wazua Fri, May 17, 2024

52 Pages«<34567>»
Question for a4architect
#81 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 10:12:04 AM

These are the guys on the ground hakuna formalities they do the actual job with their "watu wa mkono". Wambua and Mungai can be contacted as follows: Wambua 0710194072 and Mungai is 0717930991.
tom_boy
#82 Posted : Saturday, April 24, 2010 8:10:08 PM

This thread is amazing,

I am in the process of planning for constructing and hope to start very soon, in fact I am looking for a fundi. How much can I reasonably expect to spend on labour when doing the foundation (red soil), slab and roofing ( mabati roof).

The foundation is approx 160 square metres while slab is about 150 square metres. I plan to give labour contracts for the different stages so just need an estimate from those who have been there.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Pablo
#83 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 8:37:28 AM

My foundation of 180SqM cost about 450k incl. 105k for labour.
Slab 750k incl 160k Labour (thats if you hire the trappers rather than buy them). Roofing - ongoing.

Also note that youll need maybe some 200k for pre works. I.e water tank, road access some clearing etc.
se7en
#84 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 12:39:36 PM

this is the best post ever!! Such a wealth of knowledge! *Hat Tip @ Pablo*
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
se7en
#85 Posted : Monday, April 26, 2010 12:41:02 PM

this is the best thread ever!! Such a wealth of knowledge! *Hat Tip @ Pablo and other contributors*
speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
kenstat
#86 Posted : Monday, May 10, 2010 1:33:35 PM

As an aside, any recommendations for trustworthy lawyers (oxymoronic, I know) that members have used in their shamba deals? Thanks.
#87 Posted : Monday, May 10, 2010 4:09:48 PM

Wow!! for the first time i have read a thread reply by reply. @Pablo that's a big heart you got man! God Bless you.

@All...let's also not critisize Architect. At least he replied..
Jkwaititu
#88 Posted : Monday, May 17, 2010 9:56:09 PM

@pablo, if guys like u were president of Kenya...man we'd be far kabisa, ur the king of cost-cutting man!! Applause Applause

God willing i'm coming home in dec, best believe first thing i'll look for is someone to sell me a tree
#89 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:14:03 AM

Pray .Doing 2nd floor slab and can't believe the savings on mbao, props and trappers. The later are for hire @100 per piece for 40 days and I can't regret a thing. smile. Now the electricals and plumbing issues to sort, got this KPLC technician "engineer" as they call him doing the cabling for 12k, the cables etc cost abt 30k, plumber asks for 4k. NB: The plumber plus electrician will oversee the koroga process to secure their works!
kenstat
#90 Posted : Sunday, May 23, 2010 3:46:01 PM

Is this a personal house ama rental? What is the location?

Rahatupu wrote:
Pray .Doing 2nd floor slab and can't believe the savings on mbao, props and trappers. The later are for hire @100 per piece for 40 days and I can't regret a thing. smile. Now the electricals and plumbing issues to sort, got this KPLC technician "engineer" as they call him doing the cabling for 12k, the cables etc cost abt 30k, plumber asks for 4k. NB: The plumber plus electrician will oversee the koroga process to secure their works!

hugumadede
#91 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 6:59:27 AM

Thanks a lot Pablo and all other Wazua contributors. But I have one question...when you say the cost of construction is 25k /m2, does it apply for both bungallo and maisonette? Secondly, what would be cheaper to consruct between a 4 b/room bungalow and a 4 b/room maisonette and what would be price different? I would appreciate feedback on this
Pablo
#92 Posted : Wednesday, May 26, 2010 9:02:19 AM

Whether to build a bungalow or masionette depends on the space you have and your style. For me I would guess that a bungalow simply substitutes the slab for the foundation and possibly roof.
My 180 SqM foundation cost 450k
My 180 SqM slab cost 750k due to wood, chumas and labour.
Walling is cheaper downstairs than upstairs due to carrying stuff up.

In my opinion bungalow would b cheaper but youd need double the land area for the house.
alpha2
#93 Posted : Tuesday, June 01, 2010 9:15:45 AM

Thanks all for this great discussion..especially Pablo. I have a few questions..maybe Pablo can help.
I am working in Europe and i have noticed a few things as far as construction of houses is concerned. Been wondering if these ideas can reduce costs and if they can work back home. I am not an engineer so bear with my layman explanations.

1. No one uses stones anymore..All buildings even highrise apartment blocks use fired red clay bricks which are the same size as our stones (i think 6X9). How come we don't use this technology in Kenya?
2. I have noticed that the slabs for upper floors are quite thin and not as thick as back home..i assume its because the bricks are lighter since they are hollow..Again,i assume this would save a lot of cash.
3. The plaster that is used both on the outside and inside is already mixed with paint. Therefore as u plaster u are also painting. Do we have such cement products at home?

Over to you guys..

There are other ideas but first lets discuss these 3.

real cindano
#94 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 8:27:34 AM

@ Rahatupu and pablo .... Good stuff!!
@alpha2
Building in europe is way more expensive than building here!! Therefore your ideas might just increase cost
1. Bricks are more expensive because 1 few companies make them and electricity and fuel cost to run the kilns are too much!! Quarrying is cheaper but enviromentally unsound and would not be worth quarrying for rocks in europe unless its marble!!!
2. ... are you sure the slab are thiner? I doubt it??
3..Plaster mixed with paint .... lol! The "paint" you see is not paint but the colour of the plaster. You still have to paint the plaster walls or put wall paper.
alpha2
#95 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 9:02:40 AM

@real cindano..
I am in Eastern Europe where the economies are comparable to Kenya..if not even worse than Kenya..Yet apartments are cheaper here!!! Let me give you a real case of some apartments being built close to where i live..they are going for 760 Euros per m2..and the sizes vary from 33 to 125m2..at an exch rate of 100 Kshs per Euro that is Kshs2.5m for 1 bedroom to Kshs 9.5m for the 3 bedroom!!
You should see the finishing!!!
Laminate floor for sitting room and bedrooms, tiles for the rest of the house, central heating, PVC windows, Security (Steel) Doors, Granite (or is it marble??) covered stairscases, lift for 7pax, underground parking,
By the way, the 760 Euros per m2 is for ground, 1st, 2nd and i think 3rd floor..from 4th floor it gets cheaper..
So why are our apartments so expensive!!
alpha2
#96 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 9:17:12 AM

About the slabs, they definitely look thinner..will take photos over the weekend of some ongoing constructions and post them..

I can guarantee you that once the plaster is finished they do not paint the wall. I have seen so many ongoing constructions and once the plaster is done there is no other painting. The wall however is not as smooth as we have back home..its rough..will take photos of my house walls and u can see..

I also noted that since the bricks are hollow, its easier to run water pipes and elec wires through them and future repair work is just too easy!!
atiriri
#97 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 9:24:09 AM

Thank you guys. I wanted to start constructing a simple house in Kahawa. Who knows a good and honest fundi those sides
#98 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 9:37:06 AM

@ alpha2 the slab thickness is generally a function of the intended use of the building.
tutebeng
#99 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 11:59:02 AM

I have been constructing for the last 3 years on several fronts, houses, water tanks and those quotes of Kshs25k per sq m are not real. They are too high. I just did a floor of 360square meters and the numbers were nowhere near there.
real cindano
#100 Posted : Wednesday, June 02, 2010 12:09:01 PM

@tutenberg .... that was very useless.
To make your post more usefull please add substance to it like
1. How much did it cost?
2. What did you do to make it cheaper
3. What advice can you give people.

Otherwise thanks for nothing your post wasted 1 minute of my life and this replay wasted 3 minutes. Thanksfully the useful post above your will make up for your useless post.
Redeem yourself add some substance!!!