wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

9 Pages123>»
Safaricom to acquire Interconnect & IGO wireless
sky5
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:53:58 AM

Wazuans,

Any thoughts on what this portends w.r.t. data market?

http://www.rich.co.ke/media/docs/SCAN0548_000.pdf
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:57:25 AM

sky5 wrote:
Wazuans,

DOMINATION... and an ant up CCK's arse!
webish
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:08:49 PM

sky5 wrote:
Wazuans,

DOMINATION... and an ant up CCK's arse!

hehe. funny!
It's amazing how Safaricom will always find a way!

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
erifloss
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:19:34 PM

Wealth maximisation for shareholders in the long run. The data market is the next frontier and they are setting themselves up for that coz with the entry of Bharti expect data prices to further go down if they use their Indian pitch. The only problem is the over-supply of these shares in the market and some of the people holding the shares don't know the actual value!
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
ProverB
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 1:29:54 PM

oooooooohhhh.... Access Kenya! ..Access kenya needs to flee inovation-wise!!! and flee now!!!!!.Anxious Pray

I'm told though a gazelle is cute..But whenever chased by a Cheeter..world's fastest terrestial predetor..the Gazelle ceases to be cute..n becomes focused.. Success kill-rate of cheeters preying on Gazelle is just 5%..yet the cheeter is way faster! Think

Safcom are coming too close for comfort.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
sky5
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:00:03 PM

Safcom was named Africas Telecom firm of the year yesterday.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/1conxhz/-/index.html

This firm is going places. I hope the share value will follow.
qw25041985
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:40:25 PM

@proverb. Quite inspirational. But what beats me is that there are 4 fiber optic cables and still the benefits arnt tricklin down to common mwanainchi. I think somebody has his foot on cck's neck. Cck shld wake up ..
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
chris79
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 4:56:15 PM

It's a free market @qw...
tony stark
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 5:04:29 PM

We have poor anti trust laws.
Suffericon is stifling competition with prohibitive pricing on their voice calls. They block developers access to their Mpesa thats will enable programs and platforms to generate online transactions. Now once they corner and monopolise the internet service provision they will slow down progress by knocking out small and dynamic companies or swallowing them whole. They will also use their market share to price competitors out and then increase their charges as happened with voice.
I know most of the share holders will have harsh words for me but antitrust laws are important to help prevent exploitation of the public by giant monolithic organizations like suffericon and to allow progress and development.
How many here use internet explorer ... what would the internet be without fast and secure browsers like Mozilla and google chrome.

I don't want a word lashing but suffericon has shown all to often that they will use their market share to effect exclusionary practices and CCK should stop them despite what their share holders think!
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 6:36:08 PM

Sasa wewe @tony stark, who has prevented any other telecom company from acquiring Igo/Instaconnect. I heard that Erricson proposed/urged/begged Kencell to begin money transfer service, way before MPesa, to no avail!

In fact, I'll tell you that the most lucrative real estate is virtual - spectrum - apportioned by CCK; used by transmitting companies (media, telecom). It has made the most recent genuine young millionaires (in the hundreds) of late. So everyone buys companies that have it from Wananchi, Access, Standard Group, Safaricom etc.

So both companies are owned by the same guy - the most recent young millionaire to join the club.
Atul Chauhan’s Experience; Owner
Igo Wireless / Instaconnect Ltd
9 Pages123>»