Safaricom results-what's your take?
skatotsi
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2008 4:40:00 PM

A make it or break it for Jammo.

I hope ur so damn right!!

Mors Tua,Vita Mea. (latin)
jammo
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2008 8:15:00 PM

Safcom is not a leavin bus..nor a boltin horse..nor even flying chicken...this is a dun semi arid plot in pokot west!..good for an occasional oasis for marauding speculators comin to rest n plot for another raid!

' I have heard of You,o Lord. Now mine eyes have seen thee!! Baal-Perazim.. The Lord of the Breakthrough!!'
$Billz
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:17:00 AM

Profits down after tax

Make the money
PONDI
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:20:00 AM

lol kumbe they still in the game...

http://safaricom.co.ke/f...ials/Press%20Release.pdf
Mpenzi
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:27:00 AM

http://in.reuters.com/ar...ews/idINLB4422020081112

NAIROBI,Nov 12 (Reuters) - Kenya's Safaricom SCOM.NR,said on Wednesday pretax profit rose 2.2 percent to 8.976 billion shillings ($117.5 million) in its first half ended September 2008,from 8.781 billion in the same period last year.

East Africa's leading mobile phone service provider and the region's biggest company by market capitalisation,attributed the increase in profit,which excludes one-off items,to expansion. Users rose by 50.3 percent to 11.96 million in the period from 7.96 million a year earlier.

(Reporting by Duncan Miriri; editing by Helen Nyambura)

#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:30:00 AM

I thought it would be more than 2.2% but as you all can see safcom is still in the game.......vuka was just a one hit wonder!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Mainat
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:30:00 AM

Not good. It got a tax benefit...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:30:00 AM

2.2% increase,lousy!!!!! Watch it drop!

jammo
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:33:00 AM

Forward profit for the year is sh17.8billion.... Am totally going 'mteja' at this point. No comment! 10% rule is waived as information is public and material enough to influence investor decision..plus came befor tradin session begun.

' I have heard of You,o Lord. Now mine eyes have seen thee!! Baal-Perazim.. The Lord of the Breakthrough!!'
#30 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:37:00 AM

mcreggea: vuka has killed Safcom: 50% increase in subscribers and only 2.2% increase in profits,I think you have it wrong!

#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:44:00 AM

Am I surprised???.....NO!!!!

jammo
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:50:00 AM

But still... They'v peaked don't u think? 50% increase in subscribers who brought totally no benefit? Otherwise..payin sh4 for it is fogothari. Do not recommend as buy...especially befor year ends.

#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:58:00 AM

I won't read the statement yet coz i know it is likely to end up with something like.......recommended final devidend pay out......a tenth of Ndururu......arhg...!!
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 6:59:00 AM

@kularaha,with the calling rates down you expect amount spent by an individual on calling to go down and the have explained as such,read the link below

http://safaricom.co.ke/f...als/Press%20Release.pdf

All those zain call that used to come to me when they launched vuka are no longer coming.....wonder what has changed!!!

#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:02:00 AM

I think Safcom's woes have just started,interconnectivity agreement coming up soon for review ( currently at 4.something bob,that will drop hard).

Further,number migration will be supported by 3 of 4 operators ( ie you can move to zain with your 0722 prefix intact,like India).

I hear Econet's opening shot will be 4k a month,unlimited calls across all networks,postpaid/prepaid,you choose.

We were sold Safcom at its height my friend,its good to accept the truth!

novestor
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:11:00 AM

Now that the dividend is 2billion(5cents) should we expect another 5 cents come march or more,i think that's the issue emerging for the dumpers,they can't believe 5cents!!!,let's wait and see

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
platinum
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:16:00 AM

With news of the impending announcement the share goes ahead and drops this morning from 4.30 to 4bob. What's going on? Why not rise? I'ld imagine shareholders would first want to kula the dividends,whatever the amount, before selling.
jammo
#38 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:18:00 AM

Today feels like a good day! What? Its not everyday u r right u kno! Guess what it means for all counters releasin results?..the shareholder of today is one mean shrewd n ruthless person! Word is on the wall loud and clear to all ceos n mds. Adan mohamed won't be so lucky.

#39 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:19:00 AM

@njung'e.....usisome.....page 8 says 'The Directors do not approve the payment of an interim dividend'

hii ni kamengu (go-cart) trying to conquer NITHI uphill!!!! haiwezi kamwe.....bure kabisa

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it does not belong in stocks.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2008 7:43:00 AM

Puhleeze...

1) Vuka was introduced juzi juzi... so the effect of vukaing has not hit safcon in 1H. it will hurt them in 2H.

2) Safcon was forced to match Orange & Zain (reduced rates) in 2H. Yes,there will be an increase in minutes called BUT lower revenue.

3) Safcon will benefit from data usage as subscribers grow.

4) M-Pesa is a con. It is owned by Vodafone (UK) and safcon gets a pittance.

5) Reduction of 10/- to 4/- for post-paid will hurt a lot as these are heavy users.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB