wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Wife and mother
#1 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 1:50:08 PM

...if your mother and your wife were drowning, I wonder which one you will be saving. As for me Kitchner I am well holding onto my mother and my wife she will have to excuse me, for you can get another wife, but you can not get another mother in my life... (A calypso song by Lord Kitchener)

Which one would you be saving...
#2 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 1:53:37 PM

...I was listening to the song with my friend and he said he would assist his wife to drown fast and save his mother...
...Do you ever think about situations like these...?
centerbolt
#3 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 2:02:03 PM

...I was listening to the song with my friend and he said he would assist his wife to drown...
...Do you ever think about situations like these...?

Good Lord..Pray
#4 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 3:01:57 PM

I do; and I prey to God that he'd give me the presence of mind to save my wife. I truly believe that I'd save her and not my mother. But belief is one and action another; that's why I ask God to give me the strength to act as I believe.

Yes; you can get another wife, but not another mother. However, do you realise that there is a high likelyhood that you will have many more years with your wife than with your mother?
atiriri
#5 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 3:05:34 PM

Just the same way your mother has other children.

Okay i think it is tempting to save my mother first because yeye ni damu and my flesh. i am not related to my wife.
PONDI
#6 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 3:20:30 PM

what do you mean you aint related to your wife. personally i'd ask the almighty never to put me in such a situation, for, it would be a no-brainer. adios amigo wifey. what if you had to save either your SON or DAUGHTER?? ....
#7 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 4:26:44 PM

PONDI wrote:
what do you mean you aint related to your wife. personally i'd ask the almighty never to put me in such a situation, for, it would be a no-brainer. adios amigo wifey. what if you had to save either your SON or DAUGHTER?? ....

@Pondi
I think either son or daughter would be an easier choice.... I would save whoever i grab first.... eg, if the river is flowing, and carrying them both, I will put out my hand and whoever is saved i would be as grateful as if it were the other.

Wife/mother, husband/father..... eeeeeh, the instinct would be to save your parent... and i think its the primary instinct for any human being... the choice you make is a different story... Very high chances that i will go by instincts....

@Mukiha
does it really matter who you are going to live the longest with? Does it even matter if whoever you save is going to die the next day? I hope you are talking about your real mother, not a step mother.
kokwa
#8 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 4:48:23 PM

Mama kwanja, bibi baadaye if opportunity comes by.
many times i have looked at a kabeautiful gal lavishly n bitten my fingerSad{|= , but i have neva looked at another persons motha n wished she was my motha coz shes tosha 4 me.
#9 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 4:59:13 PM

@Kokwa...So much wisdom in you... Pewa kitu!
#10 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 5:35:00 PM

PONDI wrote:

Shame on you Think

Yes, indeed I have no relation with my wife, otherwise how would I have married her. I can can get another wife easily but you cant get another mother, never again.
#11 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 6:55:42 PM

You haven't stated the circumstances - but it was a stricken vessel with only 2 life-saving choices 2 be made, I would let the lives of my mum and wifey be saved.
#12 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 6:57:48 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
You haven't stated the circumstances - but it was a stricken vessel with only 2 life-saving choices 2 be made, I would let the lives of my mum and wifey be saved.

Assume they cant take your place or you theirs so you have to make the decision.
#13 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 7:08:03 PM

Instinct will kick in, you cant save your mother if only the three of you are stuck in some unknown island and you have to save wife or mum, however if your house in Nairobi is burning and you can only save one, then you have a dilema
#14 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 8:02:21 PM

@wendz...wacha kufanya life ikuwe hard! its a cruel decision either way.

BTW, I fear for men if the question was posed to their women - i.e how many women would rescue their husbands instead of their own mums?

HINT: If you peruse the personnel records at a good number of work places, the next of kin/ beneficiaries records HR has been given by some married women do not even begin to mention the hubbie...
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 10:34:05 AM

Intel,
That's a good twist!!!!
Instinct will do it for me......it points in mum's direction!!!
Jaina
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 10:57:52 AM

Assume its not a river or drowning situation (Yaani Maana, ya ije) and its any life threatening situation including torture where you have to save either, who would it be.

Definitely Mum; Without even Thinking Twice
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 11:25:29 AM

When you ask sons about their mothers it is realy a forgone conclusion where their preference will be inclined to - the little psychology I know blames it on OEDIPUS COMPLEX
brav
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 12:34:57 PM

I would save them both
DJ Soxxy
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 12:38:47 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
When you ask sons about their mothers it is realy a forgone conclusion where their preference will be inclined to - the little psychology I know blames it on OEDIPUS COMPLEX

brav
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 12:41:11 PM

I concur with @intel I hppen to have acces to HR databases to different companies databases and the next of kin part is kinda interesting