wazua Thu, May 2, 2024

My stock broker Rating
cyruskulei
#1 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 2:17:31 PM

Of the list below of our stock brokers, which one would you rate the best and worst in terms of customer care and support, execution of orders (online/offline), etc

Stock brokers List

1. Suntra Investment Bank Ltd
2.Sterling Capital Ltd
3.Renaissance Capital (Kenya) Ltd
4.SBG Securities Ltd
5.Securities Africa Kenya Limited
6.Standard Investment Bank Ltd
7.Faida Investment Bank Ltd
8.Francis Drummond & Company Limited
9.Genghis Capital Ltd
10.KCB Capital
11.Kestrel Capital (EA) Limited
12.Kingdom Securities Ltd
13.Ngenye Kariuki & Co. Ltd. ( Und
er Statutory Management)
14.NIC Securities Limited
15.Old Mutual Securities Ltd
16.ABC Capital Ltd
17.African Alliance Securities
18.AIB CAPITAL LTD
19.ApexAfrica Capital Ltd
20.Barclays Financial Services Limited
21.CBA Capital Limited
22.Dyer & Blair Investment Bank Ltd
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

Thornbird
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 3:59:11 AM

I wish you had asked this question before I darkened the doors of Kingdom Securities last year Brick wall ... I could have used the feedback..
cyruskulei
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 10:20:38 AM

Thornbird wrote:
I wish you had asked this question before I darkened the doors of Kingdom Securities last year Brick wall ... I could have used the feedback..

You can still rate them plus your current broker. The I information generated here Will assist help others make well informed choices.
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

Kenyan Oracle
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 10:49:07 AM

Been with Faida for the longest time. Love their online app.
You trade bila hustles.
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 11:28:49 AM

Suntra Investment Bank, no problem and issues are attended to in a timely manner. Good customer service levels, comparatively.

Online platform running well, very few hitches.

Payments Cheques/Transfers are done on time - 2 days.

My only issue with them is that deposits into their account take 1 day to upload into the internal account for trading (unless you call and followup/deliver the slip/scan).
Blukes
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 12:15:07 PM

SBG Securities working well the m-shares platform working well, thumbs up for me#sbgs
JoeNgugi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 2:07:24 PM

I use https://www.csfs.co.ke/activelite/ under SBG Securities.

Works very well. No issues
nairobby
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 7:05:22 PM

AIB Capital have served me well. Would recommend.
Thornbird
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 7:50:07 PM

cyruskulei wrote:
Thornbird wrote:

You can still rate them plus your current broker. The I information generated here Will assist help others make well informed choices.

I am now with Sterling Capital and I am very satisfied. They are responsive when an issue is raised, and they execute my orders in a timely manner.

Dealing with Kingdom Securities felt like dealing with an inefficient government office. Trying to resolve an issue is like pulling teeth and is takes repeated attempts on email and phone calls before they deign to grace one with a response. A visit to their offices is just as unsatisfactory. That's my experience, perhaps someone else might have a different kind of experience.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 7:52:14 PM

I don't frequently trade by CBA capital has done a splendid job for the few times I have been to the NSE casino
Superprime1
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 9:22:15 PM

I'm a frequent trader. I've access to online share trading (OST) platforms for NIC Securities and Genghis Capital (different CDS a/cs).

I'm totally locked on the NIC platform since there's a time it had an offer that significantly reduced transaction costs. Way cheaper!

I do all my trades, so I only deal with the team when funding my OST a/c or cashing out.

I'm happy overall, but of course customer service can always be improved e.g. not waiting to be prompted to credit a/cs when one deposits or does an EFT.

I started off with NBK Custodial during the Safcom IPO in 2008 and my experience with this one was just out of this world, till I had to scamper for other options! Not to mention that orders were manual and execution would take forever.

I'm glad I moved; I'm totally contented.
Blukes
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 10:36:16 AM

[quote=JoeNgugi]I use https://www.csfs.co.ke/activelite/ under SBG Securities.

[The best]

Nice one
cyruskulei
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 2:02:33 PM

Blukes wrote:

[The best]

Nice one

Your comments on this broker are positive.

Do they execute buy orders even the account has no funds?

#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 2:11:04 PM

cyruskulei wrote:
Blukes wrote:

[The best]

Nice one

Your comments on this broker are positive.

Do they execute buy orders even the account has no funds?

CSFS hangs like heol

#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 2:20:09 PM

Definitely Dyer and Blair. They do not have any disruptions to their online platform these days plus the ease of funding your account by MPESA makes it quite convenient for us diaspora investors.
tandich
#16 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2019 11:26:01 PM

I just got this sms from SBG:

Dear Customer, kindly note that from 1st July 2019 you shall not be able to fund your CDS account by directly depositing cash into our bank account. The acceptable modes of payment will be bank transfers (Pesalink, EFT & RTGS), M-Pesa and Cheques. Any queries, call 020-3638900 or email sbgs@stanbic.com.

May be related to the 1,000 note crackdown. But what do I know?
#17 Posted : Saturday, June 22, 2019 7:59:39 PM

guru267 wrote:
Definitely Dyer and Blair. They do not have any disruptions to their online platform these days plus the ease of funding your account by MPESA makes it quite convenient for us diaspora investors.

The Dyer&Blair tool is good, not upto standard but fair enough. However, if for example you have not traded for 6months and you happen to be abroad you will be locked out and asked to prove your source of funds before trading. Now the back and forth in this verification is a headache everyone wants to protect their information but D&B does not guarantee that. As an example, they want you to send these docs to some email why not facilitate the uploading of the same? Well...

I wonder how if mama mboga deals with them.

Then the server is almost always out. Customer service is often non responsive and when they do they are very generic and not helpful.

Advise from a user.....shop around until Jimnah pulls up his socks.
Balaa
#18 Posted : Saturday, June 22, 2019 9:48:38 PM

guru267 wrote:

The Dyer&Blair tool is good, not upto standard but fair enough. However, if for example you have not traded for 6months and you happen to be abroad you will be locked out and asked to prove your source of funds before trading. Now the back and forth in this verification is a headache everyone wants to protect their information but D&B does not guarantee that. As an example, they want you to send these docs to some email why not facilitate the uploading of the same? Well...

Then the server is almost always out. Customer service is often non responsive and when they do they are very generic and not helpful.

Customer service is definitely the difference maker. Used to be with D&B until I ditched them in 2013 for lack of responsiveness and repeatedly being bought for shares that I'd never ordered. Moved on to NIC Securities and was allocated a very responsive so-called wealth manager until she left in 2018. Her successor's service is terrible to say the least, and I wonder whether it's worthwhile shopping around as these brokers also do change employers fairly frequently. Another problem I've experienced when changing brokers is with the migration of my portfolio. For example, when I migrated from D&B to NIC, the latter did not recognise the share acquisition cost and it ended up distorting my subsequent ABP. Very unprofessional as I have to maintain supplmentary records to ensure accurate record keeping. What to do?
If it don't make dollars, it don't make sense
#19 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2019 12:32:29 PM

Balaa wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Customer service is definitely the difference maker. Used to be with D&B until I ditched them in 2013 for lack of responsiveness and repeatedly being bought for shares that I'd never ordered. Moved on to NIC Securities and was allocated a very responsive so-called wealth manager until she left in 2018. Her successor's service is terrible to say the least, and I wonder whether it's worthwhile shopping around as these brokers also do change employers fairly frequently. Another problem I've experienced when changing brokers is with the migration of my portfolio. For example, when I migrated from D&B to NIC, the latter did not recognise the share acquisition cost and it ended up distorting my subsequent ABP. Very unprofessional as I have to maintain supplmentary records to ensure accurate record keeping. What to do?

You need to maintain your own ABP records. Your money belongs to you and not your broker roho safi smile
#20 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2019 12:35:11 PM

guru267 wrote:
Balaa wrote:
guru267 wrote:

You need to maintain your own ABP records. Your money belongs to you and not your broker roho safi smile

It's like expecting an agent to set the rental price.. How much do you rent the units? Let me ask my agent.. 😁😁

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45