wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

Rugby Vs Soccer(kenya)
Mr .Ben
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2009 9:47:00 AM

Guys help me out.....with all the effort made soccer in kenya is shameful to talk about what am wondering rugby guys have made kenya proud .....currently we are ranked 8th in the world in sevens....yet no support for our brothers but when this soccer dude beat funny countries like Burundi...they get the first page in newspapers,news .....help me out i .why is it this way?....our rugby boys have beaten rugby giants all over

what can we do for them.

'Until the lions have their historians,tales of hunting will always depict the hunter as a brave man.'

"Until the lions have their historians, tales of hunting will always depict the hunter as a brave man."
jipinde
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2009 11:15:00 AM

Rugby is an elite game for the lucky few while football is the popular game for the masses.

Have seen kids in Kibera playing rugby in the streets?

......the truth shall set you free.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2009 11:52:00 AM

The reason why guys are more interested in Football(Kenya) is quite simple.....hakuna Rugby mashinani! How many Rugby leagues do we have in Kenya? Most of our Rugby players started their careers in High school.

'Football is a noble sport played by hooligans,rugby is a tug sport played by nobles'.

life is too short to blend in
Novice-99
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2009 12:11:00 PM

Why not go watch a game and see! And when were you last in Kibera? They now play rugby!

Gut feeling
mtaalam
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2009 2:22:00 PM

These are different sports. There's no comparison. In Kenya Rugby is regarded as an up market sport while soccer is a mwananchi sport.
Soccer is a religion- and that's why it makes sense for the media companies to cover.
There's just no comparison. (Btw I love rugby).

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
Easy E
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2009 7:14:00 AM

I love both sports tho a rugby game does it for me on any given day. I agree soccer is played on the streets etc but more support for Kenya Rugby wouldnt hurt. Kenya is not ranked 8th in the world by flukes and yet our boys professionals who do nothing else but sleep,drink,eat,breathe,work rugby. We only pay our boys 5soc for attending trainings and that is if they are lucky to ge the chums. We need more support for rugby.

Easy E - A hardworking,morally upright tax payer
zamali
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 6:13:00 AM

Stars performance was mediocre in Nigeria & Now FIFA has limited the number of fans who will watch H Stars vs Mozambique.

I think the Government should relegate soccer so that it can only be played at City Stadium. Only Rugby and athletics should be done at Nyayo and Kasarani.

Safari Sevens Rugby would be so great in Nyayo or Kasarani!

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
kizee
#8 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 6:25:00 AM

yea....why isnt the safari 7s being playd at nyayo ama kasarani?....i thnk its high time the organizers mooved it to a larger venue..KRFU is way too small...this year especialy i think attendanc will be exceptional
#9 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:09:00 AM

I think we have very few genuine rugby fans in Kenya because what attracts most guys to the Safari sevens (and most rugby tournaments) is not the love for the game but rather the hype and party that is associated with it.......that is why i think taking the game to any other stadium would be a complete disaster. Some people don't even get to watch a single game.

life is too short to blend in
reddevil
#10 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 7:18:00 AM

Mr Ben.

It's the same world over,Soccer is indeed a religion...its not only about Kibera or

uptown...

The simplicity in playing soccer also attributes...when you see in shaggs where

boys cannot afford real soccer balls,and they go ahead to make a ball out of paper

and voila couple of stones for goal posts does it...

I am not a Rugby fan,but have followed the Sevens since Kenya has been recording

streaks of good peformance simply because it feels nice.

For soccer in Kenya it is a crying shame,Coach Ayimba once said what the Hey

(harambee coach) dude is being paid is equivalent to the budget of Sevens team for a

season.

Its is sad but...because of the amount of money soccer commands,we have been

thoroughly wastedby corrupt,self centered individual,who care less for the game than

for their stomachs. Nigeria is equally corrupt but they still have a team,Cameroun is

equally as bad...just a thought!!!

I would very much like to see both games flourish....

But for tommorow you can gues where I will be at....Following my religion.....Kasarani

Viva United.

Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
zamali
#11 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 8:22:00 AM

@ Redevil

Yes pass by kasarani on Sato. But dont forget to come to KRFU on Sunday. After that am sure you will report back to me that KRFU was more fun!

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
kizee
#12 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 8:57:00 AM

to some of us rugby is the religion...infact i was late for my pals ngurario last week watching the all blacks play france...this sato is the 2nd test...moral of the story is that there are also rugby die hards in kenya...infact im not realy a fan of the 7s code...i much preffer the 15s...however if we can park kasarani with PAYING fans...why not? its all about economics
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 30, 2017 2:55:33 PM

so there is the whole thing about Rugby UNION... Rugby League is the Soccer of some places

shida sio sport... it's the type of people it attracts.
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 30, 2017 3:25:52 PM

so there is the whole thing about Rugby UNION... Rugby League is the Soccer of some places

This is the land of the a tribe called The Korowai. I ain't playing no game with cannibals!
#15 Posted : Thursday, November 30, 2017 10:15:58 PM

This is the land of the a tribe called The Korowai. I ain't playing no game with cannibals!

Korowai are so few... they are one in about 850 tribes. No one really eats people these days!! However, the fellows starting the fight are the highlander team the 'Hagen eagles' they are behind one of the islander teams (Rabaul)

check out this game

What we used to say 'mtu ni gap'.... some of these fellows are built like tanks!
#16 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 1:54:34 PM

Shujaa being taught a lesson by boks in Dubai
Mseto binti
#17 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 4:39:06 PM

Coolio wrote:
Shujaa being taught a lesson by boks in Dubai

Wacha tu,they have been hammered 48-5,πŸ˜ͺπŸ˜ͺπŸ˜ͺπŸ™„
I found meaningful workπŸ€“