wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Close Shave!!!
And1589
#1 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2009 8:10:00 PM

Hi guyz,
I used to think Sunday was a polite day to travel but yesterday i was proven wrong. Coming from Kisii in my Toyota just after Mau Summit,i saw a Prado that had rolled a few moments before,luckily the occupants survived with injuries and were getting first aid. Just on the stretch after Salgaa area on the new tarmac and on a hill,i encountered another Prado overtaking at high speed with absolutely no space to sneak into its side,the guy flashed his lights on me and i had to do a mad swing from the road and onto the shoulder of the road,cursing and screeching brakes!! the dude didnt stop. Hardly had my tires been back onto the tarmac than a mololine matatu did the same manouver and i couldnt believe it that i was forced off the road once again and violently at that,and to imagine it was broad daylight about 4pm.These incidents can raise ones blood pressure man! after naivasha a motorcyclist was hit by a hit-and-run car but at least he survived with some serious injuries.

I can tell you SKerians i was shaking all the way to Nairobi coz in addition my brake pads just wore off and i was braking with a lot of metal grinding sounds,i had to do an agonizing 50km/h all the way from limuru.

Please share your experiences to sensitize these road issues.Thanks

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
#2 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2009 10:23:00 PM

The Lord was calling 'And1589!!,Andy!!,Andy!!....................then He was interupted by some other business. Thank God you survive for now. The good thing is after being called like this and failing to show up your file is usually put under the pile. So you have some more time bro/sis. Put your life in order so that next time He calls,for He surely will at His own appointed time,you will be ready.

Weusi wa nywele za mshtakiwa zaonyesha ujinga alio nao
And1589
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 6:23:00 AM

@kusadikika,
I am alive,na mimi ni Member!

Chaka
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 6:38:00 AM

@Andy,

Buy a lorry!
Mr.Tea
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Hey Andy,you might want to consider your own driving...they say it takes two to tango...

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
And1589
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 7:22:00 AM

@Mr.Tea,

Next time you are driving please do me a favour. if a vehicle is overtaking on the opposite side and flashes lights on you to give way,please flash back and wait to see what happens.sawa.

In the meantime let me continue with my offroad defensive driving coz am not gonna kill myself being run over with big machines in my small one.sijatosheka na rationing ya stima na maji bana!

Spend.thrift
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 9:00:00 AM

@Andy,I hope you're not a luhya because then your real name is Aunty pronounced as andy.

In another thread I told of how I faced a similar frightening moment on the NKU NBI stretch. Well the Landcuiser was first in a fleet of nine. He flashed and instead of slowing down,I stayed put and flashed back. The guy was coming at very high speed and having no chance to fall back,he veered off the road,almost rolling the 'new' juggernaut. But I kept thinking afterwards that a head-on crash between the LandCruiser and my lancer would have been catastrophic at the very least.

Maybe this is the best way to deal with these intimidating drivers. But if it's an Actross,Eldoret Express ama kama imebeba nguruwe kubwa (yani kama inapeperusha flag),usijaribu.

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
Kamaa
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 9:29:00 AM

@ spend.thrift

na ukijaribu with the nguruwe kubwa,what will happen?

i dont want to keep guessing... tell me...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
jaribu
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 10:01:00 AM

It's for the small mercies like that we should be grateful to the one most high. There are many mad drivers on the road and according to transport minister,50 per cent of the drivers on our roads are unqualified! Did you know you can bribe and get a DL in just one day! Don't forget lots of drunk drivers on the road especially at weekend nights. Kiambu road has now been redone smoothly. Unfortunately,crazy drivers are speeding like F1 and sometimes I wish bumps could be erected! Unfortunately unlike before when it had potholes,it's now claiming innocent lives daily.

Early this year,my car rolled along Banana Road near Ruaka shopping centre in broad-daylight. I was speeding while trying to change my CD player but when I looked back on the road,there was a huge gaping hole in an otherwise fine road. I swung and braked trying to avoid the hole but my car veered off the road and rolled into a nearby farm before resting back on it's tyres! I'm sure I could have killed someone if it was on a busy day but thanks God the road was empty and there was no oncoming traffic. Crowds gathered,I got out,was shaken to the core and traumatised and still the car could start and drive!

As I said,thanks for the small mercies!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 10:23:00 AM

@jaribu. Moral of your story - buy a 10 CD changer,the one that goes in the boot.
Buster
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 11:16:00 AM

@ And1589

Next time when travelling to or from Kisii,use The Narok route. The road is wider and has less traffic than the Nakuru - Kericho one. The Guys constructing it are moving so fast that they have now reached the Sattelite base. Its pure pleasure driving on this road. You even hit 180 without realising.

Kamaa
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 11:26:00 AM

@ buster

180km/h oblivious of the dangers that awaits you!

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Buster
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 11:35:00 AM

Kamaa

Obviously when I see the meter at 180 i reduce speed. But what I meant is that you are at peace on most stretches of this road.
Spend.thrift
#14 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 1:12:00 PM

@Andy,

I can help but notice that in your post,you indicated that you KNOWINGLY drove from Naivasha to Nairobi (approx 90km) on worn out brake pads. You could have easily stopped in Naivasha to have them changed. This takes just 20 minutes. By doing 50kph on that stretch which generally allows for 110kph,you should have been charged with obstruction - if not driving an unroadworthy vehicle.

And it also appears that you are the kind that set out on long journeys without a mini-safety audit of your car. You don't mean to imply that just two incidences of hard braking 'finished' your brake pads. Do you? Unless of course you use Always in place of Ferodo or All Parts.

And also a poor journey planner-From Kisii to NBI,if you used the Narok route instead of the Kericho_NKRU,you cut your journey by at least 79km. May I put it to you that you also helped create an unnecessary demand for fossil fuel,which is hurting our planet and making the Arabs grow horns.

You are in my opinion part of the danger that lurks on our highways and your carbon footprint is greate than necessary.

And1589
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 1:58:00 PM

@Spend.thrift

True its not wise to drive with worn out drive pads but by the time i was around the area past Naivasha it was getting dark and i can swear that in no way can i stop at any point along the stretch to Nairobi,i would probably in more danger than just being hit from behind by a fast car,...never ever could i have stopped there bro,even with a burst tyre...rims mpaka Westlands!

About the Kisii route via Narok,don't jump to conclusions fast...where I come from I use the Kisii-Chemosit road to Kericho and if I have to use the Narok route,i have to back-track like 100kms to Kaplong then join the Narok route(not a wise move)

My Ka-toyota was in good shape when i set out for the journey,all tune ups were done in order. The brake pads could last me for sometimes. while am not saying they were new,they were not worn out when i left Nai,and i checked them along everything else with my mechanic( by the way i use only Lucas Brake pads),so this issue of saying they wore out after two hard-braking events ishindwe! by the end of a long journey you gotta have braked hundreds of times and so the wearing out is cumulative.

#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 3:29:00 PM

@andy i also want to second all those guys who have asked you to watch your driving style. Don't be defensive but i think sometimes you can drive in manner that irritates other motorists. Until they just want to overtake you or past you.

AKS
Spend.thrift
#17 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 3:36:00 PM

@ Andy. I get your point.

But then. Kisii was split up into so many districts so that I believe you do not mean you were driving from Kisii per se but from another distrcit where inhabitants predominantly speak the kisii language. Otherwise from the Kibaki Kisii Central,Sotik _Narok is still the better option. I could be wrong

wangu.n
#18 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 4:50:00 PM

pole sana.i know how it feels to be in a near accident situation. Thank God for keeeping you safe all the way back.

travelling with unreliable brakes wasnt too wise.. u must value your life,so act likeit.

You have a right to your opinion.
Allow me mine!
And1589
#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 4:58:00 PM

@Alphdoti
I think we are not on the same page. My driving style is a matter here nor there.N-way for guyz driving behind me i agree they might be judgemental on whether or not i am mis-inconveniencing them,but the main topic of this thread was about guyz who are going in the opposite direction and overtaking without considering the opposing traffic's separation safety.i hope u don't own a Prado and was on that road on Sunday ;)

@wangu.n
Thanks,next time i'll be more prepared any breakdowns.

luttz
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:38:00 PM

@ And

From your post,either you are a new driver or its your first car,however thank God that you survived this one. For your information,for any accident that takes place on the road,many near misses 'like your incident' would have taken place. We all learn from mistakes and or such incidents. If you had good brakes when you left Nairobi,there is no way they will wear by the time you were on your way back,even re-bonded pads survive for long. You need to get answers from your mechanic unless you are telling you had driven for over 2000 kilometres. On top of that,your rims can never sustain you for 90kms from Naovasha to Westlands unless your tyres have been fitted with run flat inserts. Even inserts can only take you for at most 50km at a speed of 30 to 60km per hr. Next time you get into such a situation,find the next available accomodation and sleep. You are better being robbed than drive a vehicle without brakes on a major road.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."