wazua Thu, Apr 2, 2026

Your very first pay..
zamali
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 9:25:00 AM

Just thought of my first pay check 14 years ago...

That evening,I bought and cooked chicken,beef and fish which I attempted to eat at one sitting!

The next day came a 29' TV and two suits and then was counting days till the next end month

I must have been a fool or overly excited by my first salary.

What did you do ? Squandered or invested ?

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 6:12:00 PM

Bot my paros a cow,used the rest to pay ma bro's fees. Before I cud even buy myself a pair of socks,I was already broke. Thank God I was still living in my aunts hse in Nai,still sleeping on a sofa; I wud have been thrown out by the landlord.

'Tough times never last but tough peope do.'
luttz
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 7:38:00 PM

This was end of July 1997,paid house deposit and one 1 month rent for 1 roomed house somewhere in Huruma. Still had some money left to entertain myself for two weeks. Thank God I had company Transport to push me to the next end month. That was 12 yrs ago,today,my pay has gone up by over 100 times but I cannot get enough money to entertain myself,talk of changing priorities- Maslow was very right with his principles
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 8:47:00 PM

I was paid cash my first salo,so i enjoyed a few beers in town,then took a tuk tuk home,that time they were new to town,we stopped to fuel at shell panafric and almost everyone there was looking at the tuk tuk and saying....'hi kitu ita gongwa ianguke na matatu'...nilifika salama...it was 3sok....to lavi...my folks diggz...from tao...in a brandy new...tuk..tuk

Ninajua Yote!
ngwono
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 4:51:00 AM

My first pay was my first seed.

Without Holiness no man shall see God.Dear God,mould me to be a vessel of honour at this End times,to remain Obedient to your Word in all situations.Amen!
zamali
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:03:00 PM

@ Ngwono please shed some more light on this seed and what it grew into...

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
tusker8
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 1:28:00 PM

I bebad all of my cash in a brown envelop home and i did go home early that day (I hadn't opened an acount). I recall one weekend we went to Ole Polos and i bought almost 20 guys a rao. I bought 5 shirts,2 trousers and the balance went to EABL.!!

A journey of a thousand miles start with a cash advance
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 3:05:00 PM

My first salo..... mmmmh!!!

I was paid half the salo coz i started working mid month!!! when i got my money,i bought a megarider to and from town.... I was staying with my auntie and used to cost share so i paid my share (2k), it was on a friday so that weekend i went and did my hair - in Kayole(of course i couldnt afford anywhere else!)... the prices had changed more than i estimated... so i was charged 200bob more... and this 200bob was supposed to be my savings for the month.... i had to borrow 20bob from a friend to get me home... and my whole salo was over! Kwisa kabisa! I was so miserable!!! Had to surve till 15th to get an advance.... by the way,are there companies that still give advance?

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
tamtam
#9 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 9:31:00 AM

Bought a greatwall tv for my bed room the rest went to shoes and handbags -my childhood addiction. Surprisingly when i was earning a salo of 12k i used to have extra money for savings and entertainment. Now if i dont commit money to sacco,i wont manage to save a cent. And entertainment ......no money.

Nice
The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
kabwato
#10 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 3:18:00 PM

first seed