wazua Sat, May 25, 2024

Why did True Love and Drum fail?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 12:50:50 PM

Male as I am, the gloss and fanfare of East Africa Magazines publications was difficult to ignore. So glance at them I did, over the shoulders of those close to me.

The color looked so bright, and the smiles so genuine. I tell you Duncan Willets' photos and Connie Alouch's styling gave testament to belief all God's creations are beautiful. And the society events, homes featured, the moving stories... the talent: Carole Mandi, Jacqueline Thom etc.

So why do I read that EAM is folding? And what do these South African businessmen always get wrong?
muganda attached the following image(s):
truelove.jpg (5kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 12:59:19 PM

Another sad day. Maybe it is the of said poor reading culture among Kenyans. Or there is no critical mass of readership who can support the said magazines.How much did they cost Kshs 150 or 200? The cost may have been too much for the target market.
Radiance
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 12:59:31 PM

Source?
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:03:10 PM

wrong audience..try a football publication, by the way are porn magazines legal in Kenya?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:08:28 PM

@Radiance BusinessDaily front page http://www.businessdaily...-/15t8u0hz/-/index.html

@mlefu Their target audience doesn't read football or porn
@bkismat TrueLove 280/- Drum 250/-
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:13:14 PM

I thought the target audience of the magazines was women. 52% of the Kenyan population.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:17:28 PM

@mlefu Ooops! I stand corrected. I had totally forgotten about Adam, and as a man - Wooooaaah, there they missed the point completely. Is it possible Pala Oyunga (as editor) had more insight into female psyche than male?

Now in Adam, the target market reads football and maybe ocassionally even some racy stuff. Advertising revenues, political tension aside; this magazine ended up being read by women interested in how men think.
anasazi
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:28:06 PM

I think the culture of getting free 411 on the web has also played its part. I mean, even football magazines have suffered. Why buy a magazine with stale news when you can get it all on goal.com? As for Adam magazine, they were maybe targeting metrosexuals, who arent too many it seems...
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Djinn
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:45:39 PM

they have been groping their way down a rocky cliff - the Drum I once freelanced for around 2006-2007 is not the same drum of recent years. From a magazine aimed at the hoi polloi with human interest stories and a low cover price (kshs 100) to a fashion/gossip/who's who magazine for the elite.

I was never able to understand that transition. But even as a magazine for the average mwananchi, its editorial leadership sucked...
wa P
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:54:31 PM

Methinks there are several independent reasons for the said impending folding of EAM:
- Article-length reading culture is being effectively killed by straight- to- the- point media (SMS, Facebook...)

- With information age, news delivery is getting efficient and we shall always be trying to catch up. Morning developments, opinions, news are stale by lunchtime.

- @Mlefu has a valid reflection above - porn. Internet is bringing a whole new dimension in recreation.

- And then of course the S.African business jinx.

Those 'old enough' here shall recall Readers Digest subscription. I Stopped mine 1 year ago (since 90s)as issues were piling up unread. By the way RD seem to be adapting to short articles and testimony-based advertising.

Interesting blogs like Wazua is the way to go.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 2:21:57 PM

i think there were deeper issues than we,the readers can comprehend. One minute they suspended Twende and Adam,after 2 months,the mags were back as quartely issues,then barely a month later,They closed down! And why had they added another mag to the market,i.e 'Move' only a few months ago,bragged that it was their best performing mag,held a barbeque bash for its readers...got thousands of subscriptions,only for it to close down??!
There was something brewing..but after all is said and done,some of us will miss the magazines. In terms of superior quality and content,they didnt have a serious competitor out there.
fantony
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 2:56:56 PM

- editorial policy... who is Jacqui Thom?... may be i know her from her 5 minutes at citizen but to reach a wider audience you have to go for someone well known... this 'high society' has too few people in Kenya... the real high society pays $20 for a UK or US mag

- bkismat... you do not even qualify for that college you attend... 100-200/= can't even cover bus fare for a day to and from most parts of nairobi

- @ 250-280 ($ 4) these mags were well affordable.. it all went down to product quality... information by definition is = tell me something i don't know...

- of course the SA factor...

#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 3:04:52 PM

Interesting insights so far. And to make it more confounding
EAM was owned by SA Magazine industry giant Media 24 Magazines, who claim more that 60 titles across Africa.

Other African countries where it operates include Nigeria, Uganda and Angola, where operations have not been affected.

@Fantony and @Djinn maybe onto something. I always thought Drum seemed lost but Jacqueline Thom surely did make it something. And just as with Carole Mandi who was promoted to Publisher after her magic with True Love, Jacq Thom was promoted to Marketing Director.

But following of True Love surely dropped when Wayua Muli came in...
And can't vouch for Pala Oyunga success with Adam...
And Twende, never bought a single copy...

#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 3:26:08 PM

Consumer Insight and other such bodies do the research year after year lakini people do not read them. The bulk of Kenya's population is poor.

There are yuppies who speak good English, have flashy cars, hang out at Carnivore, go for weekends to Naivasha and Nanyuki, Holiday in Mombasa and occassionally fly out of the country. You get one of these to run a business and they think everyone is like that because that is the kind of people they hang out with. They start to mass produce a product for this segment and then discover to their astonishment that they are not that many. Some businesses learn and adapt (read Safaricom with introduction of lower and lower denominations for airtime, Wahindi companies that sell "mafuta ya kupima" etc) others fail or are unable to adapt and close shop (read Barnetts, Supreme etc).

You should hear young executives talking about "quality" and "international standards" and forgetting that their target consumer doesn't give a rat's ass about those. They want something that serves the purpose and is affordable. In the case of magazines I imagine the publishers of True Love and Drum may have scoffed at the quality of "Parents" and thought they could do much better. Have you ever wondered why the gutter press with with its poor quality paper and horrible grammar survive? They have understood their audience. They provide juicy stories at a price that is affordable and they will be here long after the high quality, glossy cover and stylish True Love is gone.

As the middle class grows maybe there will be demand enough to sustain these kinds of publications but for now we will have to do with "Citizen" and "Parents".
Memmy
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 3:34:48 PM

@Kusadikika , so very true!
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 4:13:36 PM

hata mimi nimesadikika.

fantony
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 4:50:16 PM

it appears i should have known who jacquie thom was if i read the drum... my comment actually applied on who appeared on the cover... there are times i have failed to pick a magazine or newspaper from the shelf because of the cover photo and headline respectively..

- the SA factor may well be about how much profit can be made to satisfy the publisher...

- quality of product is a must.. international standards - not necessarily.. i bought Adam for 2 reasons... update from the 3 or 4 articles that had real local issues and info that could style me up... in-flight entertainment for passengers in my car that would show 'i was with it'.. i did not care about health tips... i am lazy in the working out dimension and prefer working off weight... i liked adam with oyunga pala but also liked that paul omondi gave the magazine more meat to chew on..

- drum and true love... the editors never bothered for a day to even change the layout... they used the same SA layout... in a sort of mentality.. this size fits south africans... it better fit you kenyans or better still... just go to hell...

- it would be interesting to know who has custody of the titles... and how much it would cost to run one edition of the magazine... somewhere in between there is alot of guys to be made from guys like me.. and we number more than half a million..
Seeders
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 5:18:12 AM

kusadikika - powerful points. hadn't thought about parents. she must be doing something right. the magazine name itself is genius. from a certain age, you would rather be seen reading a magazine called 'parents' and leave 'true love' to teenagers. never mind the racy headlines on both.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 6:33:53 AM

@ fanatony wacha madharau and don't even start on my qualifications. I guess you are one of those yuppies @Kusadikika is talking about. And FYI more than 47% of the Kenyan population live on less than $2 a day and I can assure you they don't spend 100 - 200 a day on transport.
redondo
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 8:55:24 AM

I think there are enough of the so called yuppies in Kenya to keep EAM's publications profitable.I am sure Angola, Nigeria and Uganda are no better than us in terms of buying power yet media 24's operations in those countries have not been affected.
I think it boils down to content. True love for instance got too monotonous. even the cover personality was telling- same old media personalities.