wazua Mon, Jun 24, 2024

ZUKU starts a price war?
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 6:42:27 AM

Youve seen all the ads all over town, 256 Kbps line for 1499/= a month, with installation at 3000/=.

Thats half the monthly price from Access and Tangerine, and a quarter the cost of installation.

I hope they make it, I hope someone punishes the greedy ISPs for restricting our access to bandwidth!
anasazi
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 7:15:35 AM

I'm interested in hearing from a wide spetrum of people on how the service actualy is... Last year tried to get it installed, but they came for one site survey and never came back!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Radiance
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 7:24:47 AM

Zuku works and the beauty is unlike dstv they own all the equipment
anasazi
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 7:29:52 AM

Where do you access ZUKU from? I was thinking the experience may depend on where you're accessing it from. Perhaps town is best? How's their residential service?
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 8:01:01 AM

I use Zuku for cable tv and its ok so far. Am tempted to try the internet service at this price.
Mwafrikah
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 8:08:41 AM

i have been with zuku for the past 3 months and the service provision has bettered of late as the speeds are fair and reliable with little redundancy.

wonder whether safcon will react appropriately to its expensive data
#7 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 8:11:23 AM

mwafrikah

do they provide via wireless or cable? is it fast enough to youtube?
Radiance
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 9:36:51 AM

@kularaha They installed a radio receiver at my place. They have bts allover. I guess if they were to use the tv cable speeds would be ok
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 9:44:40 AM

Let me call and enquire.

If they're good, we should start selling access kenya shares.
redondo
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 10:47:01 AM

my experience with zuku has not been very positive. They took too long to conduct a site survey and in the end i had to ask for a refund because the service was not available from my site.
i must say its just a matter of time before all these ISPs drop their prices rock bottom and concentrate on quality of service to differentiate themselves. Data Services is becoming a commodity
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 12:18:41 PM

They installed some internet connection at my residential place and the thing is fast minute, slow the next minuted and out another minute....needs improvement!!!
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 12:28:38 PM

Does Zuku provide an SLA like Access Kenya?
Mwafrikah
#13 Posted : Friday, December 04, 2009 6:24:19 AM

Kularaha

its wimax platform however one's usage and package subscribed will determine the speeds. I dont have regrets being on board Zuku since am a heavy user notwithstanding dodging the viking's lass golf clubs?

vs

SLA n/a
#14 Posted : Friday, December 04, 2009 6:32:59 AM

Yeah, I used to use Flashcom which was part of this group...started so well and deteriorated to worse than Zain!
#15 Posted : Friday, December 04, 2009 7:02:19 AM

@mwafrika - kwani... how do u know they give u the speeds they claim?

I am thinking of the 1mbps package... lakini dont want to pay 4500 & get 256kbps...
Waria
#16 Posted : Friday, December 04, 2009 2:28:53 PM

tuvok
#17 Posted : Friday, December 04, 2009 8:43:04 PM

Some friends tell me that it's pretty good - especially the speeds...
mnandii
#18 Posted : Saturday, December 05, 2009 8:21:21 AM

Yeah. Safcom shud follow suite.

NB: Hi format ya discussions ina bore!! SK/WAZUA try to use the format for discussions u used to use in SK PLS.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
anasazi
#19 Posted : Saturday, December 05, 2009 8:34:18 AM

Safcom is EXPENSIVE. Hii ZUKU wacha tuone. But will they have the capacity to support thousands of clients? That is the big question.
inf8nity
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 8:51:46 AM

I would still go for Acess & Safaricom on this one.
Being slightly expensive means they only get customer numbers that they can handle thus enough bandwidth for everyone. Zuku on the other hand is cheap thus will grow faster than they can handle.
Unlike zuku access is REAL dedicated bandwidth.

If you used safaricom during the unlimited offer you must have noticed speeds were reduced by almost 50% why? Because the the consumers overwhelmed their bandwidth.

Moral of the story : If you are willing to part with a few thousand shillings you will save yourself a lot of time, stress and get really good speeds.Laughing out loudly