wazua Sun, Dec 1, 2024

Safaricom Dividends
Spend.thrift
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 12:52:00 PM

Well,Safaricom will be first with their M-dividends.

But knowing the number of persons who only subscribed with the minimum 10K..meaning they were initially allocated only 500 shares and due to the dissapointment never bothered to top up in the secondary.

That means that a large number of safcom shareholders (i tont have the numbers) expect tifitents of only 50 pop and through M-pesa,this amount is further reduced to 25 pop or is it 30 pop. with this knowledge,I assume many did not bother to register for their payments and may not follow up.......it's simply not worth it.

My big question is,who remains with these 50 pops atting up to many millions?

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
Layman
#2 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 5:09:00 AM

Safaricom said they would not charge to credit your M-Pesa account with the dividends. However,after you receive it and would wish to withdraw,then you will be charged the usual transaction fees. Values of kshs 124 and below can only be used to buy credit as one cannot withdraw amounts less that 100/= from M-pesa.

There's no hurry in Kenya!
#3 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 5:29:00 AM

I believe you have been here long enöugh,what happens with uncollected dividends? A cheque is sent but some shareholders never bother to cash them. When öne reads this it sounds like this' the first case of 'uncollected dividends'

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
Spend.thrift
#4 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 6:36:00 AM

@ Layman well explained. I honestly didnt have that information. But if the only way they get to spend that money is to buy airtime,let me smile as a shareholder.

@Sober,OK. I take mine to be an unconvincing possibility. But in the case of cheques,the companies actually despatch them. In the Safaricom case,they will send dividends via M-Pesa but only if you register isnt it? I have enough friends and acquitances especially out of NBI who wilingly never bothered to register

Kupukupumu
#5 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 8:24:00 AM

You don't have to be an Mpesa customer to recieve money from Mpesa. Anyone,even a Zain,Orange or yu customer can recieve and withdraw money via Mpesa
Spend.thrift
#6 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 8:29:00 AM

@ Puku puku,By registration,I mean the requirement of walking into designated MPESA outlets and customer care centres with a copy of your ID and a copy of your CDSC statement

#7 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 8:56:00 AM

Btw what happens to uncollected dividends? I hav a couple of cheques summing upto 3k,some dating upto 3years ago and the shares long sold.

Can silence be misquoted?
#8 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 9:32:00 AM

@Spendthirift;

The dividend payment via M-Pesa was optional!!!!!

It was not compulsory

Anyone who did not registered for M-Dividend will be sent a cheque to the address appearing in their CDSC account.

So tell your friends not to worry; they will get their 50-pop cheques...and their banks will collect 30-pop transaction fees for depositing.....and another 30-pop for withdrawing the money after the cheque clears!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Any which way you look at it; the M-dividend method is much better.

Many years ago,I was sent a Sh109 cheque by Bamburi,drawn on their account at Barclays Bank Mombasa. Banking it in Nairobi would have attracted 'up-country cheque' clearance fees of Sh200,leaving me Sh91 poorer!

I framed it and hung it on the wall!!!!!!!

Severa years later,my uncollected dividends had accumulated to almost Sh1,000. I wrote to the company registrar and told them my predicament. I returned the un-banked cheques and was issued with one for the whole amount.

By that time StanChart had started the 'Branch-less' banking system. I posted the cheque to their Mombasa branch with a filled deposit slip. It was cleared as 'local cheque'

===============

Unclaimed dividends are kept in a suspense accountwhere they don't earn interest untill the day the owner comes for them.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#9 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 9:39:00 AM

@Simonkabz;

Your case is very simple. If you have the cheques,there is no doubt that the company owed you the money at some time in the past. What the pay was meant for is irrelevant!

Send the cheques back to the company registrar and you will get replacements...even if you have sold the shares,the fact that you have the cheques is proof that they owed you the money..your cheques only became stale.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Spend.thrift
#10 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 9:50:00 AM

@ Mukiha,

asande sana.

I will atvise them to either hang the cheques on their walls for 20 years and/or puy more shares at the currend low price.

pops
#11 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 10:03:00 AM

@spend.thrift: do i detect a tinge bit of tribal mocking in your posts? i have noticed that you intentionally spell certian words,the way a certain community pronounces them. any particular reason for doing this?
Spend.thrift
#12 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 10:16:00 AM

@ Pops.

I would answer your question well if only I was aple to access the tetecting cell in your mind. But tont worry,pecause if you worry too much,somepoty may also ask you if you have any reason for saying 'certian' insteat of 'certain'.

Enichoy your Fritay papa!!!!!

Kamaa
#13 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 10:29:00 AM

@ spend.thrift

going by the spirit of your post,@ pops would have been @ bobs..

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
mtaalam
#14 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 12:44:00 PM

Satisfying a Kenyan must be the hardest thing. We are always thinking of how we're getting conned or played or conned or.... Yaani we're so cautious mpaka when someone tells us a joke we start digging for hidden meanings and if we don't find one we make one up.

Why can't we just commend safaricom for adding another avenue for receiving our dividend? Why not also commend them for giving dividend? They'd have easily decided not to give and used the new scape goat of hard economic times just like the rest.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
Spend.thrift
#15 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 12:58:00 PM

Ok Mtaalam. Thanks. Mine was a choke and thank you for reating it as a choke.

I will comment Safaricom for saving many trees. Was chust thinking how many rolls of paper we neet to cut fery many cheques khandi the ink neetet to prind. So it isi kud that Safaricom has helped to retuce the unnecessary temand for paper and ink. So other companies should pair up with Safaricom when paying their tivitents. That way our combany can make more pillions and we shalla pe fery happy shareholters.

Kutos Safaricom!! Lakini simufanyeko tu kaconsolitation ya hiso shares..Halafu ile tivitent itabaki munipeeko

#16 Posted : Saturday, October 24, 2009 11:28:00 AM

When is it being paid? I am in need of the cash.

Niône mwisho ya mwezi pliz!
A New Kenya