wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

FIRE - Financial Independence, Retire Early
Nifiche
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2021 12:26:44 PM

The FIRE movement has gained in popularity during the COVID pandemic. A dedicated thread is however still missing here on Wazua. Until now, that is.

A quick introduction for the unacquainted:

The ideas originated in the US and were popularised by among others,

-Vicki Robin and Joe Dominguez, https://yourmoneyoryourlife.com/
-Jacob Lund Fisker, http://earlyretirementextreme.com/
-JL Collins, https://jlcollinsnh.com/about/
-Mr. Money Mustache, https://www.mrmoneymustache.com/

The core is lifestyle design by minimising spending and maximising savings or cash flow so as to achieve FI (financial independence) and RE (retire early). Also often expressed as being work optional or owning your time.

In practice this is most commonly done by accumulating a portfolio of least 25 times one's estimated annual living expenses, investing in low-cost index funds and withdrawing 4% from it annually for the rest of one's life.

This last approach is best captured by the Bogleheads investment philosophy [after John C. Bogle, founder of The Vanguard Group].

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Main_Page

Clearly, the information above is primarily suitable for people living in the industrialised world.

This thread invites contributions from everyone, but particularly those living outside the industrialised world and are already pursuing FI or are interested in the ideas.
If you think you can you're right; if you think you can't you're right.
amorphous
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2021 12:55:50 PM

Nifiche wrote:
The FIRE movement has gained in popularity during the COVID pandemic. A dedicated thread is however still missing here on Wazua. Until now, that is.

The core is lifestyle design by minimising spending and maximising savings or cash flow so as to achieve FI (financial independence) and RE (retire early). Also often expressed as being work optional or owning your time.

In practice this is most commonly done by accumulating a portfolio of least 25 times one's estimated annual living expenses, investing in low-cost index funds and withdrawing 4% from it annually for the rest of one's life.

This last approach is best captured by the Bogleheads investment philosophy [after John C. Bogle, founder of The Vanguard Group].

Clearly, the information above is primarily suitable for people living in the industrialised world.

This thread invites contributions from everyone, but particularly those living outside the industrialised world and are already pursuing FI or are interested in the ideas.

This is what I was trying to explain to the ferras in the Tbills and Bonds thread lakini wakaleta ujuaji.
You cannot achieve F.I.R.E at 10% Annualised. But imagine compounding 50% PER MONTH for 5 years. After those 5 years you can even have a ten year holiday in Bora Bora or the beautiful San Blas! But the best they could respond with is "we are lazy (ati peace of mind)" and "NKT" as that is the limit of their thinkingLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so who can help them? Think
New Normal!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2021 1:35:27 PM

amorphous wrote:
Nifiche wrote:

This is what I was trying to explain to the ferras in the Tbills and Bonds thread lakini wakaleta ujuaji.
You cannot achieve F.I.R.E at 10% Annualised. But imagine compounding 50% PER MONTH for 5 years. After those 5 years you can even have a ten year holiday in Bora Bora or the beautiful San Blas! But the best they could respond with is "we are lazy (ati peace of mind)" and "NKT" as that is the limit of their thinkingLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so who can help them? Think

Pesa ni zako ama ni zetu?smile

Nifiche
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2021 2:03:53 PM

Nifiche wrote:

As a keen admirer of Jacob Fisker's philosophical approach, this is probably my favourite blog post in the FI-space:

www.getrichslowly.org/early-retirement-extreme/

And this documentary is an example of what I think is easily possible for us Kenyans:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeL8SpwZPtI
amorphous
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 31, 2021 3:05:47 PM

Pesa ni zako ama ni zetu?smile

New Normal!
#6 Posted : Sunday, April 04, 2021 4:33:11 PM

amorphous wrote:
Nifiche wrote:

You cannot achieve F.I.R.E at 10% Annualised. But imagine compounding 50% PER MONTH for 5 years.

This is relative and not absolute. If someone is happy with 10% let it be. If another is happy at 50% let them be too. Happiness and related self actualization is complex.

Ali Baba
#7 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 1:52:05 AM

Gathige wrote:
amorphous wrote:
[quote=Nifiche]The FIRE movement has gained in popularity during the COVID pandemic. A dedicated thread is however still missing here on Wazua. Until now, that is.

You cannot achieve F.I.R.E at 10% Annualised. But imagine compounding 50% PER MONTH for 5 years.

This is relative and not absolute. If someone is happy with 10% let it be. If another is happy at 50% let them be too. Happiness and related self actualization is complex.

You are right about 10% returns, but we also have high risks, high returns in equities. In Wallstreet and and NSE. So, relax, chill.

amorphous
#8 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 12:36:46 PM

Gathige wrote:
[l

Agreed Gathige, everything in life is complex, some are even happy losing money every month so I wasn't specifically talking about kutosheka. My argument is that ceteris paribus and starting from the same base, achieving FIRE on 50% pm is possible and on 10% is next to impossible otherwise everyone on the TBills thread would have been retired by nowLaughing out loudly
New Normal!
Ali Baba
#9 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 1:17:54 PM

amorphous wrote:
Gathige wrote:
[l

Agreed Gathige, everything in life is complex, some are even happy losing money every month so I wasn't specifically talking about kutosheka. My argument is that ceteris paribus and starting from the same base, achieving FIRE on 50% pm is possible and on 10% is next to impossible otherwise everyone on the TBills thread would have been retired by nowLaughing out loudly
what makes you think that we are not retired?
Ali Baba
#10 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 1:19:46 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
amorphous wrote:
Gathige wrote:
[l

what makes you think that we are not retired?
I'm seated at home watching as you commit suicide by working during a pandemic.
amorphous
#11 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 1:39:28 PM

Ali Baba wrote:

But what makes you think we are not also retired too doing the same?

Some of us retired way back in 2003 my braddah. Whatever we are doing now ni hobbies na mentoring tu to ward off boredomDrool
New Normal!
Ali Baba
#12 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 2:15:53 PM

amorphous wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

Some of us retired way back in 2003 my braddah. Whatever we are doing now ni hobbies na mentoring tu to ward off boredomDrool
OK comrade! Retired in 2014.Let's sit at the balcony and watch them commit suicide by working during the pandemic!! We are The Intelligent Investors.
Nifiche
#13 Posted : Monday, April 05, 2021 10:19:21 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
amorphous wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

OK comrade! Retired in 2014.Let's sit at the balcony and watch them commit suicide by working during the pandemic!! We are The Intelligent Investors.

Nice to have some input from folks who are already FIRE. Applause

@Ali Baba
@amorphous

Kindly share your experience. How long did it take you to reach FIRE? Which strategy did you use? What is the composition of your portfolio?
mungaits
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 06, 2021 8:37:25 PM

So, let’s first give FIRE a Kenya perspective.

- For this to work, you need to establish how much you need (per month) to live comfortably when you retire. This is the bare minimum you need to maintain your preferred lifestyle.

- After you get this figure, explore guaranteed options of getting this amount every month with minimal effort.

- Now comes the hard bit, you need to sacrifice in your current situation by living below your means, save the surplus and invest this wisely (not in pyramid schemes or bonoko greenhouse deals) to potentially have enough returns to cover the amount you need to sustain your self when you retire.

- Some key hacks to achieving this earlier include living a frugal life (kujinyima) starting to invest early, avoid scams, cover your basics (build your house to avoid paying rent), diversify your portfolio (equities, MMFs, land, biz, real estate, farming etc).
- As life progresses and you achieve most of your milestones and recurring expenses reduce, you can start to slow down as your investment returns improve. When you hit equilibrium (returns equal your living expenses) you can now now retire!

NB, retiring doesn’t mean sleeping all day, it’s simply means having the freedom to do what you want, not what you have to do!

- The key is to develop this plan (and document it) early in life then put it into motion as you progress in life

- This is applicable to both employed and biz guys

- Depending on how the Almighty favours you in your life’ and your mindset retirement, you can achieve this quite early.

I have achieved FIRE but I don’t seat on the balcony all day as my lucky compatriots above! 🤣😂🤣😂

Good luck!

Retired General
Kenyan Oracle
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 07, 2021 9:38:15 AM

mungaits wrote:

- For this to work, you need to establish how much you need (per month) to live comfortably when you retire. This is the bare minimum you need to maintain your preferred lifestyle.

- After you get this figure, explore guaranteed options of getting this amount every month with minimal effort.

- Now comes the hard bit, you need to sacrifice in your current situation by living below your means, save the surplus and invest this wisely (not in pyramid schemes or bonoko greenhouse deals) to potentially have enough returns to cover the amount you need to sustain your self when you retire.

- Some key hacks to achieving this earlier include living a frugal life (kujinyima) starting to invest early, avoid scams, cover your basics (build your house to avoid paying rent), diversify your portfolio (equities, MMFs, land, biz, real estate, farming etc).
- As life progresses and you achieve most of your milestones and recurring expenses reduce, you can start to slow down as your investment returns improve. When you hit equilibrium (returns equal your living expenses) you can now now retire!

NB, retiring doesn’t mean sleeping all day, it’s simply means having the freedom to do what you want, not what you have to do!

- The key is to develop this plan (and document it) early in life then put it into motion as you progress in life

- Depending on how the Almighty favours you in your life’ and your mindset retirement, you can achieve this quite early.

I have achieved FIRE but I don’t seat on the balcony all day as my lucky compatriots above! 🤣😂🤣😂

Good luck!

Retired General

Best advice given in this forum in a long while.
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
amorphous
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 07, 2021 9:58:09 AM

mungaits wrote:

Good luck!

Retired General

Brilliantly put. But who says we sit on the balcony all day Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly That is boredom defined. Remember when I talked about the Kenyan couple riding around the world in a couple of motorbikes and I correctly predicted their journey was doomed before it started even pre-covid due to poor planning and naivete? Wajuaji wazoooans who had never been past Githurai kimbo travelwise landed on me like a ton of bricks!!! Especially the usual wage-slave suspects, some of whom are still employees to this dayLaughing out loudly . Life is an interesting journey though, there is more to life than even F.I.R.E because anyone can achieve it quite easily if they stop ujuaji and learn from people trying to teach them that tbills won't cut it, and teaching them to find out how to make 50%+ returns per month. Of course the wajuajis started their usual kelele because the shcool systems have dumbed them down into thinking a straight A makes them very smart earning 10% on TBills. This is why most of them need to go to church, jameni. When you get there (FIRE) (kufika) you will find that there is no "there." Tafakari haya yote tuuu. The wise ones will get it, wengine itawapita kabsaaa and that is fine too. Kila mtu na mzigo yage. Shalom.
New Normal!
Nifiche
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 07, 2021 11:23:31 AM

amorphous wrote:
mungaits wrote:

Good luck!

Retired General

Brilliantly put. But who says we sit on the balcony all day Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly That is boredom defined. Remember when I talked about the Kenyan couple riding around the world in a couple of motorbikes and I correctly predicted their journey was doomed before it started even pre-covid due to poor planning and naivete? Wajuaji wazoooans who had never been past Githurai kimbo travelwise landed on me like a ton of bricks!!! Especially the usual wage-slave suspects, some of whom are still employees to this dayLaughing out loudly . Life is an interesting journey though, there is more to life than even F.I.R.E because anyone can achieve it quite easily if they stop ujuaji and learn from people trying to teach them that tbills won't cut it, and teaching them to find out how to make 50%+ returns per month. Of course the wajuajis started their usual kelele because the shcool systems have dumbed them down into thinking a straight A makes them very smart earning 10% on TBills. This is why most of them need to go to church, jameni. When you get there (FIRE) (kufika) you will find that there is no "there." Tafakari haya yote tuuu. The wise ones will get it, wengine itawapita kabsaaa and that is fine too. Kila mtu na mzigo yage. Shalom.

From this comment I see there's a lot of wisdom inside you @amorphous.

When starting this thread, I was hoping that people like you would share your journey [sensitive/private details excluded, of course] so that we learn from each other.

Over to you @amorphous: when did you start your journey, what made you attracted to FI in the first place, how did you do it..?

Lugha rahisi, tuelimishane. Ama niaje?
Ali Baba
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 07, 2021 12:26:24 PM

Nifiche wrote:
amorphous wrote:
mungaits wrote:

Good luck!

Retired General

When starting this thread, I was hoping that people like you would share your journey [sensitive/private details excluded, of course] so that we learn from each other.

Over to you @amorphous: when did you start your journey, what made you attracted to FI in the first place, how did you do it..?

it's easy, first get a job which pays good. For me, I was lucky and got a job paying me 7 figures. Then I started being frugal. And the saved cash translated to investments. Overtime, investments start earning good cash and you have the freedom to do what you want to do. There was a time BA flight attendants on Nairobi - Heathrow route used to know me because I was always on their flights, but lately I've slowed down. However, since it was fun, I'm restarting travel soon and will be flying to New York in June, of course after I get my second dose of the vaccine. Life is good and can't complain.
Ali Baba
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 07, 2021 2:17:36 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
Nifiche wrote:
amorphous wrote:
mungaits wrote:

Good luck!

Retired General

it's easy, first get a job which pays good. For me, I was lucky and got a job paying me 7 figures. Then I started being frugal. And the saved cash translated to investments. Overtime, investments start earning good cash and you have the freedom to do what you want to do. There was a time BA flight attendants on Nairobi - Heathrow route used to know me because I was always on their flights, but lately I've slowed down. However, since it was fun, I'm restarting travel soon and will be flying to New York in June, of course after I get my second dose of the vaccine. Life is good and can't complain.
So, what happened to Obiero, the majority shareholder of KQ? Has he achieved financial independence yet?
tony stark
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 08, 2021 1:50:04 PM

Nifiche wrote:

Wisdom has been associated with Amorphous was dust bowl ...... Hii pandemic is showing me things. Dunia imepasuka!!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly