#1 Posted : Sunday, March 28, 2010 10:51:16 AM

Gr8t idea

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
centerbolt
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 30, 2010 10:30:48 AM

.......meba
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 30, 2010 2:03:55 PM

Is this the new product by KCB targeting youth between 24 and 30?

If so, is this a contradiction:
The new product, dubbed ‘Bankika', is a personal and business package whose clientele will be the working youth on permanent employment.

And then further:
"The young entrepreneurs will be relieved from paying monthly charges and will enjoy unlimited deposits and withdrawals,"

Thought young entrepreneurs and working youth on permanent employment are two different groups?

http://www.kbc.co.ke/story.asp?ID=63066
redondo
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 30, 2010 3:13:44 PM

So typical of Kenyan banks: very willing to lend to those with steady income but very weary of micro enterprises.
#5 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 10:58:26 AM

Aaaaah, the nostalgia of youth
The colour, the freshness, the vitality
Bankika na KCB has got me piqued,
but alas, the account is not for me

http://www.bankikanakcb.com/website/index.html

Signs of midlife crisis Laughing out loudly
kizee
#6 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 11:13:21 AM

another failed product from a failed bank...
Layman
#7 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 2:17:57 PM

KCB is the only bank I know of which charges a fee to deposit a dividend cheque. That is to say, as long as the cheque you are depositing is for a dividend you are receiving from your shareholding in any company and you deposit it in an account you have with KCB (savings, current, whatever the account) they charge you because its "a dividend cheque". Very funny. I am not talking of upcountry cheques nor am I talking about encashing a cheque, this is a simple local cheque deposit.

When they charged me for depositing a dividend cheque I received from my shareholing in the same KCB, thats the explanation they gave.
bird_man
#8 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 2:40:08 PM

@Layman....si wewe ni shareholder?Go to the AGM and raise hell over that next time.The cashiers just follow policy,dividend cheque is dividend cheque.
@Kizee, why is it a failed bank?I have an account there and so far so good.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
wote
#9 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 4:47:28 PM

layman has a point here, i mean you have already paid withholding tax why pay another charge to deposit a cheque?. When you go to the AGM and bring up the matter you will be told to go to hell since you are minority share holder. Remember one shareholder by the name Shah raising certain issues way back and being told his views did not matter. Best solution is to get a saving account with a bank that does not charge for deposits.( try bank of India)
bird_man
#10 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 5:02:47 PM

Witholding tax goes to KRA while the dividend cheque deposit charge goes to KCB (how else will employees be paid if not from these "charges on your dividend income".I think the best thing is to change banks if it a significant expense to you.Or complain at the AGM...
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
kizee
#11 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 5:08:22 PM

bird_man wrote:
@Layman....si wewe ni shareholder?Go to the AGM and raise hell over that next time.The cashiers just follow policy,dividend cheque is dividend cheque.
@Kizee, why is it a failed bank?I have an account there and so far so good.

...enjoy ur gud fortune while it lasts...
#12 Posted : Monday, April 12, 2010 6:09:30 PM

@ wote bank of india even charges even when u deposit cash! What r u telling us here?
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 13, 2010 8:31:22 AM

Why wud u be charged for depositing a dividend chq? Si, a chq is a chq not matter whose it is?

@kyt - Many banks charge for depositing cash... but I use I&M which has no funny charges for depositing local chqs or cash (lakini maybe its my type of account... i.e. what I chose for my needs) but I hardly deposit cash anyway!
anasazi
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 13, 2010 9:22:16 AM

I advocate for the fixed charge accounts, like the MOVE account. As much as the 800 bob is a lot to pay monthly, if you load standing orders, atm withdrawals, plus all those other fees, I think its worth it.
Form is temporary, class is permanent