772 Pages«<623624625626627>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#12481 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 6:57:06 AM

rwitre wrote:
Local banks take Sh8 billion hit in KQ shares

KQ, as the national carrier is known by its international code, in 2017 issued the lenders with 2.2 billion shares to settle their loans amounting to Sh17 billion.

The shares were acquired at a price of Sh7.78 each but the airline’s stock price has since dropped 51.7 percent to close at Sh3.75 on Friday, resulting in the lenders’ paper loss of Sh8.6 billion.

This means that banks will find it difficult to sell their holdings at a profit, with KQ’s continued losses and wipeout of shareholder funds making a recovery less likely in the medium term.

The share price drop also hurts the lenders’ plans to sell an additional 663.5 million shares through the NSE over the next nine years. KQ is to issue the second batch of shares at a similar price of Sh7.78 each upon request and the lenders are to sell them immediately in the open market.

Guarantees

Losses on the second group of shares are, however, expected to be partly mitigated by government guarantees.

KQ reported a net loss of Sh7.5 billion in the year ended December when its costs surpassed its revenue significantly.

The new loss sent the airline back to a negative equity of Sh2.4 billion, meaning that the recent capital restructuring moves are inadequate and the company urgently needs more funds to stay aloft.

Individual investors in the national carrier have fared even worse since most of them will only break even when the stock trades at Sh21.2. This means that they are sitting on a paper loss of 82 per cent.

Yaani even when price recovers there will be an avalanche of supply waiting Pray

The lenders were scammed into converting debt to equity. The wise ones should had sold immediately they broke even (if at all)

The shares went up to KES 18.5 upon listing in Nov 2017 but who would offload the billions of shares without a crater to the price?

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#12482 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 8:41:14 AM

It's official, I am averaging down with intent to push holding up to 384,000 shares at an approximate NEW cash outlay cost of KES 1,150,000, with objective to bring down ABP to circa KES 8.0.. Wish me luck!

#12483 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 9:05:03 AM

It's official, I am averaging down with intent to push holding up to 384,000 shares at an approximate NEW cash outlay cost of KES 1,150,000, with objective to bring down ABP to circa KES 8.0.. Wish me luck!
Though, do not forget to keep the money you owe me aside. 100,000 + interest
Ericsson
#12484 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 9:23:05 AM

[quote=VituVingiSana]I have been saying for ages that the members/shareholders of KQLC should fully impair their holdings in KQ/KQLC. https://www.businessdail...1630-8npk19z/index.html[/quote]

KQLC will be paid off and KQ will become 100% owned by Gok
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#12485 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 9:29:45 AM

Ericsson wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]I have been saying for ages that the members/shareholders of KQLC should fully impair their holdings in KQ/KQLC. https://www.businessdail...1630-8npk19z/index.html[/quote]

Applause Applause Applause but those who were not coerced into buying KQ shares should not be paid off by the Taxpayer.
nairobby
#12486 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:04:58 AM

And if GoK decides to nationalize they should buy at the current market price. None of that 8.52 nonsense. KQLC will have to take a hit.
nairobby
#12487 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:13:37 AM

Don't do it
#12488 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:20:31 AM

Your only comfort is that a governments only child cannot die
#12489 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:20:47 AM

nairobby wrote:

Don't do it
Wacha anunue.
HaMaina
#12490 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:27:30 AM

2 bob and below here we come.KQ is looking tastier every day.Applause Applause
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
rwitre
#12491 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:31:45 AM

HaMaina wrote:

Wewe si uko Mumias pia?

Mbona hamjipendi Laughing out loudly
HaMaina
#12492 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:45:02 AM

rwitre wrote:
HaMaina wrote:

Wewe si uko Mumias pia?

Mbona hamjipendi Laughing out loudly

Kujipenda twajipenda tena sana. Hiyo ndiyo sababu hatuhami. Mtu mwerevu hutafuta madam, na kumtunza mpaka akaitwa mrembo na mwenye afya. Ukitafuta mrembo mtashindana mkiwa wengi.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#12493 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 11:48:10 AM

Consider using 10% of your net investment in KQ to bet as a risk mitigation measure Sir Obiero. I believe you have a higher chance of making money in betting than KQ
#12494 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 12:25:09 PM

Consider using 10% of your net investment in KQ to bet as a risk mitigation measure Sir Obiero. I believe you have a higher chance of making money in betting than KQ

I understand where you are coming from with the statement

lochaz-index
#12495 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 2:54:54 PM

Ericsson wrote:

This could end up being a very sticky situation for both kq and GoK. A loss making parastatal continuously bleeding money from a broke government...
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#12496 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 3:14:43 PM

lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

This could end up being a very sticky situation for both kq and GoK. A loss making parastatal continuously bleeding money from a broke government...

Its the worst mistake that the 12th parliament will be remembered for.. The minority shareholders in KQ are not poor people. We raised KES 14.48B in 2012 for the airline. Why didn't they turn to us? Just GoK wanting to knock down the aspirations of 80,000 hard working shareholders

#12497 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 4:11:15 PM

lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Its the worst mistake that the 12th parliament will be remembered for.. The minority shareholders in KQ are not poor people. We raised KES 14.48B in 2012 for the airline. Why didn't they turn to us? Just GoK wanting to knock down the aspirations of 80,000 hard working shareholders
Please provide a breakdown of who contributed what to that 14.5bn.
#12498 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 4:31:45 PM

lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

The below is the dream team

Pesa Nane
#12499 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 9:01:59 PM

lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Applause Applause
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#12500 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2019 9:04:51 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Applause Applause

Hapo sasa 😂