wazua Sun, Apr 28, 2024

Somalia in the 1980s - before collapse and alshabaab
#21 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 11:59:35 AM

Iran went through a similar change when the Ayatollah took over...women even protested being forced to wear Hijab.

https://www.bbc.com/news...ld-middle-east-47032829

Of course you'll claim this is Western propaganda.

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL
#22 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:04:23 PM

Surprisingly most Somalis appreciate Al shaabab for putting a leash on secularism.

It's the men who are happy when women are subjugated under the guise of religion. In 1970s women could drive in Mogadishu but today in 2019 they are not allowed to do so.

Some are happy to ape and copy the Western culture. And echo the words used by their media, ati subjugated. You are happy with sexual exploitation of your women. You are happy with the thousand prostitutes that walk the streets. You are happy with young naked little girls walking around in Koinange street, and say they represent liberation. You are happy with the thousands of abortions that take place with these young women, you say that represent sophistication or liberation. YOu are happy with naked women sitting on billboards, naked women selling everything even chocolate bar, toothpaste... And you this does not represent sexual exploitation?

So let's talk about things correctly. The lifestyle you're busy admiring, the "Westernization", is actually a disguise form of exploitation of the body, deprivation of honour, and degrading of soul.

Alpha.. Any culture taking over another in the name of religion is wrong, period, Whether Western culture or Arabian culture. I grew up with many Somalis who dressed in their cultural dress. Those were some of the best practising muslims I ever saw. Ever since they switched to the hijab ( arabic dress)... thats a story for another day.

Let us differentiate RELIGION and CULTURE
#23 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:23:11 PM

Kumbe it's Uncle Sam who promoted the spread of radical islam. So @alphdoti & co are just pawns in the big geopolitical war game.

https://www.rt.com/news/...bism-western-countries/

https://www.globalresear...ern-imperialism/5642047

Spread of Wahhabism was done at request of West during Cold War – Saudi crown prince

The Saudi-funded spread of Wahhabism began as a result of Western countries asking Riyadh to help counter the Soviet Union during the Cold War, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman told the Washington Post.
Speaking to the paper, bin Salman said that Saudi Arabia's Western allies urged the country to invest in mosques and madrassas overseas during the Cold War, in an effort to prevent encroachment in Muslim countries by the Soviet Union.

The essence of the Wahabi dogma was and still is, extremely simple: “Religious leaders would force the people into terrible, irrational fear and consequent submission. No criticism of the religion is allowed;no questioning of its essence and particularly of the conservative and archaic interpretation of the Book. Once conditioned this way, people stopped questioning and criticizing first the feudalist, and later capitalist oppression; they also accepted without blinking the plunder of their natural resources by local and foreign masters. All attempts to build a socialist and egalitarian society got deterred, brutally, ‘in the name of Islam’ and ‘in the name of God’”.
#24 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:26:06 PM

Surprisingly most Somalis appreciate Al shaabab for putting a leash on secularism.

It's the men who are happy when women are subjugated under the guise of religion. In 1970s women could drive in Mogadishu but today in 2019 they are not allowed to do so.

Some are happy to ape and copy the Western culture. And echo the words used by their media, ati subjugated. You are happy with sexual exploitation of your women. You are happy with the thousand prostitutes that walk the streets. You are happy with young naked little girls walking around in Koinange street, and say they represent liberation. You are happy with the thousands of abortions that take place with these young women, you say that represent sophistication or liberation. YOu are happy with naked women sitting on billboards, naked women selling everything even chocolate bar, toothpaste... And you this does not represent sexual exploitation?

So let's talk about things correctly. The lifestyle you're busy admiring, the "Westernization", is actually a disguise form of exploitation of the body, deprivation of honour, and degrading of soul.

Hijab or no hijab.. Arab culture Somali cultures this makes no diffrence. When free will hits you .. nobody can block it
Ever since this Somali and arabs allowed their kids to join public or private universities and others even boarding that's when all he'll broke loose. Now I have been eating like nobody's business. I even encounterd virgin and I promised her that if she delivers the goods.. I will renounce Christianity. That's a story for another day.
We should all agree that we are now a global village and the more some cultures try hard to supress their women . The more the fire pressure builds and its normally released with little or no effort by people like us.
So anybody trying to say that oppression has worked is lying to themselves.
There is no diffrence between a koinange lady receiving 3clients a day and a collage girl wearing a hijab during the day or when parents/relatives are around but has already had 2 boyfriends and to top it all a sponsor like me.
#25 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:26:25 PM

@alphdoti, even the Somalis themselves don't like the turn of events where radical islam has taken over their lives. They suggest that they go back to their original somali culture.

Stop copying the media and their terminologies. It is akin to what Trump vomits regarding China, making big statements with no objective process to determine or specific measurement for claims. Islam is Islam, it has standards, it has standards for everything. Miniskirts is not Somali culture. If they want to go back to their culture, then they should, and the traditional clothes were good. But if they choose Islam, then they should abide by Islam, and you should not brand that as radical. However, I agree with you that there are those few extremists with wrong ideology giving Islam a bad name. Islam is perfect, but Muslims are not, I always tell you do not confuse the two.

Does one have to dress in a burka to be a muslim?

No. One does not have to wear burka to be Muslim. Islam dress code is simple Below is criteria for hijab, given in the Quran as well as authentic (Sahih) hadith/Sunnah, the clothes should not be so tight to reveal the figure, it should not be transparent such that one can see through, it should not be so glamorous as to attract the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the unbelievers i.e. we should not wear clothes which are sign or identity of some groups who are unbelievers, extent between the man and the woman, of the body that should be covered. For the man it is from the navel to the knees. For women the complete body except the face and the hands up to the wrist should be covered.

#26 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:31:28 PM

Kumbe it's Uncle Sam who promoted the spread of radical islam. So @alphdoti & co are just pawns in the big geopolitical war game.

https://www.rt.com/news/...bism-western-countries/

https://www.globalresear...ern-imperialism/5642047

Spread of Wahhabism was done at request of West during Cold War – Saudi crown prince

The Saudi-funded spread of Wahhabism began as a result of Western countries asking Riyadh to help counter the Soviet Union during the Cold War, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman told the Washington Post.
Speaking to the paper, bin Salman said that Saudi Arabia's Western allies urged the country to invest in mosques and madrassas overseas during the Cold War, in an effort to prevent encroachment in Muslim countries by the Soviet Union.

The essence of the Wahabi dogma was and still is, extremely simple: “Religious leaders would force the people into terrible, irrational fear and consequent submission. No criticism of the religion is allowed;no questioning of its essence and particularly of the conservative and archaic interpretation of the Book. Once conditioned this way, people stopped questioning and criticizing first the feudalist, and later capitalist oppression; they also accepted without blinking the plunder of their natural resources by local and foreign masters. All attempts to build a socialist and egalitarian society got deterred, brutally, ‘in the name of Islam’ and ‘in the name of God’”.

I agree with you. If you see anyone promoting anything which is not in the Quran or authentic Hadith of the prophet, that is not Islam. All these groups are funded by Uncle Sam: Al Qaeda, Taliban, ISIS, Al Shabaab... all are theirs!

'The people we were fighting today, we funded 20 years ago...' Hilary Clinton
'The plan was good. Train Somali youths to create a buffer zone between Kenya and Somalia... These people are today roaming and killing people in parts of Kenya.' Major Bashir Abdulaiah
#27 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 12:41:26 PM

alphdoti wrote:
No. One does not have to wear burka to be Muslim. Islam dress code is simple Below is criteria for hijab, given in the Quran as well as authentic (Sahih) hadith/Sunnah, the clothes should not be so tight to reveal the figure, it should not be transparent such that one can see through, it should not be so glamorous as to attract the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the unbelievers.

Does this also refer to men dressing coz i see many men in western suits and neckties "that resemble those of unbelievers". Shouldnt all muslim men also be dressing in an islamic way eg kanzu or like the saudi men. You cant force women to dress in an islamic way and yet allow the men to dress in an "unislamic" way (suits and jeans). If you kenyan muslim men only wear the kanzu on fridays when going for prayers, then the women should also only wear the burka on fridays.

#28 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 2:31:05 PM

alphdoti wrote:
No. One does not have to wear burka to be Muslim. Islam dress code is simple Below is criteria for hijab, given in the Quran as well as authentic (Sahih) hadith/Sunnah, the clothes should not be so tight to reveal the figure, it should not be transparent such that one can see through, it should not be so glamorous as to attract the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the unbelievers.

Does this also refer to men dressing coz i see many men in western suits and neckties "that resemble those of unbelievers". Shouldnt all muslim men also be dressing in an islamic way eg kanzu or like the saudi men. You cant force women to dress in an islamic way and yet allow the men to dress in an "unislamic" way (suits and jeans). If you kenyan muslim men only wear the kanzu on fridays when going for prayers, then the women should also only wear the burka on fridays.

Interesting issues.

#29 Posted : Saturday, May 25, 2019 9:11:17 AM

@alphdoti, even the Somalis themselves don't like the turn of events where radical islam has taken over their lives. They suggest that they go back to their original somali culture.

Stop copying the media and their terminologies. It is akin to what Trump vomits regarding China, making big statements with no objective process to determine or specific measurement for claims. Islam is Islam, it has standards, it has standards for everything. Miniskirts is not Somali culture. If they want to go back to their culture, then they should, and the traditional clothes were good. But if they choose Islam, then they should abide by Islam, and you should not brand that as radical. However, I agree with you that there are those few extremists with wrong ideology giving Islam a bad name. Islam is perfect, but Muslims are not, I always tell you do not confuse the two.

Does one have to dress in a burka to be a muslim?

No. One does not have to wear burka to be Muslim. Islam dress code is simple Below is criteria for hijab, given in the Quran as well as authentic (Sahih) hadith/Sunnah, the clothes should not be so tight to reveal the figure, it should not be transparent such that one can see through, it should not be so glamorous as to attract the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the opposite sex, it should not resemble that of the unbelievers i.e. we should not wear clothes which are sign or identity of some groups who are unbelievers, extent between the man and the woman, of the body that should be covered. For the man it is from the navel to the knees. For women the complete body except the face and the hands up to the wrist should be covered.

1. The problem IMO is imposing a dress code for all seasons for a group of people and punishing grownups for what they choose to wear. People should dress appropriately for the weather, activity, occassion, style and occupation. Let's break it down:

2. Weather - dress to keep yourself warm or cool. Westerners are accused of promoting nakedness but in winter they wear fur coats, boots, sweaters, woolen hats, gloves, socks. In the hot months in the tropics natural woven cotton or linen fibres are appropriate to keep cool. Best for women to wear natural fibre undergarments or go ngothaless.

3. Activity - dress appropriately for comfort, safety and perfomance when engaged in physical activities. Don't go running in office leather shoes or bathroom slippers. It's disgusting to go swimming in a pool with T-Shirts, boxers, buibuis and headscarves in the name of modesty. Sleep naked if you want.

4. Occassion - I admit, I like attending contemporary African introductions, dowry negotiations and ruracios because people really dress well, Wacha tu. Back to my point, dress for the occassion. Wear a suit to a business meeting, wear a Kanzu to the mosque, wear a gown on your graduation, exotic costume to a costume party, victorian wedding gown for your wedding. Again these are conventions but no one should suffer beheading for going against convention.

5. Style - Every human being is different. People have different tastes and preferences. Orie Rogo defines herself with her head scarves. PLO Lumumba with his maoist suits. If a woman wants to wear Rwandan Mushanana or Maasai shuka or japanese kimono style, let her.

6. Occupation - disciplined forces have their own dress codes which are remarkably similar for western, eastern and in-between countries. Health professionals, lawyers, mechanics, hospitality industry professionals. Let people dress according to their professional conventions. Let students wear prescribed uniform, let priests, nuns, imams, rabbis wear their garb BUT don't force the general grown-up populace to dress like students or nuns.
#30 Posted : Saturday, May 25, 2019 9:28:43 AM

https://images.app.goo.gl/QXmU53fnVmTzzkex6
#31 Posted : Sunday, May 26, 2019 10:16:35 PM

alphdoti wrote:

Interesting issues.

I am waiting for alphdoti comeback.

#32 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 2:57:16 PM

Some are happy to ape and copy the Western culture. And echo the words used by their media, ati subjugated. You are happy with sexual exploitation of your women. You are happy with the thousand prostitutes that walk the streets. You are happy with young naked little girls walking around in Koinange street, and say they represent liberation. You are happy with the thousands of abortions that take place with these young women, you say that represent sophistication or liberation. You are happy with naked women sitting on billboards, naked women selling everything even chocolate bar, toothpaste... And you this does not represent sexual exploitation?

What’s with these men attempting to regulate the bodies of women? Westernization is not one thing - it’s not that thing you are focusing on.

Same old debate, always has to come up each year, if not more. We repeat it again and again.

Just let people BE! wewe vaa vile unataka na uwache kusumbua watu!
#33 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 3:16:59 PM

Some are happy to ape and copy the Western culture. And echo the words used by their media, ati subjugated. You are happy with sexual exploitation of your women. You are happy with the thousand prostitutes that walk the streets. You are happy with young naked little girls walking around in Koinange street, and say they represent liberation. You are happy with the thousands of abortions that take place with these young women, you say that represent sophistication or liberation. You are happy with naked women sitting on billboards, naked women selling everything even chocolate bar, toothpaste... And you this does not represent sexual exploitation?

What’s with these men attempting to regulate the bodies of women? Westernization is not one thing - it’s not that thing you are focusing on.

Same old debate, always has to come up each year, if not more. We repeat it again and again.

Somalis are found mainly in five countries viz: Somalia, Kenya, Somaliland, Djibouti, and Ethiopia. They have maintained their culture across borders so the secularism in Somalia during the Barre years must have been influenced by foreigners.
#34 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 8:43:14 PM

Somalis are found mainly in five countries viz: Somalia, Kenya, Somaliland, Djibouti, and Ethiopia. They have maintained their culture across borders so the secularism in Somalia during the Barre years must have been influenced by foreigners.

And those foreigners only live (lived) in Somalia in the Barre years? They don’t come to Kenya, Somaliland and Ethiopia?
#35 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2019 7:50:34 PM

alphdoti wrote:

Interesting issues.

@Hardwood, the garments are forbidden for Muslims to wear are those which are worn exclusively by the disbelievers and are not worn by anyone else. But those clothes which are worn by Christians, Jews, Muslims and disbelievers, like suits and neckties, there is nothing wrong with wearing them, because they are not exclusive to the disbelievers. What is forbidden is what is distinct and exclusive to them. Below is what is allowed in Islam.
safariant
#36 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2019 9:51:19 PM

alphdoti wrote:

Interesting issues.

@Hardwood, the garments are forbidden for Muslims to wear are those which are worn exclusively by the disbelievers and are not worn by anyone else. But those clothes which are worn by Christians, Jews, Muslims and disbelievers, like suits and neckties, there is nothing wrong with wearing them, because they are not exclusive to the disbelievers. What is forbidden is what is distinct and exclusive to them. Below is what is allowed in Islam.

When was the dress code issued?
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#37 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 4:46:21 AM

safariant wrote:
alphdoti wrote:

Interesting issues.

For us who believe in creation, dress code was issued from the time of Adam. “O children of Adam! Surely we have bestowed upon you a garment to cover your shame, as well as to be an adornment to you, and the garment of piety is the best” Quran, 7:26.

Abraham dressed so. Musa dressed so. Jesus dressed so. Mary mother of Jesus dressed so. Nuns dress so. Mother Theresa dressed so. Orthodox women dress so. Orthodox Jewish women dress so. Muslims dress so.

The Quran calls for women to "draw their head-coverings over their chests" (24:30-31)
For Men: The minimum amount to be covered on the body is between the navel and the knee.
#38 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 10:57:13 AM

safariant wrote:
alphdoti wrote:

Interesting issues.

For us who believe in creation, dress code was issued from the time of Adam. “O children of Adam! Surely we have bestowed upon you a garment to cover your shame, as well as to be an adornment to you, and the garment of piety is the best” Quran, 7:26.

Abraham dressed so. Musa dressed so. Jesus dressed so. Mary mother of Jesus dressed so. Nuns dress so. Mother Theresa dressed so. Orthodox women dress so. Orthodox Jewish women dress so. Muslims dress so.

The Quran calls for women to "draw their head-coverings over their chests" (24:30-31)
For Men: The minimum amount to be covered on the body is between the navel and the knee.

"we have bestowed upon you a garment to cover your shame" - whose shame? the shame of the person wearing or is "your shame" some centralized shame dictated by others?
#39 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2019 11:08:28 AM

Icelanders are among the happiest and healthiest people on Earth. They publish more books per capita than any other country, and they have more artists. They boast the most prevalent belief in evolution — and elves, too. Iceland is the world’s most peaceful nation (the cops don’t even carry guns), and the best place for kids. Oh, and they’ve got a lesbian head of state, the world’s first. Granted, the national dish is putrefied shark meat, but you can’t have everything.

Iceland is also the best place to have a uterus, according to the folks at the World Economic Forum. The Global Gender Gap Report ranks countries based on where women have the most equal access to education and healthcare, and where they can participate most fully in the country’s political and economic life.

According to the 2013 report, Icelandic women pretty much have it all. Their sisters in Finland, Norway, and Sweden have it pretty good, too: those countries came in second, third and fourth, respectively. Denmark is not far behind at number seven.
So how did a string of countries settled by Vikings become leaders in gender enlightenment? Bloodthirsty raiding parties don’t exactly sound like models of egalitarianism, and the early days weren’t pretty. Medieval Icelandic law prohibited women from bearing arms or even having short hair. Viking women could not be chiefs or judges, and they had to remain silent in assemblies. On the flip side, they could request a divorce and inherit property. But that’s not quite a blueprint for the world’s premier egalitarian society.

The change came with literacy, for one thing. Today almost everybody in Scandinavia can read, a legacy of the Reformation and early Christian missionaries, who were interested in teaching all citizens to read the Bible. Following a long period of turmoil, Nordic states also turned to literacy as a stabilizing force in the late 18th century. By 1842, Sweden had made education compulsory for both boys and girls.

Researchers have found that the more literate the society in general, the more egalitarian it is likely to be, and vice versa. But the literacy rate is very high in the U.S., too, so there must be something else going on in Scandinavia. Turns out that a whole smorgasbord of ingredients makes gender equality a high priority in Nordic countries.

To understand why, let’s take a look at religion. The Scandinavian Lutherans, who turned away from the excesses of the medieval Catholic Church, were concerned about equality — especially the disparity between rich and poor. They thought that individuals had some inherent rights that could not just be bestowed by the powerful, and this may have opened them to the idea of rights for women. Lutheran state churches in Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway and Iceland have had female priests since the middle of the 20th century, and today, the Swedish Lutheran Church even has a female archbishop.

Or maybe it’s just that there’s not much religion at all. Scandinavians aren’t big churchgoers. They tend to look at morality from a secular point of view, where there’s not so much obsessive focus on sexual issues and less interest in controlling women’s behavior and activities. Scandinavia’s secularism decoupled sex from sin, and this worked out well for females. They came to be seen as having the right to sexual experience just like men, and reproductive freedom, too. Girls and boys learn about contraception in school (and even the pleasure of orgasms), and most cities have youth clinics where contraceptives are readily available. Women may have an abortion for any reason up to the eighteenth week (they can seek permission from the National Board of Health and Welfare after that), and the issue is not politically controversial.