wazua Mon, Jun 24, 2024

VW Variant 411
Djinn
#1 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 12:36:33 PM

Who knows anything abt VW Variant 411 (LE or carburetor - does not really matter) Produced 1969-1972 - some of these came from RSA.

Need to know about:
1 - Part swapping with Kombi/Caravan (1970-74)
2 - Engine conversion...(which would be the best donor car if I wanted to swap)...
3 - Whether you have seen any lying around somewhere (in whatever condiction)?

@Njung'e - no, I am not parting ways with the old French maid....just considering adding a really old german hag (mpango wa kando) to add to my sleepless nights...also its definitely nice to poke around an engine in the "rear" for a change Laughing out loudly
#2 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 12:46:14 PM

@Djinn,
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly.

411...Which type is it?....Type 3 (1.6L) or type 4 (1.8L)??
Djinn
#3 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 12:47:24 PM

http://commons.wikimedia...i/File:Vw_411_h_sst.jpg

How can one upload a pic? Tried the doohickey up there, ^^^^ next to the thingimajig for links....

pic of 411
Djinn
#4 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 12:54:06 PM

Hi Njung'e - the 411 is a Type 4 - from researching this, I gather when it was discontinued (1974), some Type 2's (Combi/Van - esp from 1972-74)) were fitted with the Type 4 engines (1679 cc).

I have more or less confirmed from some spare shops that indeed Kombi's of that vintage did have 1.7 litre engines (1679cc to be precise) and I have some quotes for some parts (just to help me quantify just how much of an insane move this might turn out be....)

So, aside from the info. on the internet - I'm hoping for real life narratives and experiences...if someone has seen a shell somewhere my confidence would grow, if someone has stuck an Imprezza WRX 2.0 litre into such a car, I'll be so much more comfortable...

#5 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 1:01:12 PM

411 LE must have been type 3.....I say so cause E means the car had a fuel injector while type 4 and some 412 variants came along with carburetors.....Can't tell much about spares although quite a number of modern use Macpherson struts.(1.8L beetle but i know of only one).....and engine is interchangeable with Porsche 914....hahahaha..!!...See what you got yourself into??....BTW,the 411 batterry is right below the driver's seat.Make sure your balls are dry all the time....else,funga earth clampsLaughing out loudly
Djinn
#6 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 1:07:45 PM

Njunge wrote:
...See what you got yourself too??

I've heard that one before....I think at someone's wedding Laughing out loudly

#7 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 1:09:09 PM

@Djinn,
No personal experience...Closest i have come is an uncle's caravalle (old bitch!!).
Djinn
#8 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 1:16:23 PM

@Njung'e - did the Caravelle have twin carbs? Maybe a 2.0?

While this 411 is an LE, its injection system was taken out and twin carbs put in - actually fraternal twin carbs - one belongs in a VW as much as testicles belong on knees.....
#9 Posted : Monday, January 18, 2010 1:38:08 PM

@Djinn,

Mid 70s....I didn't know much about cars then.....and the engine was replaced with a bijuti one......Probably 1.8cc.Not sure.
XSK
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 5:45:06 AM

Njunge and Djinn,

Can you guys converse privately? what are this things you are talking about? d'oh!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
sokomjinga
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 6:55:51 AM

@XSK
Kama wewe si (part of) Wazua, wacha wazee waendelee. We are willing to learn.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....