wazua Tue, Apr 23, 2024

38 Pages«<3435363738>
Safaricom 2019/2020
Ericsson
#701 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2022 9:01:16 AM

https://www.businessdail...-pesa-expansion-3794202

Ethiopia has started changing its national payments law to clear the way for Safaricom to introduce its popular M-Pesa in the market of 110 million people.

Ethiopia’s central bank has drafted a Bill that will allow foreign investors to offer mobile money services, boosting firms such as Safaricom that are seeking to start operations in the country this year.
The National Bank of Ethiopia (NBE) now seeks to remove the remaining legal hurdle for Safaricom through the Bill that was made public last week.

“So far, there is no law that enables foreign operators like M-Pesa to acquire a licence in Ethiopia. If the new amendment is approved, it will allow M-Pesa to get a licence in Ethiopia,” Marta Hailemariam, the head of payment settlement at NBE, told the Ethiopian press.
The State-backed Bill states: “Foreign nationals may be allowed to invest in a payment instrument issuer or a payment system operator business; or establish a subsidiary which shall be licensed as a payment instrument issuer or payment system operator.”
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
cnn
#702 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2022 10:45:38 AM

Safaricom final dividend for year to 31st March 2022...ksh 0.75
My 2 cents
#703 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2022 7:15:23 PM

cnn wrote:

Why did they not just make it 0.76 to get back to the pre-covid level of 1.4 Why hold on to that 1 cent!
The optics would have been better, at a small price.
Ericsson
#704 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2022 6:33:14 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
cnn wrote:

Why did they not just make it 0.76 to get back to the pre-covid level of 1.4 Why hold on to that 1 cent!

I agree with you.
It eliminates the cents you receive on dividend.
However their dividend policy says 80% of the after tax profit is distributed as dividend
My 2 cents
#705 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2022 4:50:50 PM

Ericsson wrote:
My 2 cents wrote:
cnn wrote:

I agree with you.
It eliminates the cents you receive on dividend.
However their dividend policy says 80% of the after tax profit is distributed as dividend

1.4 divided by 1.74 is still 80%
They would still have been within their dividend policy
young
#706 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2022 2:04:17 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
cnn wrote:

The 1 cents saved per 40 billion shares on issue amount to 400 million shillings ...... That is a huge savings.

Mathematically 1/100 x 40,000,000,000
EQUALS 400,000,000/-
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Ericsson
#707 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2022 7:01:43 AM

young wrote:
My 2 cents wrote:
cnn wrote:

The 1 cents saved per 40 billion shares on issue amount to 400 million shillings ...... That is a huge savings.

Mathematically 1/100 x 40,000,000,000
EQUALS 400,000,000/-

Good money that can be invested in Ethiopia to bring higher returns in the coming years.
My 2 cents
#708 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2022 3:41:53 PM

Does anyone have any idea why the Safaricom price is dropping?
Very unusual. Drop of 30% year to date.
Any info is appreciated.
Ericsson
#709 Posted : Sunday, May 29, 2022 1:00:49 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
Any info is appreciated.

Jitters about the Ethiopia venture.
It's progressing slowly and they are to give a date when commercial operations will begin
#710 Posted : Sunday, May 29, 2022 2:17:04 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
Any info is appreciated.

@mnandii alisema we should expect lows of 14bob
wukan
#711 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2022 8:29:21 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
Any info is appreciated.

You need to scan social media

1. Monthly mpesa statements disappeared just like that

2. Horror stories of sim swap huko social media pointing back to your their staff as complicit

3. Data bundles evaporating is eating them up among the shembeteng gen

4. hostile tribes, poor communications, lack of purchase power...etc
#712 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2022 6:46:03 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
Any info is appreciated.

Almost there.. The current share price of Safaricom Plc (SCOM) is KES 26.35. SCOM closed its last trading day (Tuesday, June 14, 2022) at 26.35 KES per share on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE), recording a 0.6% drop from its previous closing price of 26.50 KES. Safaricom began the year with a share price of 37.95 KES but has since lost 30.6% off that price valuation, ranking it 59th on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance. Shareholders’ worries are compounded by the fact that SCOM has lost 13% of the stock’s value from May 16th to date.

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#713 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2022 6:48:10 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
Any info is appreciated.

Almost there.. The current share price of Safaricom Plc (SCOM) is KES 26.35. SCOM closed its last trading day (Tuesday, June 14, 2022) at 26.35 KES per share on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE), recording a 0.6% drop from its previous closing price of 26.50 KES. Safaricom began the year with a share price of 37.95 KES but has since lost 30.6% off that price valuation, ranking it 59th on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance.

#714 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2022 7:25:15 PM

Sub 20 in next two weeks? Where is the Bolingo Band crew to chart this one.. The current share price of Safaricom Plc (SCOM) is KES 25.05. SCOM closed its last trading day (Thursday, June 16, 2022) at 25.05 KES per share on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE), recording a 2.5% drop from its previous closing price of 25.70 KES. Safaricom began the year with a share price of 37.95 KES but has since lost 34% off that price valuation, ranking it 60th on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance.

#715 Posted : Friday, June 17, 2022 7:20:44 PM

Sub 20 in next two weeks? Where is the Bolingo Band crew to chart this one.. The current share price of Safaricom Plc (SCOM) is KES 25.05. SCOM closed its last trading day (Thursday, June 16, 2022) at 25.05 KES per share on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE), recording a 2.5% drop from its previous closing price of 25.70 KES. Safaricom began the year with a share price of 37.95 KES but has since lost 34% off that price valuation, ranking it 60th on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance.

@my2cents. Your stock pick. It's not looking good. The current share price of Safaricom Plc (SCOM) is KES 24.30. SCOM closed its last trading day (Friday, June 17, 2022) at 24.30 KES per share on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE), recording a 3% drop from its previous closing price of 25.05 KES. Safaricom began the year with a share price of 37.95 KES but has since lost 36% off that price valuation, ranking it 60th on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance.

My 2 cents
#716 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2022 1:12:13 PM

@my2cents. Your stock pick. It's not looking good. The current share price of Safaricom Plc (SCOM) is KES 24.30. SCOM closed its last trading day (Friday, June 17, 2022) at 24.30 KES per share on the Nairobi Securities Exchange (NSE), recording a 3% drop from its previous closing price of 25.05 KES. Safaricom began the year with a share price of 37.95 KES but has since lost 36% off that price valuation, ranking it 60th on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance.

That is because foreigners are exiting frontier markets (after this week's FED rate hikes) and Safaricom is their biggest holding in the NSE. Safaricom remains a solid business and now's the time to load up.
#717 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2022 2:22:34 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

That is because foreigners are exiting frontier markets (after this week's FED rate hikes) and Safaricom is their biggest holding in the NSE. Safaricom remains a solid business and now's the time to load up.

36% down this year alone! What's the bottom? How about one till counter proposition that is moving deposits and transaction fees away to the banks? Remember, never rush to lower the skirt.. I speak in code

Ericsson
#718 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2022 11:31:18 AM

https://www.businessdail...hiopia-business-3867808

Safaricom Plc has ambitions of achieving gross margins of 40 percent in its new Ethiopian operation in 10 years.

The financial targets, including breaking even in four years, have been disclosed by South Africa’s Vodacom Group which owns a 35 percent stake in the Nairobi Securities Exchange-listed firm.

“Safaricom Ethiopia to reach EBITDA break-even in four years and an EBITDA margin of 40 percent in 10 years,” Vodacom said in its latest annual report.
EBITDA refers to earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. It measures a company’s overall financial performance but excludes the cost of capital investments.

If Safaricom Ethiopia hits the target, the subsidiary will be close to the profitability of its Nairobi-based parent company.

Safaricom has a gross margin of 50 percent, the highest among the NSE-listed firms.
The Ethiopia business reported a net loss of Sh4.8 billion in the 10 months ended March, reflecting the startup costs in a period when it did not have revenue.

Safaricom Ethiopia, in which the Kenyan multinational holds a 55.7 percent stake, was issued an operating licence in July 2021.

Earlier in May, the company said it had secured approvals for tower development, built two data centres, made the first test call, and sent out the first test SMS.
It has hired more than 300 employees with a target of having a workforce of 1,000 by March 2023.
The Ethiopian subsidiary plans to spend between $1.5 billion and $2 billion over the next five years to build infrastructure and roll out new services, among other capital expenditures.

The growth will be fueled by aggressive network expansion, SIM card penetration, and mobile money product launch.

The subsidiary intends to roll out 10,000 to 12,000 sites in the next 10 years.
My 2 cents
#719 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2022 2:19:17 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

36% down this year alone! What's the bottom? How about one till counter proposition that is moving deposits and transaction fees away to the banks? Remember, never rush to lower the skirt.. I speak in code

Up 14% since you wrote the post.
I learnt a long time ago to never fight the steam roller that is Safaricom's share price. I have been loading up on sub-30 levels and I hope it remains at this level for a few months longer.
Ericsson
#720 Posted : Wednesday, July 13, 2022 6:02:34 AM

My 2 cents wrote:

Up 14% since you wrote the post.
I learnt a long time ago to never fight the steam roller that is Safaricom's share price. I have been loading up on sub-30 levels and I hope it remains at this level for a few months longer.

Heading towards above 30 levels