wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Porn and Porn Related Activities.
SUSU
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 7:46:50 AM

I have an unlimited Internet access connection in my home. I was just wondering how I can block these filthy sites from my kids.Can you please share some ideas on how to be safe so as not to disturb the minds of our young ones while surfing the net?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 8:02:49 AM

...the only way is to have it limited...no other way....If you dont do this, your sweet daughter will soon get married to a drug baron from Brazil or a beggar from Mumbai!!!
...and kwani you have hacked one of the wireless internet connections in the neighbourhood!!!
chepkel
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 8:40:36 AM

@Susu, soooooo loving your nameLaughing out loudly
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 9:13:35 AM

Depends on where you wish to block/filter content from!!

Alternative one.......get a good content filter on your desktop/laptop. make sure you are the only one who has the admin password so that your guys cant alter filtering rules to allow in bad stuff as and when they want. Most content filtering software downloads white/black/Grey lists from the internet automatically and updates your local database. You can always block any kind of stuff from being accessed from your desktop/laptop.

Problem is, your guys can become a little smart and borrow your neighbor's laptop which has got no filtering capabilities, hence circumventing your security measures!!

Alternative two (recommended).....Have your ISP filter content that is being passing to your link to your agreed standards....they will do so at a small cost..... I wouldn't expect your guys to call the ISP and complain that they cant get to www.hardcore.com, they are simply connered....you may couple this with option one above as well!!

Have a non-porn day, won't you??
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 9:57:38 AM

Buy a family edition anti-virus like Kaspersky. This one is more expensive than the other version. It will give you the option of blocking access to porn site as well as acting as anti-virus.
SUSU
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 10:50:48 AM

@Chepkel
U can use it if u want .. it's not a copy right ..smile

@ Magigi
That a very good idea allocating them some fixed timings and I think better when you are with them. Educating/talking with them openly on the effect of these sites...BUT how to start it...d'oh! .

@kingFisher / FundamentalAli
Thanks for this advice. This Kaspersky thing kwani how much does it cost? I'll try to find it.if this is what it will do then I think it's worth spending some earned dividends on it.
King can u suggest some good contentfilter? are they to be obtaied from the market or free downloads? I am not that good in computer things.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 11:56:47 AM

That particular version Shs. 2,600/- from PC world and other shops in town
cherubin
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 12:06:38 PM

Drool @kingfisher...how bad is hardcore.com?
reddevil
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 12:23:11 PM

I hope your neighbor does not have unlimited access too...

back then it used to be TV's which were locked up for the kids not to watch when older folks are not at home for fear of x-rated content, but then...what about the neighbors? d'oh! or the phones, they could as well be surfing www.phoneerotica.com right infront of your face...Laughing out loudly and you think you have installed AV on the PC

Such are the dynamics my friend,anyways think of educating them...not guaranteed but may just be more helpful.

#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 12:50:23 PM

go here

http://internet-filter-review.toptenreviews.com/
http://lifehacker.com/53...content-filtering-tools

But as I said earlier the best would be to use your ISP to do the filtering for you especially for porn coz I don't thing you need any exceptions here! Otherwise those brats will always find a way around your wall coz that is there nature....and when you come back home things are always fine!!
Burning Spear
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 12:54:43 PM

@susu,
nowadys,it difficult to hide this content frm children having in mind they discuss this thing in school.
A typical example from me is ...I got to know whats port in class 5 coz some dudes used to come with magazines and claim they had stolen from their parents bedroom.
The first porn I watched,i was class 6 after I accompanied a classmate to their home on weekends (was in a boarding school)and we watched the whole 3hrs coz the paros were not around.
.....so some of these things come from parents...as much as you talk to them please clear any pornographic material that cud be in your bedroom!!
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
SUSU
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 2:43:52 PM

@redevil
I think we should take all the precaution that is within our reach.Things beyond our reach is left to GOD nobody can do nothing.I know there are countless places they can obtain the material from BUT it should not be in your house .. remember we were once young also... lakini those days of ours were not like now..it's in the matatus, streets, cafes name it..But As u put it Educating is one cool option.
2King... Thanx

@Burning ...Laughing out loudly U grew old kabla ya sikuzako..Oooh
ati in class 6 (age 12!!).. what effect did it or rather is it it still having on you??Laughing out loudly .. Ofcourse u can't preach water and start drinking Muratina... u have to clear ur area and make sure you set a good example.