wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

6 Pages123>»
Equity bank collapse: Impact...
wamatha
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2009 4:29:00 PM

Is Equity Bank as Healthy as they potray or want us to believe?

Wamami
eli
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2009 5:05:00 PM

Me thinks it is healthy? Why do u want to believe otherwise?

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 6:18:00 AM

Implications in the unfortunate event that the bank goes under as some guys preach here? Would any sane government encourage/allow such a thing to befall its economy? Be objective.

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 7:01:00 AM

with over 2 million 'small' account holders,the DPF would have a nightmare paying out the guaranteed max of 100k.....Can they handle the logistics?
Blackberry
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 7:11:00 AM

@simonk

now where did that come from....Me think Equity will be here for a long time to come...But again stranger things have happened ...Kwani si Railways was brought down for selfish interests?

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

Pretty
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 7:55:00 AM

Why is it that the phenomenal growth of Equity has been giving some of our brothers goose pimples? Cant we trust our home grown financial systems? Would you have said the same,about collapsing,of Freddie Mac,AIG,etc two years ago? You men,let us trust our industrious enterpreneuers.
Today,Equity Bank is no longer a Gikuyu affair. It is owned by a varied group of investers,has expanded to Ug and soon will spread in the region and in the process eliminate reliance on our funny country. Ati,God made the world and on the Seventh day,he rested,then on the eighth day,he made Kenyans.

Stay young,keep your wheels in motion.
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:03:00 AM

Unfortunately,you will notice a common thread of bile,basically unsubstanciated claims,concerning Equity Bank that seem to emanate from die-hard supporters of the opposition party in government(?)..it's become that predictable
bird_man
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:06:00 AM

Just thinking.....If its true Equity has 2Milli 'small' customers and BBK has 900,000 customers.....

Lets assume that in both cases,the customers use their ATM cards 3 times in a month...

BBK ATM....900,000customers*3transactions*30sh/transaction=81,000,000Ksh
Equity ATM..2,000,000customers*3transactions*30sh/transaction=180,000,000Ksh

Difference=99,000,000Ksh every month........

I have not even thought about ledger fees,bankers cheques,bill payments.......

I think Equity is here to stay.

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
mv ufanisi
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:10:00 AM

Kenya collapse: impact
You're fired: impact
Accident: impact
Dead President: Impact
Somali attack: Impact
Meteorite hits Kenya: impact
You're hit by a bus in the morning: Impact

These are just some of the things that could go wrong. If you want to dwell on such things you are not wise. Ama you think the gava should begin a commission of inquiry on all kinds of random events that could occur.
The important thing is to think about such because of a real reason and risk not just to day dream. And inadvertently your 'Equity' post could be considered causing unnecessary ill repute on a bank. (And even here in SK there is a huge number of people prophesying all kinds of doom on Equity bank - mostly guided by tribal hatred and jealousy).
On a different point,what about Barclays bank collapse: Impact. Anything/Everything is possible in this world. You should only ACT on real threats - worrying about things you have no control over / you can't do anything about isn't productive.

On a different point,many countries have a rule on how much % deposit a bank is allowed to control in a given country to avoid a mega disaster in case the bank goes under.

However Equity runs a very low risk operation - bring lots of depositors and make money on their transactions. It does not engage in high risk business e.g. stocks,margin lending or any other shenanigans like pyramid schemes as some would hope and wish to believe. EB is here to stay. I'm waiting for EB to land in S.A,Ghana and Nigeria - some people here will die of envy.
Blackberry
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:22:00 AM

@MV 'many countries have a rule on how much % deposits a bank is allowed to control in a given country to avoid a mega disaster in case the bank goes under.' does the rule apply huku kwetu? ama hiyo page ilipotelea treasury?

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:23:00 AM

@mv,have u really addressed my querry or myself? Re-read my post and answer as it is. This arises fm the frequent bashing of the mega bank by some of us to an xtent of branding it a ponzi. Just looking 4 sober views on likely consequences.

Goals
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:44:00 AM

Two posts on Equity,is there something we need to know..........

healthy,impact on collapse.......

Fear sees obstacles,Faith sees opportunities
Fear sees problems,Faith sees possibilities
Fear sees stumbling blocks,Faith sees stepping-stones!

Sasha
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:53:00 AM

Impact? Catastrophic! The panic that would grip the small account holders would be overwhelming. I've always wondered what happens when a bank that was holding your hard earned 20 million bob goes down. Does your money disappear just like that or will it be refunded by DPF and in what percentage if not 100%? Anyone?

@Thimioni: Don't waste your time trying to indulge some people here. Those of us who understand your querry are being objective!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
Kamaa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 8:59:00 AM

@ mv

you are right...

we have been here for long and it is easy to read mischief in some contributions....

in another thread someone said that EB is a ponzi...

even though anything can happen,i know some of us 'makarerera kioro'

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
BAAK
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 9:10:00 AM

The bulk of EB’s income is commission based (commission charged on services),Most other Bank’s income is interest based (interest based on loan)..EB operates on a large volume,low margin model,most other Banks operate on low volume,high margin model. Thus the approach between the two is almost like oil and water,there is no need for direct comparison. To the degree that each ‘keeps enticing’ its turf,the income is assured. There is absolutely no need for competitors to make posts here about EB being a Pyramid schemes here so as to instil fear in its clients….Please spare the energy by improving your services and thus keep the Clients you already have..

On the other hand,no one has come up with concrete proof why EB is Ponzi,so am I now permitted to give proof why EB is not Ponzi? Let’s learn from history….Those banks which collapsed previously in Kenya did so because of political interference..i.e. Govt deposits money today,the following day,a corrupt crook goes to the same bank and takes the whole amount deposited yesterday as loan…and offers a govt property as security…So when this guys fails to pay,what happens to the bank? In this day and age,such corrupt deals have no place…so count such possibilities out.. or Is there any other bank which collapsed in Kenya other than for such reasons? Someone with details please step out and tell us!!

Finally EB has 50% accounts and thus reflects the face of Kenya more than any other bank,so if they were to collapse,Kenya and other Banks would have collapsed earlier!! But Kenya will not collapse!!!I hope this puts the matter to rest
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 9:32:00 AM

@BAAK
Kenya Finance Bank collapsed for other reasons...not political patronage

Your comment that Equity gets most of its earnings from commissions is not accurate: look at the figures for 2008:

Interest earned from loans = 6.2b
Commissions earned [excluding those charged on loans loans] = 3.3b
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 9:38:00 AM

Wapi TB? I bet u r asleep by now bt would love to see his contribution based on baak's post wen u wake up. @sasha,thanx siz

BAAK
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 9:52:00 AM

Mukiha,am afraid you are grossly mistaken on this..and taking my post out of context...The issue is..what is the percentage of EB’s profits from commission as a percentage of the total profits…and what is the percentage for other banks..

and what led to collapse of the bank you have mentioned? Was it quoted on the exchange? Please also draw paralles btwen EB and the bank you mentioned so that we can compare well…let’s not compare EB with one man show miniature banks,or tiny banks owned by families
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 10:20:00 AM

@BAAK

Don't get me wrong; I am not comparing KFB to Equity. You asked for the name of bank that did not collapse for political reasons,and I gave you one!

KFB was quoted on the NSE (I was the prouder owner of a couple of thousand shares at the time it collapsed). It was previously known as Kenya Finance Corporation...those old enough will remember it as the sponsor of The Proffesional View on KBC.

KFB collapsed in the aftermath of Goldenberg: They were one of the biggest players in financing purchase of Matatus (the others were NIC though not very keen on matatus). Whe the economy went to ICU courtesy of Goldenberg,interest rates shot to the moon (I recall buying TBs at 71%!!!)

KFB responded by increasing its interest rates on loans to 45%....the borrowers could not service the high payments and defaulted...enmass...The bank was left with many matatus and parcels of land that it could not sell...remember,the economy was dead!

Crazy large depositors rejected proposals to convert their deposits into equity....The DPF is still liquidating the assets....15 years later!

Perhaps I should change my screen-name to 'Mzee-wa-Kazi'

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
BAAK
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 11:03:00 AM

Mukiha,Thanks for your latest post,which indirectly confirms my earlier statement that were EB to fall,Kenya Economy and some other banks ‘mostly the small struggling ones’ would have collapsed much earlier! There will be enough warning if this were to happen. Bye,I consider this matter settled.