wazua Sun, Apr 28, 2024

Guesthouse starter idea on vacant plot
amorphous
#1 Posted : Saturday, June 27, 2020 10:09:37 AM

* Instead of planting beans every year, proposed 7m by 5m 2br guesthouse to be built on one corner of the vacant 1/8th
* less than 100m from newly tarmacked road in one of DC's major towns (not Jewel in the Crown).
* Fenced with chainlink and live fence is halfway grown
* Has beautiful steel gate
* Stima, fresh non-salty piped borehole water all on site.
* Transport readily available.
* Middle classes in the town growing like steroids
* Various vocational training schools and other educational institutions coming up in the area
* Once rented, I expect two tenants (most likely young students) sharing kitchen and living room but with own bedroom with steel doors for security.
* Anticipated rent 7.5k each for a total of 15k this is very cheap for the area
* Decent middle class finishings (no sijui yellow tiles, Lonzeretti Binducha instant showers and dirst cheap fixtures). Parquet floors, tankless water heater, huge windows with lots of light.
*Orientile roof. Attic tank 2k Litres
* Cost to build,well under 1m if costs managed super well.
* Excellent security in the area, mostly middle class maisonettes and no flats (yet)
* Once ready to build a maisonette on the plot, the guesthouse can serve as an SQ or guest living quarters or airbnb rental
* Cost efficient Biodigester sewer that the future maisonette can easily connect to
* Kills two birds with one stone. I get hassle free income sent directly to my phone via mpesa (as opposed to a caretaker who will steal much of the beans/maize/whatever and keep giving long stories.) plus a presence on site will ward off any potential squatters.
*With say 2 months vacancy each year, will still clear 150k annually for little to no effort. Which is certainly more than beans are paying.
*Idea can be scaled plot by plot by plot over time.

Toeni maono/advice/criticism/what you would change or add tusikie.

Asante in advance!

* House Plan Below
Age and family mellows us all over time
amorphous
#2 Posted : Saturday, June 27, 2020 10:11:50 AM

Only modification will be shape of the roof and size of the windows
Jon Jones
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 28, 2020 4:41:16 AM

Project appears small for a DC tycoon. Avoid investing in student accommodation at all cost unless you do a big project. Thank me later for saving your coins.
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
amorphous
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 28, 2020 6:10:18 AM

Jon Jones wrote:
Project appears small for a DC tycoon. Avoid investing in student accommodation at all cost unless you do a big project. Thank me later for saving your coins.

Of course it is small. Did you expect an SQ to be a big project? smile The problem is the many plots are very idle and this guesthouse costs only 1 metre or less per plot - cheap enough to 100% self-finance without loans per plot which brings risk down to almost zero in these uncertain corona times. The big projects are coming, one is already underway if you check my post history. Why do you advise against targeting students? Please provide concrete reasons based on logic and experience, not just polojo. I find students in the area lack affordable accomodation. As I said, the area is mostly middle class maisonettes.
tony stark
#5 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2020 2:25:18 PM

amorphous wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

Of course it is small. Did you expect an SQ to be a big project? smile The problem is the many plots are very idle and this guesthouse costs only 1 metre or less per plot - cheap enough to 100% self-finance without loans per plot which brings risk down to almost zero in these uncertain corona times. The big projects are coming, one is already underway if you check my post history. Why do you advise against targeting students? Please provide concrete reasons based on logic and experience, not just polojo. I find students in the area lack affordable accomodation. As I said, the area is mostly middle class maisonettes.

How many students have you talked to in the area? What are students looking for? How far should the students go to get to school?

If you don't have the answers ni wewe ndio uko na polojo.

I agree with jones. Students want to be together, it's cool, safety in numbers etc. Your single house in the middle of a bush is not the typical student accommodation. You have to look at what the TSAVO and Qwetus and that seems to work.

Also your 1M budget i find this the most unlikely assumption you have made. You have to rethink your construction cost unless you plan to build that house with your own hands.
amorphous
#6 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2020 3:09:16 PM

Tony STARK Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Good to see you buddy, umetoka jela at long last?Laughing out loudly
You have been so lost.
Glad to see you are now no longer saying real estate is the WORST investment on earth and are now giving real estate mawaidhasLaughing out loudly Na hiyo ni mahendereo.

tony stark wrote:

How many students have you talked to in the area? What are students looking for? How far should the students go to get to school?

Actually I got the idea when I got inquiries from a neighbour who said some students were in the area asking if they could rent SQs. There is a very big technical institution hapo karibu (less than a km) yet affordable student-budget accommodation is as rare as hen's teeth in the area.

I agree with jones. Students want to be together, it's cool, safety in numbers etc. Your single house in the middle of a bush is not the typical student accommodation. You have to look at what the TSAVO and Qwetus and that seems to work.

Which bush? The only bushes I see are those huge ones under your armpits. Zingine umesema hapo ni 100% polojo.

Also your 1M budget i find this the most unlikely assumption you have made. You have to rethink your construction cost unless you plan to build that house with your own hands.

Tony have you ever built anything including a chicken coop or a dog house? At a little under a VERY GENEROUS 29k per sqm surely you seem like one who cannot tell apart the price of a bag of cement from the price of a machine cut (ndarugo) let alone what is inside a ring beam?
Fyatu
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2020 10:31:40 AM

amorphous wrote:
* Instead of planting beans every year, proposed 7m by 5m 2br guesthouse to be built on one corner of the vacant 1/8th
* less than 100m from newly tarmacked road in one of DC's major towns (not Jewel in the Crown).
* Fenced with chainlink and live fence is halfway grown
* Has beautiful steel gate
* Stima, fresh non-salty piped borehole water all on site.
* Transport readily available.
* Middle classes in the town growing like steroids
* Various vocational training schools and other educational institutions coming up in the area
* Once rented, I expect two tenants (most likely young students) sharing kitchen and living room but with own bedroom with steel doors for security.
* Anticipated rent 7.5k each for a total of 15k this is very cheap for the area
* Decent middle class finishings (no sijui yellow tiles, Lonzeretti Binducha instant showers and dirst cheap fixtures). Parquet floors, tankless water heater, huge windows with lots of light.
*Orientile roof. Attic tank 2k Litres
* Cost to build,well under 1m if costs managed super well.
* Excellent security in the area, mostly middle class maisonettes and no flats (yet)
* Once ready to build a maisonette on the plot, the guesthouse can serve as an SQ or guest living quarters or airbnb rental
* Cost efficient Biodigester sewer that the future maisonette can easily connect to
* Kills two birds with one stone. I get hassle free income sent directly to my phone via mpesa (as opposed to a caretaker who will steal much of the beans/maize/whatever and keep giving long stories.) plus a presence on site will ward off any potential squatters.
*With say 2 months vacancy each year, will still clear 150k annually for little to no effort. Which is certainly more than beans are paying.
*Idea can be scaled plot by plot by plot over time.

Toeni maono/advice/criticism/what you would change or add tusikie.

Asante in advance!

* House Plan Below

@amorphous, i am curious to find out how i can build what you have described above in Kahawa/Ruiru area with a milli tops. I gather from your previous posts that you know your finishings very well so i welcome a breakdown of costs. i.e., the 29 ngwanyes per square meter you mention above. Also, i welcome advice on ways i can get hold of quality finishings.

Are you using a new building technology(e.g., prefab) as opposed to the old-fashioned brick(ndarugu) and mortar?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
amorphous
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2020 12:30:06 PM

Fyatu wrote:

@amorphous, i am curious to find out how i can build what you have described above in Kahawa/Ruiru area with a milli tops. I gather from your previous posts that you know your finishings very well so i welcome a breakdown of costs. i.e., the 29 ngwanyes per square meter you mention above. Also, i welcome advice on ways i can get hold of quality finishings.

Are you using a new building technology(e.g., prefab) as opposed to the old-fashioned brick(ndarugu) and mortar?

@Fyatu,
Afternoon bro,
Yours might even be cheaper if your plot is red soil. Let me piga my rough hesabus and revert
amorphous
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2020 3:57:16 PM

plus or minus 10% given life happens and costs change plus please note I have been very generous with several items on the list.

Fyatu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2020 7:50:31 PM

amorphous wrote:
plus or minus 10% given life happens and costs change plus please note I have been very generous with several items on the list.

Shukran sana!
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
amorphous
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2020 3:17:43 AM

Fyatu wrote:

Shukran sana!

Karibu
tony stark
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2020 6:11:54 PM

amorphous wrote:
You have been so lost.
Glad to see you are now no longer saying real estate is the WORST investment on earth and are now giving real estate mawaidhasLaughing out loudly Na hiyo ni mahendereo.

tony stark wrote:

Actually I got the idea when I got inquiries from a neighbour who said some students were in the area asking if they could rent SQs. There is a very big technical institution hapo karibu (less than a km) yet affordable student-budget accommodation is as rare as hen's teeth in the area.

Which bush? The only bushes I see are those huge ones under your armpits. Zingine umesema hapo ni 100% polojo.

Tony have you ever built anything including a chicken coop or a dog house? At a little under a VERY GENEROUS 29k per sqm surely you seem like one who cannot tell apart the price of a bag of cement from the price of a machine cut (ndarugo) let alone what is inside a ring beam?

Mashamba man is this you??? ha ha ha! How is the DC jewel working out.
Nilikuwa nimeshikwa na mjengo kidogo but nimemaliza. Please invite me to see this amazing house of less than 1 million shillings.

But you haven't spoken to any students. Your neighbour is your market research. Very good I rate this as a high success.

My armpit hair is the only bush you see. You are not looking far enough and please stop spying on me.

Good luck amorphous!!
amorphous
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2020 7:54:45 PM

tony stark wrote:
amorphous wrote:
You have been so lost.

tony stark wrote:

Mashamba man is this you??? ha ha ha! How is the DC jewel working out.
Nilikuwa nimeshikwa na mjengo kidogo but nimemaliza. Please invite me to see this amazing house of less than 1 million shillings.

But you haven't spoken to any students. Your neighbour is your market research. Very good I rate this as a high success.

My armpit hair is the only bush you see. You are not looking far enough and please stop spying on me.

Good luck amorphous!!

Glad to see you have left mambo za casino (NSE) and joined the big boys in the mjengo industry at long last. Slowly by slowly kila mtu will be converted smile. I will jenga and slaughter you a goat ukuje uonje.