wazua Tue, May 7, 2024

772 Pages«<34567>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
Pierce
#81 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 12:11:35 PM

Good news though, perfomance for year to date, (even post WC) is really good.Nuff said!
#82 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 12:57:58 PM

PKoli wrote:
This KQ is messing me up on the fantasy mkt. Hata vvs has overtaken me.smile

Lucky you, it is only on your fantasy, I have it in the real market!
LOL... me too...
#83 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 1:08:32 PM

PKoli wrote:
This KQ is messing me up on the fantasy mkt. Hata vvs has overtaken me.smile

Lucky you, it is only on your fantasy, I have it in the real market!
LOL... me too...

Laughing out loudly Not to worry I think all factors point to KQ closing it's year well.

#84 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 1:42:22 PM

I am also in this quagmatic zug zug for real and I honestly don't see a huge upsurge in earnings this year. I'm considering increased lease costs for the new craft (Embraers and those/that 737 from KLM), more routes mean increased fixed costs, the new routes will take a while to develop.....Sad
#85 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 2:15:30 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I am also in this quagmatic zug zug for real and I honestly don't see a huge upsurge in earnings this year. I'm considering increased lease costs for the new craft (Embraers and those/that 737 from KLM), more routes mean increased fixed costs, the new routes will take a while to develop.....Sad
On this I disagree...

- The 737-300 leased from KLM is to take care of demand. See 1Q Ops Stats. They 'lost' passengers coz of reduced flights coz of unavailability of planes.

- The Embraers are for domestic + regional traffic. An interesting tidbit is that 'premium' traffic is picking up such that KQ added premium seating to 1 Embraer from an all-economy configuration

- The PLFs were quite decent in 1Q & it seems that traffic worldwide has increased. 2Q will also see numbers from WC 2010 as well as increased fares due to the 'high season' from Europe.

The major spanner in the works remains JKIA... The traffic is KRAZY... Just getting in & out of the airport...

If I have 3 or more people in my party going NBO-Mombasa & 'time' is not an issue... I wud rather go by road!

I wud leave early in the morning coz it is cool & less traffic on the way... Avoids the bother to take a cab to JKIA, fly to MIA then take a cab to Mombasa town or wherever I am going!

For a 9am flight, I have to leave at 7am!!! Why? Traffic + 1 hour check-in at JKIA...

the deal
#86 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 3:25:54 PM

TN promised to keep the operational costs down...with the underlining business improving on every metric its a just a matter of time patient shareholders get rewarded...
PKoli
#87 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 3:40:53 PM

the deal wrote:
TN promised to keep the operational costs down...with the underlining business improving on every metric its a just a matter of time patient shareholders get rewarded...

it better be. I moved of some cfc and I might not get value
Pierce
#88 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 3:42:50 PM

Do I buy more KQ?
Pierce
#89 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 3:45:40 PM

Do I buy more KQ?
PKoli
#90 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 3:50:29 PM

Pierce wrote:
Do I buy more KQ?

If you have cash and want dividends
qw25041985
#91 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 4:03:35 PM

Buy fundermentaly sound companies. Including KQ.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
ProverB
#92 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 5:25:01 PM

Pierce wrote:
Do I buy more KQ?

Compared to what? for a portfolio with 5 counters..KQ is unlikely to make the cut..a bigger portfolio..may be..
personally..my mind has not been changed since i first put up this thread.. declining margins are NOT a mark of prudent investing..but that is me.. for share traders..relying basically on technicals..kq is nice to play with.. since this thread started it dropped from 58 to 46 went up again n is on way down to about 44 then up again blah blah blah..if you want to play..play..
Other reasons to buy is that its unique share..yaani no other airline..doing better than other airlines..blah blah blah..

Fact our market is so small means the share price trend will reflect whole market trend..rise with everything..fall wih everything..
so much story..buy or not..its up to you. but me..opportunity cost matters..
I'd rather 8 safcom shares to 1 KQ smile smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
the deal
#93 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 5:30:23 PM

I think i'm going to do a thread on why KQ is a buy...
ProverB
#94 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 5:39:49 PM

the deal wrote:
I think i'm going to do a thread on why KQ is a buy...

Cool.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
#95 Posted : Friday, August 13, 2010 5:46:51 PM

Pierce wrote:
Do I buy more KQ?

What's your average buy?
The Merchant
#96 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 3:19:57 PM

KQ now at 34. This thread is now very interesting to read....
mwanahisa
#97 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 6:34:21 PM

It even traded at 33 today. We might soon get our wish for a Sub 30 price. I bet at that price the rights issue will be quietly withdrawn, and I hope to be in, awaiting the next big bull market on the NSE in 2013!!!
ProverB
#98 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 6:43:16 PM

..7 months later..and if i put up this thread anew i would still stand by it...
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
though i'd adjust for speculative purposes..to allow a buy now.. smile
Bwana Deal..where art thou?... n ofcourse...QW smile
Iborian
#99 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2011 11:25:53 AM

Flash Forward - 5th June 2014. Kenya Airways have just released their results for the year ended 31st March 2014.

EPS grew to an all time high of Kshs 12.92. Dividend raised to Kshs 3.50, following the exit of the former CEO Titus Naikuni last year.

Share price has now surged to all time high of Kshs 160. Investors have once again fallen in love with the stock.

Oh, did I just mention, I bought the share 3 years ago at the beaten down price of Kshs 33.

This is what dreams are made of.
ProverB
#100 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2011 11:56:34 AM

Iborian wrote:
Flash Forward - 5th June 2014. Kenya Airways have just released their results for the year ended 31st March 2014.

EPS grew to an all time high of Kshs 12.92. Dividend raised to Kshs 3.50, following the exit of the former CEO Titus Naikuni last year.

Share price has now surged to all time high of Kshs 160. Investors have once again fallen in love with the stock.

Oh, did I just mention, I bought the share 3 years ago at the beaten down price of Kshs 33.

This is what dreams are made of.

Nice dream..i didn't buy before..when you bought..and it went full cycle to where it is now.. 33 bob...
if i buy it now.. the difference between u and i is "time value for money" 33 bob in my pocket over the last 3 years has done so much for me compared to you handsome return of 4 bob in dividends ove same period.. unless of course u traded the share over the period to take in capital gains..on which i'd admire you of course.. but i doubt that. smile