wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

Video game cafe
giddy
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 11:15:00 AM

How viable is this idea?anyone with experience or knows an existing one?
seeker*
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 12:57:00 PM

its a good business,with little capital input and does not cost alot to run,but you will need employees who know about the current playstation games because children sometimes need cheats or want to play 2player games,if you can set it up to concide with december holidays you will make crazy money! the only running cost to this business is electricity and

i know where you can get:

video games cheaply
second-hand playstation machines
cheap tv screens
Don't fight a battle if you gain nothing by winning.” Erwin Rommel
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.
Djinn
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 1:32:00 PM

I have seen this in Kampala,but not as a stand alone revenue thing,but as a value add in an upmarket hair salon i.e. while women get their hair done,the kids can play games. Or while Mzee has his gnarly toenails pedicured,the kids play games for a small feel. What you can do is talk to various venues where they feature the regular run of the mill kids entertainment (bouncing castles,swings,etc) esp on weekends,and tell them you will take your equipment there free but you need to share revenues on use (so while parents suck away at beer,kids can pay 20-50 to play such games)...then all you need do is setup up gaming centres at such places,run them yourself,share revenue with the host (since they will not charge you rent,but you help them offer something entertaining,which in turn attracts customers).

There. FREE advice..... smile

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 1:35:00 PM

And to add one more thing....since the below only applies to weekends,you can have these set up in containers so you can tow your containers away during the week to where they are needed...and during the week,perhaps reconfigure as mobile cyber cafes and station them in estates,etc . Now we have WiMax is most places,you can strike a deal with KDN to give your containers connectivity. During school holidays,maybe start a 'roadshow' kind of thing where you have PS2 zonal championships in estates which culminate in a grand face off (like the one done at carnivore)....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
JkMwatha
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 1:44:00 PM

I am diving into it blindly.... I have sent in a few PS2s + games from UK... premises is available.

now all I need is the cheap tv screens (@seeker* talk to me)...

Not sure if it will work,but its worth a try.

I will also have several PS2 consoles,controllers and games to sell.....

eg 1 console + 2 controllers = 7500/-
giddy
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2009 3:19:00 PM

I highly appreciate your input.@seeker give me those details on <sentiltd@gmail.com>

Thanks
Moshiwan
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2009 9:39:00 PM

@giddy,was abt to start the same thing sm place.wud really appreciate if we cud share infor on it.@seeker,pliz send me the details on how to get the items at juligachengoatgmaildotcom.have done the research and find it to be very lucrative.theres is one at donholm....i hear.
giddy
#8 Posted : Friday, September 18, 2009 9:37:00 AM

@Moshiwan. sawa that would be fine.Hola at <sentiltd@gmail.com> .we share ideas.

@seeker* wapi info on the tools of trade,Please hola at same e-mail above.
giddy
#9 Posted : Friday, September 18, 2009 9:42:00 AM

@JkMwatha,

How can i get the consoles.Give me details at <sentiltd@gmail.com>
JkMwatha
#10 Posted : Saturday, September 19, 2009 9:10:00 AM

@giddy- let me send in a few more and will let you know
brav
#11 Posted : Saturday, September 19, 2009 10:32:00 AM

@Seeker,Hebu kindly avail the same info at bravguy atgmail dot com.

Usichoke kutafuta salary
seeker*
#12 Posted : Saturday, September 19, 2009 11:35:00 AM

sorry @ all,i was away and didnt get to this thread til today.

you will need to chip your ps2 so they can play locally available games which cost 100shs per game max
the screens are 21inch@ 8000 for new ones made in kenya
the playstation machines go for 8000 fully chipped because people charge to chip playstation machines
you will then make a bench or buy the kenpoly plastic chairs at 600 per chair from any supermarket,or make wooden benches for the children and build a kind of counter to support your computer screens.

here is a faint outline of someone with 50,000shs as initial capital:
3 x 7500( machines )= 22500
3 x 8000 (screens) = 24000
5 x 600 (chairs) = 3000
5 x 100 (games) = 500
nb: once you buy a game make close to 10 copies of the same game to avoid buying the game again once the disk gets damaged.

if you are still intrested after this information let me know.
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.
JWK
#13 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2009 10:05:00 AM

And while at it,would you please make a point of investing some social responsibility in it because there are loads of such Cafes in the West that have turned the youth into nothing but Zombies. Some of them expose under-age kids to violent games and this has evidently corrupted them immensely.
Remember what goes round comes round. Money making at the expense of our future generation is not morally right.
seeker*
#14 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2009 11:51:00 AM

add on:
if the tv screens are too expensive,visit second hand electronic dealers or shylocks who can offer good deals at 5000 21inch especially in kayole or ngara. but you must know cheap is expensive.

in a day you make and average of 500 to 600shs X 30= 15000/18000 per month.
games are charged at 1shs per minute,minimum cost is 10shs.
after a while you might consider adding Xbox or playstation 3 which charges 2shs per minute and minimum of 20shs per minute.

like i said the beauty of this business is that you only pay rent and electricity bills no other costs are incured.
ps-love djinn's idea.
giddy
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2009 11:06:00 AM

@seeker

Very good info and am interested.Am reachable at <sentiltd@gmail.com>.Would you know how to manage revenue collection.Since most of the time the owner will not be at the premises,is there a solution like that of cyber cafes for monitoring and logging time to avoid your employee from conning you of the revenue collected?
JkMwatha
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2009 11:52:00 AM

chipped?

how much does it cost 'to chip them' (incase they aren't)?

I am also led to believe there are some disadvantages with chipped consoles e.g chipped PS2 will not play PS1 games... True or not?
ispoa
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2009 8:00:00 PM

@ Giddy,

Most cybercafe softwares have a gaming module that work with PS2,since PS2 have an RJ-45 slot (like the one on computers/laptops for networking). You will need to have a network setup though and can make the game pre-paid so that the customer pays before playing. You can then remote log in and access the collections file as the administrator from another location.
JkMwatha
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 6:13:00 AM

No answer then?
Moshiwan
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 3:00:00 PM

@ispoa,would you be having the software so as to enable prepaid collection of revenue.kindly,share the infor on how to do it still.thanks
Bizman
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 8:53:00 PM

Where can we get the second hand play station machines?

Risk and invest wisely for maximum returns