ArrestedDev wrote:
Hersi is a hypocrite. Coastal hotels are over-priced. During the holiday season, they rip us off and yet he berates KQ for "high prices" for last minute bookings.

Kenya's beach tourism is expensive relative to Egypt. When the West Africans wake up to the prospects of beach tourism they could steal our thunder... The flights are much shorter from Europe to West Africa.

On point, he should have been rubbished on the spot.The whole of North Africa is stealing the show - Tunisia and Morocco too.Many destinations in West Africa are no go zones, e.g. Lagos.

Jameni! Lagos isn't West Africa. There's so much more to West Africa than Lagos. They (& the Europeans) killed off their wildlife so we are lucky in that respect that we can offer "beach & wildlife" holiday packages.

I have heard very good things about Tunisia. Clean, safe and well-priced.
Egypt's all-inclusive packages for (real) 4-star hotels are amazing. A return flight to Hurghada from London with HB for 1 week = $1,000!
Try to get that at a KE beach hotel with a flight on KQ from Nairobi.

Lagos is the mother of conference tourism in West Africa.

Tunisia, Egypt?? Who would want to go there at this time.. Some people here seem not to be acquainted with BBC, CNN..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I watch Al-Jazeera
Tunisia is quite safe. And clean. And inexpensive vs Kenya. And easier (& cheaper) to get to for European tourists than using KQ.

The way @obiero is viewing Tunusia and Egypt via the goggles of CNN and BBC is the same way the WEST is viewing Kenya with the same goggle.
Ask any mzungu huko mayuu and all he knows about Kenya is bombing everywhere, mall attacks daily, college siekkes everyday...he need to know how these Western media are chiuned.

He will be surprised if he was to land in Tunusia today; he will realized he's been watching the WRONG tv all this time!

LOL. I can not believe that we are comparing Tunisia to Kenya in terms of natural appeal.. I just can't

@obiero it seems some people are bleating here because they lack relevant information. I spoke with a German elderly woman who has made several tours to African countries for the last 3 decades. She told me Kenya is incomparable to other nations in the continent. Kenya prides in aesthetic flora and fauna attracting tourists from across the globe especially Europe, North America, Canada, Australia the list is endless. Beautiful sceneries along the Great Rift Valley, historical sites, cultural events-ceremonies and rituals- amongst Kenyan communities e.g the Maasai in the Rift valley and Mijikenda across the coastline. You people are not aware some Wazungus come to Kenya to see Maasai and Ogiek . Most importantly the 8th wonder of the world, Great wild beast migration from Maasai Mara to Serengeti in Tanzania.

I hope you were not escorting the old lady coz a sample of one in a population of 1 billion is not representative enough.

Highest for Egypt used to be around 1.48 million they are currently doing 450k with all the problems...
#5522 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 11:00:03 AM

Spikes wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Hersi is a hypocrite. Coastal hotels are over-priced. During the holiday season, they rip us off and yet he berates KQ for "high prices" for last minute bookings.

Kenya's beach tourism is expensive relative to Egypt. When the West Africans wake up to the prospects of beach tourism they could steal our thunder... The flights are much shorter from Europe to West Africa.

On point, he should have been rubbished on the spot.The whole of North Africa is stealing the show - Tunisia and Morocco too.Many destinations in West Africa are no go zones, e.g. Lagos.

Jameni! Lagos isn't West Africa. There's so much more to West Africa than Lagos. They (& the Europeans) killed off their wildlife so we are lucky in that respect that we can offer "beach & wildlife" holiday packages.

I have heard very good things about Tunisia. Clean, safe and well-priced.
Egypt's all-inclusive packages for (real) 4-star hotels are amazing. A return flight to Hurghada from London with HB for 1 week = $1,000!
Try to get that at a KE beach hotel with a flight on KQ from Nairobi.

Lagos is the mother of conference tourism in West Africa.

Tunisia, Egypt?? Who would want to go there at this time.. Some people here seem not to be acquainted with BBC, CNN..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I watch Al-Jazeera
Tunisia is quite safe. And clean. And inexpensive vs Kenya. And easier (& cheaper) to get to for European tourists than using KQ.

The way @obiero is viewing Tunusia and Egypt via the goggles of CNN and BBC is the same way the WEST is viewing Kenya with the same goggle.
Ask any mzungu huko mayuu and all he knows about Kenya is bombing everywhere, mall attacks daily, college siekkes everyday...he need to know how these Western media are chiuned.

He will be surprised if he was to land in Tunusia today; he will realized he's been watching the WRONG tv all this time!

LOL. I can not believe that we are comparing Tunisia to Kenya in terms of natural appeal.. I just can't

@obiero it seems some people are bleating here because they lack relevant information. I spoke with a German elderly woman who has made several tours to African countries for the last 3 decades. She told me Kenya is incomparable to other nations in the continent. Kenya prides in aesthetic flora and fauna attracting tourists from across the globe especially Europe, North America, Canada, Australia the list is endless. Beautiful sceneries along the Great Rift Valley, historical sites, cultural events-ceremonies and rituals- amongst Kenyan communities e.g the Maasai in the Rift valley and Mijikenda across the coastline. You people are not aware some Wazungus come to Kenya to see Maasai and Ogiek . Most importantly the 8th wonder of the world, Great wild beast migration from Maasai Mara to Serengeti in Tanzania.

I hope you were not escorting the old lady coz a sample of one in a population of 1 billion is not representative enough.

Highest for Egypt used to be around 1.48 million they are currently doing 450k with all the problems...

Monthly....d'oh! d'oh!
#5523 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 11:30:40 AM

@maka - Equanimity. Facts speak for themselves. Some folks just want to be jingoistic and find it easier to insult others. Thanks for the info. 450k/month with all the drama! That's amazing.

If we could attract just 225,000 unique (tourism) visitors a month, it would go a long way in boosting our hotel room occupancy rates, internal flights, bus travel, car hire, taxi hire, etc. Furthermore, we need to boost tourism during our "slow" months so the fixed costs are spread over the entire year. This also helps those who have seasonal jobs by "extending" the length of the seasons.
#5524 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 2:53:55 PM

@maka - Equanimity. Facts speak for themselves. Some folks just want to be jingoistic and find it easier to insult others. Thanks for the info. 450k/month with all the drama! That's amazing.

If we could attract just 225,000 unique (tourism) visitors a month, it would go a long way in boosting our hotel room occupancy rates, internal flights, bus travel, car hire, taxi hire, etc. Furthermore, we need to boost tourism during our "slow" months so the fixed costs are spread over the entire year. This also helps those who have seasonal jobs by "extending" the length of the seasons.

The question is not quantity but quality.. We have a better product

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#5525 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 9:18:49 PM

The very first, final and unequivocal boarding call.. KQs journey to profitability is confirmed.. Thank me later

Spikes
#5526 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 9:25:00 PM

The very first, final and unequivocal boarding call.. KQs journey to profitability is confirmed.. Thank me later

Keep dreaming brother. Very soon KQ shall touch sub 3 bob. Will you average down?
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#5527 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 10:42:20 PM

Of all the things Qatar could acquire from Kenya including KQ, they chose Yego. Yego is more valuable than KQ.
#5528 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 11:05:41 PM

Of all the things Qatar could acquire from Kenya including KQ, they chose Yego. Yego is more valuable than KQ.
The Qatar folks are smarter than those pumping Taxpayer money into KQ. d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#5529 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2016 11:22:19 PM

Brother @Obiero, some of us have been thanking you since 2012.
#5530 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2016 7:17:50 AM

I have never called out investors directly.. I used to walk alone but now it's time to make cash with the brave..

#5531 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2016 4:11:42 PM

Spikes
#5532 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2016 4:57:25 PM

Ooh just to comply.
#5533 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2016 10:18:27 PM

#8 - "Loss of capital..." [That's a new one. Negative Equity?]

At least they aren't wasting money on renting KICC...
#5534 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 8:34:50 AM

Thanks to Ngunze. Even last year we met at the Pride Centre.. This one shall be a hot one since last year the management told us that they would need 18months for a return to profit, we are now at 12months from the issued promise

chiaroscuro
#5535 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 2:56:57 PM

I though so too!

Why is it still listed?
chiaroscuro
#5536 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 3:01:06 PM

I have never called out investors directly.. I used to walk alone but now it's time to make cash with the brave..

There is NO way you can get an insolvent company out of debt using more debt! Absolutely none!

The only way out is re-capitalisation. In this case Sh50bn is needed. Otherwise ni hadhi za Abu Nwasi!
ArrestedDev
#5537 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 4:09:28 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

There is NO way you can get an insolvent company out of debt using more debt! Absolutely none!

The only way out is re-capitalisation. In this case Sh50bn is needed. Otherwise ni hadhi za Abu Nwasi!

It is as good as dead. More than 50billion required including sending home all the current directors. I do not know what kind of remuneration is being proposed for them as shown on the above AGM notice. The management problems facing KQ will persist so long as Ngunze remains to be used in the 2017 elections.
#5538 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 5:27:17 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

@chiaroscuro we have obtained KES 60B courtesy of PJT.. Wait for the news to break next month
@arresteddev even by your own standards you have gone too low.. alleging that Ngunze will use KQ funds for Jubilee purposes is bizarre. Even if we were to imagine that theory, will Ogwapit and Awori allow the alleged scandal to transpire.. The turn around is finally here. Last boarding call was already sounded

Spikes
#5539 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 5:35:28 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

@chiaroscuro we have obtained KES 60B courtesy of PJT.. Wait for the news to break next month
@arresteddev even by your own standards you have gone too low.. alleging that Ngunze will use KQ funds for Jubilee purposes is bizarre. Even if we were to imagine that theory, will Ogwapit and Awori allow the alleged scandal to transpire.. The turn around is finally here. Last boarding call was already sounded

Is 60B loan facility or free money? Clarify ?
#5540 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 7:12:57 PM

Spikes wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:

Is 60B loan facility or free money? Clarify ?

How on earth would you imagine that it is more debt. Its capital restructuring