money from endorsements than from the sport itself. You need to market yourself. For example, out of the approx. $100m Tiger Woods has made in 2010, more than $90m is from endorsements!!!

I'd like to know what percentage of the earnings for Kenyan athletes comes from endorsements. Who knows how much Mariga was paid for the UAP deal for example? Might even be less than a milli!!!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 31, 2010 5:27:37 AM

His speed was great too. if you calculate it its similar to running 8 100 meters dashes in 12.625 each - sequentially. I think its a feat on its own. Kudos Rudisha, umerudishia kenya hadhi yake.
i just hope he has character, to sustain him where his talent has taken him. not like akina Jelimo who are seen in bars drinking and partying then expect to recreate the magic.
mjuaji wa stocks
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 31, 2010 2:38:16 PM

and the jamaa is a maasai...kumbe pia wamaasai wako na wanaweza kimbia....mpaka wanafunja recodi za dunia???

Wapi wengine???

Congrats Rudisha!!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!