wazua Thu, May 2, 2024

the uneconomical uhuru budget
jupiter
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 8:11:00 AM

A very expensive budget at very difficult economic times. This is a PR budget.

All that glitters is not gold
jupiter
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 8:20:00 AM

The bloat in govt is overburdening the ever hardworking kenyans.

All that glitters is not gold
starr
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 8:44:00 AM

budget 101 - the size of the budget is determined by treasury technocrats not the politician/minister
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 10:39:00 AM

First things first,spending more is not a problem,we need GoK pumping money into the local economy through development expenditure. What we are spending it on largely - recurrent expenditure - is sh**y.
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 11:24:00 AM

Someone clever educate me....

From the figures,it seems we will be spending almost 1 billion (say around 800m) on defence a week! Surely,we are not at war,we had allocated the same for last year,what do these guys do with this money? we dont buy vifarus every year,do we? and if we do,where do the others go to? we havent been at war ever,what do we do with all the money we allocate to defence? And the damn choppers are falling all over our houses bila mpango!!!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Fundaah
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 11:52:00 AM

Wendz you didnt know?

That is where Anglo leasing ghost security contracts come in ...... Some clique of people are eating way tooooooooo much

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
mundu wa thi
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:25:00 PM

...Kenya as country is simply weird

there's is always something to hope for...
Djinn
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:35:00 PM

Limit civil service cars to 1800 cc. Sell off all guzzlers and use the money to resettle IDPs. More money for CDF,more equitable (?).

I think Uhuru should be lauded for some of those proposals.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Liv
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:37:00 PM

Sh 800 M per week might not a lot of money. I am not sure how many people are working in defence. If say the number is 25000 the sh 3.2B per month turns to be about sh 128k per person per month on average. This is not a lot considering it wil include salaries,food,medical expenses,etc. No capital expenditure included here. Does this make sense?
Djinn
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:38:00 PM

2.5 million per constituency to build jua kali shed

500 million youth devt fund and 500 million women devt fund.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Fundaah
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:38:00 PM

Djinn,easier said than done....

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Djinn
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:40:00 PM

2.2 billion to resettle IDPs.

@Fundaah....maybe not so. Have faith.

#13 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:40:00 PM

-Average Kshs 86 Million per constituency as CDF.Mpigs are smiling from ear to ear.

Yombo dhier....!!
kamangu
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:43:00 PM

He have good proposals.But that's what they remain-proposals.We have in the past have had lofty budget that promise Wanjiku heaven and you know what happens next.We hope this time son of Jomo will ensure what he says happens.

Live is not about the chances you have but rather the choices you make.
Fundaah
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:45:00 PM

My Constitutuency CDF has been among the worst managed... was among the leading on missing millions.....I was suprised to hear my councillor say on radio that our MP cannot pick his mobile phone call ..and they dont see each other face to face..... how do you expect the people on the ground to get hold of the MP if their councillor can't?

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Fundaah
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:50:00 PM

Liv wacha wewe,...128k per person is not much?......

Rules of the game here:

mtaalam
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 12:51:00 PM

I don't understand...
...how comes when taxes on beer,cigs,fuel,our income,VAT etc are raised the increase is immediate without MPs discussing while a small thing like the MPs income had to be discussed and approved or rejected?

Shouldn't we wait for them to discuss and approve before eabl n' pubs increase price on beer???

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
Djinn
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 1:08:00 PM

I started a topic 'People's Budget' only to find it annexed to this one. Evidently someone has not got their head screwed on right and cannot really lay claim o moderating,neither editing but rather something else. My ambit was to highlight those aspects that help people,deprive the 'haves' (and make them hurt). Now someone has stuck it under 'the uneconomical uhuru budget' - my faith is rapidly waning on the ability of moderators here to allow open and frank discussions. Nay,its completely ebbed away.

Djinn
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 1:09:00 PM

...and its immaterial whether they are practicable proposals...its just the thought right now...reading the mood of a people who are on the verge of a revolution.

Fundaah
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2009 1:12:00 PM

I agree djinn,your topic was more positive,

Rules of the game here: