wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

WHO SHOULD HEAD HBC RAILA OR KALONZO
KIMANDERU
#1 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 4:33:00 AM

Let's vote plus give reasons for your vote.

TOMORROW WILL BE BETTER
tmatekwa
#2 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:11:00 AM

I vote for RAO. The mt kenya mafia will marshall all their supporters to keep him in check. This way quorum will never be lacking and mpigs will earn truthfully for the first time.

Osama bin Laden
#3 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:40:00 AM

Here is the catch.............and it's the law,not me.If MPigs vote against forming the committee,they go away for 6 months.The constitution says that if parliament does not convene for 3 consecutive months,it stands dissolved and that would me fresh elections........before i go far,do you believe that will happen?

Guka wa bijuti...
Brewer
#4 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:41:00 AM

tmatekwa,ati Mt. Kenya mafia,does that mean anything any more? I believe it is a phrase coined to isolate and hate. I frankly can't wait for the ethnic and race relations commission or whatever the name is.

It is not our business here who should head HBC,because if I had my choice i wouldn't have to choose between the two. It is what the standing orders say- that the government will decide who the leader of government business will be. This is not a decision to be made in parliament. It is made outside by the Executive. The question therefore is who between the President and the Prime Minster should decide who is the leader of government business. In other words who ultimately decides for the executive. The President of course and raila should be lobbying him,not parliament. My view is that raila is being mischievous,everything is game to him so long as he makes a shot at his biggest challenger for 2012 or sooner,but that is just my thought.
Burning Spear
#5 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 5:41:00 AM

with alot of respect for Raila,I think he is reducing himself to a clerk and greedness.

Ask yourself,

He wants everones job.....read Muthaura,Mutua,Kalonzo now HBC and ex. chairman.

He is a principal in the Grand eating government and he should let Kalonzo do the Job.

Why is president delegating...coz he doesnt want to be fighting over bills in parliament with akina Khalwale

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
eli
#6 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:12:00 AM

Before the accord,I would vote Kalonzo. After the Accord I would vote Raila. Anyway,what exactly is in that accord? I would love to know,coz its contents(read powers),or what its suppose to mean or accomplish is not known in the public domain. We only hear bits of it.

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Tusker Baridi
#7 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:45:00 AM

Methinks Raila is playing PNU and they dont even see it. Think about it,Kenyans from both sides of the divide hate this coalition government and cant wait for the next elections. Now what Raila is doing by demanding all these powerful positions from PNU is first,to highlight the fact that PNU controls the real power in this coalition. And secondly,he knows PNU will loudly fight to keep these positions,but that fits perfectly into Raila's plan,which is to dissociate himself from the failures of this government by reminding people who really controls the government.

Come the next election and it will be easier for Raila to dissociate himself from the failures of the government while the likes of Kalonzo and Uhuru will be successfully depicted as pro status quo who presided over the failures of the coalition. Raila and Karua will sell the pro reform agenda while Uhuru and Kalonzo will be tied to Kiguoya's status quo politics.

So Raila is demanding these positions so that he does not seem as timid,but he is hoping that PNU does not give them up so that he can blame all the ills of the coalition on lack of authority. Now that's realpolitik.
PONDI
#8 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:50:00 AM

its a no brainer. hii ni uchokozi by RAO. It is kalonzo as per the constitution

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
#9 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 6:50:00 AM

The head of the HBC should be appointed by the government which in our case has two partners,logic demands that they should consult first before the appointment is made!!!!

Pondi,which constitution are you talking about,you forget the days when Moi used to swap them for every parliamentary session!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
adept
#10 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:01:00 AM

Who gives a....? Can someone just find a way of nominating Kalembe Ndile or William Omondi and make either the Chair? They seem a lot more intelligent.
mali ya nguvu
#11 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:02:00 AM

It is the prerogative of the head of state and head of government (read kibaki) to appoint the leader of Govt business.ODM position is not so legally backed but it is whatever they call the 'spirit' of National accord whereas the constitution is very clear any other law that contradicts it the constitution prevails.

Traditionally the president's PRINCIPAL ASSISTANT has always represented his interests in the House and the rotation only came to fore during the fourteen months Mzee decided to run the country alone without a VP.

In a nutshell the position can be negotiated with the BOSS not in the parliament but at State House or Harambee house....

RAO should prevail upon Kibaki to appoint him but cant see that happening ODM will give in since they know it is just a sideshow designed in Naivasha by one Anyang Nyongo.

Peace to all men of Goodwill
#12 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:07:00 AM

@Mcreggae,

The accord talks about two equal patners while the constitution talks about the Executive who is the President.....the sooner reality sinks on RAO that there is nothing equal about him and MK the better.........You really sympathiser with Kenya......The other reality is this.None of this parliamentarians including RAO himself,would want to vote against HBC.......Not when there is no EC in place.....!!In which case it is safe to assume that his is action in futility and by extension,time wasting crap........BTW,has it ever occurred to you that RAO is not half CIC and MK the remaining other half?......There is no equality here..........That accord was utter nonsense.

Guka wa bijuti...
PONDI
#13 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:08:00 AM

mcregae.... kibaki may choose to consult,and i believe he should,but the fact remains,he is president and has the powers to appoint head of HBC without consulting anyone. kwani how come odm never payukas when kibaki makes other appointments .. like the ones benefiting Raila's relatives??

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
Mwafrikah
#14 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:11:00 AM

Give it to RAO after all his ego which is a strong alphamale is ful of greed and glutton that will lead to his downfall damaged by sabotage and double speak....am not surprised if next in line he will bay for C-I-C...let the drama unfold as a snap election is called unless the senile old man on the hills is rattled

The fool folds his arms and consumes his own flesh. Better is one handful with tranquility than two with toil and a chase after wind!
Tusker Baridi
#15 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:18:00 AM

Dont you just love SKerians hypocricy? When Raila is being shafted by Kiguoya,PNU supporters here brag how much power Kiguoya has and how useless the accord is and how Kiguoya has constitutuional right to do this and that.

But just wait until the government screws up,then they're so ready to equally pass the blame to the two principles,suddenly the coalition is equal and its the two principles who are failing Kenyans. Please be consistent,you can fool mama mbogas with your BS,but not people here,we can see through your hypocricy.
mali ya nguvu
#16 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:20:00 AM

ODM got a raw deal in this Accord......

Peace to all men of Goodwill
#17 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:33:00 AM

@TB

'WE'...??.That is very strong but it also says you are a mouth piece....

Guka wa bijuti...
#18 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:40:00 AM

CIC = baks,no 50-50
Head Of State = baks,no 50-50
Head Of Government = baks + Rao,only place with 50-50,but baks appoints,RAO suppervises (whatever that is)

so pray,where is the equality???

someone said in parliament yesterday that baks actually APPOINTED Rao as PM,i was shocked

Hii ni zero sum game for Odm.........karata wamechezewa vilivyo!! i propose they should consult martha from now onwards!!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
Tusker Baridi
#19 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:50:00 AM

@njung'e

Yes,I am a mouthpiece for reform,always been,unlike some people who cry reform up until their tribesmate steals the elections. Suddenly its all bravado how they stole the election and are shafting the real winner of the elections. Lakini malipo ni hapa hapa.

The General
#20 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2009 7:53:00 AM

I fail to see what the fuss is all about.

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.