wazua Sat, May 4, 2024

Prado Vs Landcruiser
Cardinal
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 2:11:00 AM

Which of this two vehicles is superior interms of capabilities?
tuvok
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 5:37:00 AM

You do know that the Prado is a land cruiser variant...

I assume you are looking for the difference between the

Landcruiser (VX,Cygnus etc) and the Landcruiser Prado.

Check out:

http://www.cars-director...ser_prado/2002_10/8762/

and

http://www.cars-director...nd_cruiser/2002_8/8612/

-

I've never driven any of them but the Land Cruiser is more powerful (and expensive) and more luxurious.

#3 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 5:44:00 AM

@Cardianal,

Compared to VX or Cygnus,Prado is a toy...!!

God gives,mugikuyu takes.
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:18:00 AM

I have owned both,the Landcruiser VX is the mother!

Sigiriri
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:47:00 AM

VX iko juu,juu zaidi,but the new Prado isn't bad for a start.

The problem with going for the top of range quickly is you hit a roof and it can be a real anti-climax!!!

Whichever you get,3.0L Diesel Prado or 4.2L VX,both are Landcruiser and are fantastic performers. The 3.0L diesel Prado does well for mileage ya mtu wa kiasi,the VX is okay -the diesel,but for mtu wa kidogo past kiasi.

Both have petrol versions - otherwise referred to as guzzlers!

Bidii yangu
Lyanne
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:51:00 AM

Just as Kularaha has said,the VX is the mother of all four wheels. Bought mine last December and its simply a car worth every penny.

Comes at a princely sum but it will never disappoint,the power is simply awsome ! Sits 7 adults comfortably and fuel economy is around 1 ltr / 10 Kms. The seats are heated and vibrate occasionaly.

The bonnet houses a power plant boasting 4200 Cc turbocharged engine thats in built.

I can go on and on about this car,i just love it forget the Range Rover Sport ! it has nothing on a VX ! Go for it !

The Hedonist
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:08:00 AM

NO WONDER BRAV IS YET TO SELL HIS 'PRIMIO' TO ANY SKERIAN...yaaani mutuarithagia VX.. nimehama....................mashada lazima kuwe na economy-mate

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:17:00 AM

@ mlefu,

hauko peke yako ndugu.....

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
brav
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:25:00 AM

Its now official nimehama sk,Njunge tumeet mashada sasa,mpaka kendo next year but 1,im thinking mashada,facebook,na tagged.com labda nitaweza uza kadudu kangu huko.

bijuti haiwesmek pia hapa. hahahaha

Usichoke kutafuta salary
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:29:00 AM

I'm not expert,but this is the difference between a car that performs well in smooth roads (tarmac) versus those that are built for rough terrain.

Land-cruisers are built to handle the hardy.

So know your needs,there are luxurious versions of each as well.
brav
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:31:00 AM

HAHAHAHAHAHA kuna mtu anaitwa economy anatafuta mini morris,now na imagine if lyanne and the economy all make to sagana,ka-mini kakishindwa kumek katawekwa ndani ya VX?

ama economy uanze safari ya sagana this weekend hahahaha,

anyho on a serious note @economy Is there a mini automatic? ama you meant the new cooper?

Usichoke kutafuta salary
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:34:00 AM

hehhe.. the revolution will not be televished.. mundu mugo calls it new world order...

sk..sob..sob..I am gonna miss you..but 1st.... Range sports(my extreme fantacy dream car) and VX..lyanne huwescompare..organize a race..say to thika..dress code..ile yako ya ofisi..nitaongea na kirubi .. ..

Lyanne
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:42:00 AM

@ Mlefu hahahaha,i can bet a leg,you CANT pick me in a crowd of 3 chics,you CANT !!

On a serious note though,the VX is a car i never knew about until the day i was shopping for a big car,i was thinking of a Bighorn or a Prado until the guys at Carmax asked me to test drive the VX.

I fell in love with it and i saved and invested religiously for a year until i bought mine. You can have all you want in life,its all in the mind !

Ive raced with a friend to Naivasha and he was in a Range,though both cars are same in terms of Cc,the VX does more Kms per Litre compared to the Sport,its an overated car.

The Hedonist
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:53:00 AM

@Brav,

Bijuti ni ya kubeba ngomb'e thara na mafi ya kuku........!!.Kwanza even doing the village rounds is a nightmare.Hi scrap inachemka mpaka steering wheel.You have to handle the steering wheel with a wet towel........It's time my cows started driving themselves around.......On serious trips i have something better but nothing near a VX....especially with vibrating seats....Sasa Lyanne hii nini...??

#15 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 7:58:00 AM

let the race start...Brav,fika with the premio..beba wasichana tuonyeshe Lyanne bado tuko.
Lyanne,lyanne..just the name !!!
kaigangio,as soon as you supply nyama to all butcheries in nairobi..have the toyota kenya pickup cleaned,show up and dont forget some 'mutura'.
mugikuyu,if the bijuti starts you are invited.
Kula raha,if you upgraded to VXV8 karibu..if not..hiyo yako tumezoea .
Njue the cardinal..am sure you can get a prado.
i have just talked to kirubi and his ride is mine on that day...
Nairobi to thika and back..we will post the results here

#16 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:10:00 AM

Haya..!!...Twende kazi...!!.....Nani atakuwa co-driver.??...........A ride in the bijuti requires some hardened co-driver.Someone who likes hair raising stories and can keep up with the pace of handing me wet towels.......of course i will require a head start of one hour on the PRIMIO and two hours for the VXs.........That way am assured i will romp home last...!!

#17 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:14:00 AM

@ mlefu,

mutura mtakula gani,ya ng'ombe ama ya mbuzi....ya matumbo na damu ama ya matumbo na nyama ama ya nyama na matumbo....itatengenezwa speceli for this race...

deal me in na unipatie number....

@ guka mugikuyu,

dont forget the piece of charcoal,screw drivers etc. bijuti hupoteza pointi kila wakati,caburettor bovu,scratching the distributor with charcoal for it to start.....

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:20:00 AM

Hehee,for this..we can already predict the winner even before the race starts!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:21:00 AM

They say if you want to go into the Sahara you can take a VX landcruiser or a Range Rover,but if you want to go and come back,then only the VX Landcruiser will do.

@Mlefu,if you are looking for sheer speed in a 4X4 and want to win that race,then look for a Porsche Cayenne,that ugly thing is the quickest of the big cars. Followed by BMW X5,and the big variants of the Mercedes M class.

Anyone seen the Audi Q7,nothing comes close in terms of looks and space.

@Lyanne,damn!! you have it going there.

I think I am also going to quit SK,I only got my shoes.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
brav
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 8:33:00 AM

@obi anza safari right .... now unajua kutoka nairobi mpaka sagana nika distance hehehe.

Bijuti inaanza safari 1 hoour earlier,then primio,then 1 hour after prim ni the VXs

Usichoke kutafuta salary