wazua Fri, May 17, 2024

141 Pages«<4647484950>»
Coronavirus
#941 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 7:15:13 PM

aemathenge wrote:
However I am skeptical of any reasonable collaboration with the MOH.

It is very easy for one to waste time and precious resources talking to people in office.

I die.

On the contrary, that may be how we will work faster and efficiently in dealing with this virus. By thinking like a private citizen and scientist working with the public under reasonably high standard, I can focus on the product, and assemble the first kits ASAP. I have already thought of distributed manufacture and teleconference as a fast way we can do this thing.

Compare that to wasting time thinking about meeting Mr.X. Try to fix an appointment with a person overwhelmed with meetings... All this time we are swallowing corona. Why follow that path?
'Mr. X will see you next week on Friday'. By that Friday, someone who needed the kit has now worsened in condition. He is at the isolation center...

And as you saw, this is a mass thing. So I should think different kidogo.
wukan
#942 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 7:19:43 PM

madollar wrote:
Why are we taking the US numbers as a weekness? The number just shows the capacity to test patients. The numbers also show that the majority of the patients are in NY and NJ. The 2 cities are major tourist destinations for Chinese and secondly their use of mass transportation accelerated the community spread. They are not struggling but overwhelmed. Also, the US donated most of its PPE to China in February, if only they knew what they know now.

Another thing, if you believe the Chinese numbers you are easily fooled. How countries handle wave 2 will determine everything

Did anybody say or suggest America is weak?No they are not.Its just that they are the mighty America and this was not expected to happen to them.

What is the difference between struggling and being overwhelmed?

What are the actual/near actual numbers in China and why do you believe they lied?How big are the margins of lies?

Looks like you have started your journey towards being a Doomsday Prophet.Now we have a wave 2 to come?

Being overwhelmed is an understatement the domino effect will be felt everywhere for so long americans have always felt "safe" ,trump is still talking about the "best" doctors,researchers, institutions etc but kwa ground vitu ni different

'A perfect storm': US facing hunger crisis as demand for food banks soars

Food banks are reporting unprecedented demand across the US as millions lose jobs, investigation shows

Hunger in the US is not as you imagine.

Is bread in US still the equivalent of Kshs 400? Hiyo ilikuwa culture shock.
#943 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 7:27:09 PM

limanika wrote:

The west led by Trump and UK as well as WHO has flopped big time on this. This is the time you wish someone like Obama was still president

There was a time Obama expressed regret over Libya and Gaddafi's fall. That's when I smelled a rat...
#944 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 7:34:31 PM

wukan wrote:
madollar wrote:
Why are we taking the US numbers as a weekness? The number just shows the capacity to test patients. The numbers also show that the majority of the patients are in NY and NJ. The 2 cities are major tourist destinations for Chinese and secondly their use of mass transportation accelerated the community spread. They are not struggling but overwhelmed. Also, the US donated most of its PPE to China in February, if only they knew what they know now.

Another thing, if you believe the Chinese numbers you are easily fooled. How countries handle wave 2 will determine everything

Did anybody say or suggest America is weak?No they are not.Its just that they are the mighty America and this was not expected to happen to them.

What is the difference between struggling and being overwhelmed?

What are the actual/near actual numbers in China and why do you believe they lied?How big are the margins of lies?

Looks like you have started your journey towards being a Doomsday Prophet.Now we have a wave 2 to come?

Being overwhelmed is an understatement the domino effect will be felt everywhere for so long americans have always felt "safe" ,trump is still talking about the "best" doctors,researchers, institutions etc but kwa ground vitu ni different

'A perfect storm': US facing hunger crisis as demand for food banks soars

Food banks are reporting unprecedented demand across the US as millions lose jobs, investigation shows

Hunger in the US is not as you imagine.

Is bread in US still the equivalent of Kshs 400? Hiyo ilikuwa culture shock.

It depends on what bread you feel like having prices range from 80cts to $4 for Brioche. But bread is their ugali. Food banks mainly carry non perishable foods. A huge % of the population works in the service sector which is currently shut down. With no income coming in these people are opting to get food from the food bank and use cash in hand for other expenses such as rent etc as they wait for the 120k check from the govt.
T-Bag
#945 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 7:57:40 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDY5COg2P2c. You finally have time for these.

1918 - The virus was spread by ships
2020 - The virus was spread by planes

Narrator : "you may be asking yourself...can a deadly
flu happen like that again..."

Me: No im not asking myself that...I already
know the answer....

History does not repeat itself people repeat history....dumb ass me 100 years later .....unprepared
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
#946 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 9:47:59 PM

There seems to be research gaps in the role of nasal breathing and its aerosol action. A paper published 2019 explicates the scarcity of studies that have otherwise been limited to bioaerosol research.

A review of WHO documents regarding SARS-CoV-2 also shows this gap. We therefore have more reason to suspect that we may be up to something significant.

These small particles are believed to be generated during breathing and talking from the mucosal
layers coating the respiratory tract via a combination of a “fuid-flm burst” mechanism within the bronchioles
and from vocal folds adduction and vibration within the larynx6,20,21. Te particles emitted during breathing and
typical speech predominantly average only 1 μm in diameter15–17 and are thus too small to see without specialized
equipment; most people outside of the community of bioaerosol researchers are less aware of them.
Despite their small size, however, these micron-scale particles are sufciently large to carry a variety of res-
piratory pathogens such as measles virus (50–500 nm)22, infuenza virus (100 nm–1 µm)23, and Mycobacterium
tuberculosis (1–3 µm)24. Indeed, recent work by Yan et al. has confrmed that signifcant amounts of infuenza
viral RNA are present in small particles (<5 μm) emitted by infuenza-infected individuals during natural breath-
ing, without coughing or sneezing25. Tese small particles are potentially more infectious than larger sneeze- or ...

If true then we have a major tool or resource against Covid-19.
#947 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 10:36:12 PM

Therefore, as far as hypotheses are concerned, I have reason to believe that we have an effective treatment and management program for Covid-19.

This new week should be about product development, dissemination, and research program deployment.

There's much to be done, and a risk we may face is that we may begin implementing the treatment algorithm rather late, relative to infection growth.

But I am open to suggestion and direction on how to move ahead. Govt involvement this time will need them to engage me in a constructive way, instead of me looking for them.
#948 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 11:26:32 PM

Boris Johnson admitted in hospital.
#949 Posted : Sunday, April 05, 2020 11:49:52 PM

Guys, ventilators may be increasing the death rates than reducing them. First, it would appear intuitive that patients with breathing problems will be aided by ventilators. But mortality rates for patients on ventilators appear to be high, and recovery rates longer. How can that be, if that's the only problem?

https://newsroom.uw.edu/...ows-high-mortality-rate
#950 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 12:27:18 AM

1. There's no approved treatment for Covid-19

2. The different treatments are on trials mainly

3. It's possible that the treatments are erroneous if some critical variable is not dealt with

4. There's an overlooked variable that is critical - The presence of a positive feed back mechanism connecting patient, virus and environment under certain conditions as determined more or less by the gas laws and or quantum fields and quantum field resonances (I suspect there are clouds of the virus in certain energy levels, in space. Such a claim earned Sir Fred Hoyle a bad name (2008?).

5. Therefore there is great probability that the current regime of treatment is faulty and needs to be overhauled urgently.

An explanation behind this fault in the current treatment regime is the ultimate treatment, test: the ventilator. If the hypothesis driving current treatment was/is correct, then the stats wouldn't be that bad, for the most advanced measure taken.

And we wouldn't see these many deaths, and indefinite lockdowns.
#951 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 1:19:30 AM

Updated April 3, 2020, 10 p.m. PT. The following sections have been updated in the past 24 hours: Ophthalmology ties

The Academy is sharing important ophthalmology-specific information related to the novel coronavirus, referred to as severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), which was previously known by the provisional name 2019-nCoV. The highly contagious virus can cause a severe respiratory disease known as COVID-19.

This page is principally authored by James Chodosh, MD, MPH, with assistance from Gary N. Holland, MD, and Steven Yeh, MD.

What you need to know
Several reports suggest the virus can cause a mild follicular conjunctivitis otherwise indistinguishable from other viral causes, and possibly be transmitted by aerosol contact with conjunctiva.
Patients who present to ophthalmologists for conjunctivitis who also have fever and respiratory symptoms including cough and shortness of breath, and who have recently traveled internationally, particularly to areas with known outbreaks (China, Iran, Italy and South Korea, or to hotspots within the United States), or with family members recently back from one of these areas, could represent cases of COVID-19.
The Academy and federal officials recommend protection for the mouth, nose and eyes when caring for patients potentially infected with SARS-CoV-2.
The virus that causes COVID-19 is very likely susceptible to the same alcohol- and bleach-based disinfectants that ophthalmologists commonly use to disinfect ophthalmic instruments and office furniture. To prevent SARS-CoV-2 transmission, the same disinfection practices already used to prevent office-based spread of other viral pathogens are recommended before and after every patient encounter.
#952 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 6:10:00 AM

Shak wrote:

Link
#953 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 9:02:25 AM

You've touched on a critical matter @murchr. I believe first line care givers should have eye protection.

In other news, I mentioned a research gap yesterday and today I have found confirmation of that from Guo et al.

The global outbreak
may due to the following factors: firstly, the unknown
pneumonia outbroke at the time of China Spring Festi-
val, when the mass population flowing. Secondly, more
detailed molecular mechanisms of viral binding and
entry manners await to be elucidated, which may ham-
per the development of targeted therapy. Thirdly, avail-
able data suggested that the SARS-CoV-2 may be less
virulent than the SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV, with the
currently analyzed mortality of COVID-19 is 3.4%, lower
than death rate of SARS (9.6%) and MERS (around
35%), respectively [19]. Thus, the potential mechanisms
for human-to-human transmission and pathogenic
mechanisms of the SARS-CoV-2 are under extensively
studied

With the lockdowns in place, and the virus still wreaking havoc, it is only reasonable that we suspect that reasons 2 and 3 are holding.

This paper describes vividly how the virus Spike proteins need to attach to the receptor ACE2 that is found mainly in the lung area.

Therefore pneumonia happens when there is virus - alveoli interaction. And given the structure of epithelial cells we can deduce that the virus contact must be predominantly from breathing action.

At this point, I must say that my understanding of the action of this virus has changed significantly, but the method of treatment has improved.

The treatments provided are more placebo like than direct intervention to the viral infection.

Besides, a different paper illustrates how SARS-CoV-2 has evolved into around 21 different strains. This implies that each country may have to create its vaccine, or wait for longer before being given aid.

#954 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 9:39:19 AM

Shak wrote:

Link

It is all over - news channels. His mpangos (who is pregnant) has also contracted the virus.
#955 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 9:42:58 AM

Shak wrote:

Link

#956 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 9:51:49 AM

Shak wrote:

Link

Thanks.

Meanwhile,how long does it take to recover from the virus.

What treatment is being administered to manage the symptoms?
#957 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 10:23:56 AM

Shak wrote:

Link

Thanks.

Recovery for people with no underlying condition is up to 14 days. If you have a condition then it can be longer or never.

Treatment involves anti-virals, chloroquine, some Chinese traditional medicine, and assisted breathing. Symptoms may be alleviated using bruphen, paracetamol, piriton, depending on the patient.
wukan
#958 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 10:36:24 AM

Shak wrote:

Link

Blood type A are the ones who are getting hospitalized most. Blood type O tuko sawa
#959 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 10:40:40 AM

wukan wrote:
Shak wrote:

Link

Blood type A are the ones who are getting hospitalized most. Blood type O tuko sawa

Wewe Prophet wacha zako!

B+ wako aje?
#960 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2020 10:46:28 AM

Shak wrote:

Link

Thanks.

Recovery for people with no underlying condition is up to 14 days. If you have a condition then it can be longer or never.

Treatment involves anti-virals, chloroquine, some Chinese traditional medicine, and assisted breathing. Symptoms may be alleviated using bruphen, paracetamol, piriton, depending on the patient.

So do we stock up on those meds?

Chinese medicine ni gani and where do we get it from?