wazua Thu, May 23, 2024

KDN vs Access
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 4:07:00 PM

KDN claims to give more (4x) bandwidth for the same price lakini I can't get service!!!

KDN told me the cost of laying cable is very high due to infrastructure laying costs levied by NCC. They can't provide a 'single' connection at a lower price since it does not make sense to lay fibre for a single customer. The other residents in my building have no interest in a faster connection or sharing the cost of laying fibre.

Of course,the idiots at Nairobi City Council want to milk them for fees to install lines/fibre.

We need to send a message to the idiots at NCC by voting them out! Then get an IT friendly group in place so we can expand the laying of fibre all over the city. Including kibera.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#2 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 12:34:51 PM

Laying a fibre cable to your house is called dark fibre. Costs a bomb and as far as I know it is the big banks that use them to connect their data centres to disaster recovery centres.
Access use KDN for connectivity - everybody does. So why use Access when you can deal with the mother?
By the way, Im still pissed off that Wazua have ranked me as a member and you as an elder...
By Choice
#3 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2009 3:19:28 PM

and then some holigan aproots the fibre optic cable siting 'haki yetu'. am told thats the fashionable way of getting heard.
cooks
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 12:19:40 PM

The pricing will be approximately the same soon.
I guess it will boil down to customer service in the end.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 12:56:50 PM

KDN offering free internet on Butterfly lakini I have to go mabli to get it... Sux!
faa
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 5:51:56 AM

the KDN of kenya is tough.KDN has laid over 6000 kms of fibre optic in the county .It has the largest fibre optic infrastructure in the whole of south of Sahara Desert.

Safaricom,ACcess kenya and 89% of ISP's in Kenya rely on their infrastructure.

Soon, they will take MPESA head on
bird_man
#7 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 5:00:09 PM

It is very wrong to compare KDN and Access Kenya.KDN is the data carrier of all ISPs at the moment.....not an ISP.

In another 2yrs,they will be one of the top 3 largest companies in East and Central Africa.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 03, 2009 8:26:53 PM

KDN's Butterfly is an ISP...
Drew
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 06, 2009 6:44:27 PM

it would help if KDN sold bandwith directly to we the consumers. why cant they just do that?
bird_man
#10 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 5:03:23 AM

"Sold to we the consumers".....If you were KDN, would you rather deal with:

(a)A corporate e.g a bank with 10 branches (1Mbps connection) for 300k/month.

(b)100 individual customers who consume bandwidth worth 3k/month?And call your customer care all the time complaining that they cant connect, my modem has issues.....etc?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Djagame
#11 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 7:47:51 AM

@ Drew

They actually do sell directly to the client on their DSL service i.e. ASDL (home) & FiberDSL(CBD/SME)

This they do through their installers thus reducing the headache of customers calling them directly as first level support will be through installers then escalated.
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#12 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 7:52:42 AM

Who are KDNs installers? I would love to talk to one!!
Djagame
#13 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 8:22:23 AM

@ KulaRaha

KDN has zoned out the whole of Nairobi and allocated the zones different installers.

Do you require general info or for a specific area.

Give more details for better info
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#14 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 8:58:24 AM

who is KDNs installer for Westlands area?
Djagame
#15 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 9:23:50 AM

That would be Icon Telesec

They are one of KDN's main installers