wazua Thu, Apr 25, 2024

47 Pages123>»
Matatu Business
TUPAC
#1 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 3:08:52 PM

Hi guys. I and a friend inted to contribute jointly and start a matatu (Nissan or Toyota Hiace) business by September this year. Could anyone with experience or insights into this business advise please. We are planning to purchase the vehicle at approx. Ksh 1 M.
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
subaru
#2 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 6:32:16 PM

the matatu business is very lucrative but very demanding as in drama all the time .Are you ready to deal with the cops,kanjo,vijana wa barabara,shody mechanics,bad crew unless you want to put it iwe shuttle ya long distance you can try your luck.
TUPAC
#3 Posted : Monday, May 03, 2010 8:32:17 PM

we plan to have the business on long distance routes. the ones that are managed by saccos.
...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
Injere
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 06, 2010 5:12:23 AM

Shame on you Try some other investment- i wish i had heeded to this advise.

You will be hearing more stories than hard cash...the cops, broken tie rods, fixed a tyre and many more.

if you cant get down to the street and sweat it out with them, my simple advise is buy a plot of land with that cash and watch your money grow.
chepkel
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 06, 2010 6:31:09 AM

Matatu business is only good for those who intend to do it themselves. i.e you'll be the one driving or the conductor and you understand the business vizuri. Enyewe it has a lot of cash but also a great number of challenges that may be very annoying and discouraging to someone who does not understand the business.
centerbolt
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 10:23:07 AM

TUPAC wrote:
we plan to have the business on long distance routes. the ones that are managed by saccos.

try Nuclear Investments, the management there is good. then get crew that you absolutely trust...you!
chepkel
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 1:19:19 PM

North Rift is also good. Try them out. Most trusted line of matatus in the region.
TUPAC
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 1:27:10 PM

Thanks all for the advice. Has anybody real experience of operating this biz. And wondering of the 'normal' returns from this bz. anybody?
#9 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:23:33 PM

One year on, how is this business especially if one wants to get a 33 seater bus for town service?
KenyanLyrics
#10 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:31:16 PM

My folks once tried a city matatu business. Enyewe if you're not part of the matatu crew, it is too much stress. But at least nowadays there is not so much pressure to have a souped up matatu like before the Michuki rules. A plain matatu will suffice.
Chaka
#11 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 12:40:07 PM

@TUPAC,
You were supposed to have started by Sept 2010!
What happened?You seem to have developed cold feet and thus this business is not for you....
#12 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 1:03:50 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
My folks once tried a city matatu business. Enyewe if you're not part of the matatu crew, it is too much stress. But at least nowadays there is not so much pressure to have a souped up matatu like before the Michuki rules. A plain matatu will suffice.

A well detailed MAT always does the trick..Makes more money.,,a Plain mat will be a hard sell during off peaks.
TUPAC
#13 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 1:18:35 PM

Chaka wrote:
@TUPAC,
You were supposed to have started by Sept 2010!
What happened?You seem to have developed cold feet and thus this business is not for you....

@chaka i joined a matatu sacco. couldnt go ahead with the idea.
Chaka
#14 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 1:23:34 PM

@chaka i joined a matatu sacco. couldnt go ahead with the idea.[/quote]

Ok,so what is your exeperience so far and how long have you been on it?
TUPAC
#15 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 1:34:33 PM

Chaka wrote:

@chaka i joined a matatu sacco. couldnt go ahead with the idea.

Ok,so what is your exeperience so far and how long have you been on it?[/quote]
we joined many of us around 120 members.we have 6 Nissan caravan on th road since july last year. biashara si mbaya but we need to manage them closely coz drivers really eat whe not well supervised. we took some loans so we service them as we increasa the number of vehicles. lakini biashara ya matatu si mchezo.
#16 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 2:56:46 PM

@tupac
How is the 33 seater business segment in the town service. Would you recommend it? what in your opinion is the realistic average take home for the owner
madhaquer
#17 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:02:00 PM

All,
If you are going into the 33 seater business the options are basically 2. Buy your buses, brand them kbs or moa or citi hoppa and have it franchised. There is slightly less stress from the mungiki, bus stop thugs etc. There are quite a number of Nairobians who trust branded buses and will ensure steady market.
But that does not guarantee your revenue. And unfortunately, 1 bus cannot join a franchise. http://www.kenyabus.net/index.php?page=franchise
The other option is to quit your day job and drive that bus until you recover your capex.
TUPAC
#18 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:42:49 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
@tupac
How is the 33 seater business segment in the town service. Would you recommend it? what in your opinion is the realistic average take home for the owner

@bwenyenye ours ply the loitokitok nairobi route and they are all 11 seaters.33 seater in town sijui.
#19 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2011 8:59:02 PM

Thanks great people. @Madhaqer and @ TUPAC. I thoght at KBS, you pay 50K for upto 5 buses but you could start with one and build up the number?
GITHUKUSM
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2011 11:20:22 AM

Those who are in supplying,retailing and deal in goods like gas cylinders,fire equipments etc or carry workers may find these vehicles ideal.

A choice of 6
All KBP ex Japan

Silver in colour 3
white 3
Auto 6
Petrol 5
Diesel, 4wd silver 1
4wd 1,2wd 5

Petrol auto from 750k
Diesel, 4wd silver 1 900k
more info githukusm@yahoo.com