wazua Sun, Dec 1, 2024

6 Pages123>»
KQ 2008-9 Results
#1 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 5:34:00 AM

Any news? I do not see anything on NSE website

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#2 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 5:49:00 AM

It's a loss unless some loses like hedging are manipulated in the books to reflect a marginal profit......results not positive at all!!!!!....I hear the Commercial director was sacked jana!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#3 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:16:00 AM

@McR,isn't that material information that must be reported to the NSE?
Tot
#4 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:23:00 AM

the MD is to release the results this morning.....profitability is about 1 Billion
#5 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:25:00 AM

GG,

The results should be out some time today wacha tungoje.....despite the overall hit on the aviation industry,things are not working well for our national carrier........how can you employ a commecrial director and barely after a year you sack him........that is one department that requires continuity as far as the business growth of KQ is concerned!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Goals
#6 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:25:00 AM

nse has already sent the info this morning.

'men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken' (Mat 12:36).
'set a guard over my mouth and keep watch over the door of my lips' (Ps 141:3).

#7 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:33:00 AM

The operating profit was barely below last year but the huge hit was from the unrealized fuel hedging loss that used to be calculated/accounted for in the balance sheet under hedge reserves.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#8 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:41:00 AM

VVS,

Remember the 1st half results had a PAT of about Kshs. 0.74B,the management promised better results for the 2nd half and no new hedges were entered into during the 2nd half........what exactly happenned coz the expected results would be PAT of more that Kshs. 1.5B!!!!

Note: 1st half operating profit was Kshs. 1.6B compared to Kshs. 3.4B for the previous year!!!

kizee
#9 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:50:00 AM

so kq are basically saying the hedge cost them +12 yards kes? i really wonder....kwani what was the notional amount on this hedges? and why couldnt kq sell teh futures as crude lost ground....this issue is more funny than sad really....gues its very dangerous to hire a finance director based on CPA's alone
#10 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 6:57:00 AM

Talking of the hedges,are we saying that if the price of crude oil had remained high and the hedges were financially ok then kq were going to make an automatic loss!!!!

#11 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:03:00 AM

When I reported here they have fuel hedges based on $120 per barrel,going out as far as 3 years,someone mentioned I was dreaming.

Obviously,the proof is in the pudding.

Hi-Lo
#12 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:09:00 AM

..the Finance Director needs to be investigated...he could be on the other side of the hedge...

Playing the stock market without insider info...is like buying a cow in the moonlight.
#13 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:13:00 AM

I suspect you will find a multi-national bank on the other side...reporting nice profits!

#14 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:15:00 AM

The hedges may have become a perfect excuse!!!....if you consider 1st half results we had Kshs1.26B as fuel hedge reserve in 2008/2009 compared to Kshs 2.79B reserve for 2007/2008 reflecting a reduction in the cost of hedging!!!!

kizee
#15 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:24:00 AM

multi-national-read standard chartered....but they didnt make 12 billion in income from the hedge...kq just do not have the knowledge of how these prodcuts work
#16 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:27:00 AM

KQ did not apply IAS 39 to the 1H results. Essentially IAS 39 says that you mark-to-market (which KQ did in 1H results) & take the 'calculation' through your Income Statement (KQ did NOT do that in 1H or prior years).

*** A new CFO thus a new way of doing things. KQ used to account for the loss/gain in their balance sheet through Fuel Hedge Reserve as part of the Shareholders Equity.

#17 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:31:00 AM

Hey watever the calculation we still had a fuel hedge reserve for both finacial years man!!!!

#18 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:38:00 AM

Yes,KQ losses piled up coz of hedges (ironical coz fuel prices have dropped). The hedges are at much higher prices (current oil at $65 but hedges taken when oil was at $140+).
**** KQ like most other NSE firms provides bare minimum information thus I am unaware of the notional amount of the hedges (mainly forward contracts).
**** Finance Director (generally) has to follow IFRS rules/guidelines. The exception to IAS 39's treatment was highlighted in the notes.
**** I think IAS 39 is a good rule but how it is reported) is where I question it... It makes the Income Statement jump all over for items whose values did not actually affect the firm's results in any significant way.
**** The fuel hedging loss is a LOSS. Let's be clear about that. But the loss will reverse (& overstate profits) in 1H 2009-10 if fuel prices have risen (all other things being Pari Passu) since 31 Mar 2009. Which they have.

kizee
#19 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:47:00 AM

revaluations as per IAS 39 should be done daily,please note that KQ had an oppurtunity to exit the hedge but did not...thats my point...and i must say that it is strange how revalutaion is an accounting terms yet accountants have no idea how it works
Mainat
#20 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 7:48:00 AM

Still haven’t seen the pdf but the hedge sounds like a self-strangulation policy (obviously thanks to the smiling bank) rather like East Africa Portland’s yen loan.

How much of its fuel was on this 3yr hedge?
Isn’t the whole point of a hedge that you monitor it on monthly basis (whether you are accounting for it in the P&L or not)?
Given the volatility of oil prices,isn’t better off just have 6 month rolling hedges covering differing proportions of fuel costs?

Shida ni ile ile. Naikuni has been in the job for too long and probably isn’t as driven as he once was…

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba