wazua Tue, Apr 23, 2024

10 Pages«<34567>»
Safaricom FY 2018/19
#81 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 3:47:08 PM

FUNKY wrote:
https://www.nation.co.ke/business/Safaricom-extends-Bob-Collymore-contract/996-5128166-tr71bv/index.html

GOK should insist on a competent CEO not a Kenyan CEO.
#82 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 3:49:16 PM

FUNKY wrote:
https://www.nation.co.ke/business/Safaricom-extends-Bob-Collymore-contract/996-5128166-tr71bv/index.html

They are not interested in competence, performance or such boring stuff. They are interested in control and the goodies that come with it.
#83 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:01:57 PM

FUNKY wrote:

They are not interested in competence, performance or such boring stuff. They are interested in control and the goodies that come with it.

A Kenyan can run Safaricom, S/he just needs to be a person of integrity. Our very own iCT minister run google operations in Subsahara Africa. Look at EABL after foreigners took over management, sometimes it takes understanding of our peculiar culture and habits to thrive.
Ericsson
#84 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:17:23 PM

FUNKY wrote:

A Kenyan can run Safaricom, S/he just needs to be a person of integrity. Our very own iCT minister run google operations in Subsahara Africa. Look at EABL after foreigners took over management, sometimes it takes understanding of our peculiar culture and habits to thrive.

The regime was different,one was interested in uplifting the economy,the other is bringing it down.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#85 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:23:51 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

The regime was different,one was interested in uplifting the economy,the other is bringing it down.

Regime in EABL? How come its not in Safaricom?
iris
#86 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:24:31 PM

FUNKY wrote:

It is not a matter of whether they are able to or not -- of course Kenyans are able to. The problem is the tribalism, cronyism, nepotism, corruption, etc. And running Google is very different from running Safaricom: a politician has almost no sway on what a Google Head does, with most policy stuff handed down. I have seen you quote EABL once or twice in this respect and in truth I do not know how it has fared, but probably the fact that I don't know means it has not done as badly as KQ did under Naikuni
Ericsson
#87 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:24:43 PM

watesh wrote:
rwitre wrote:
GoK: We want a Kenyan CEO.

Board: Bob, you won't retire.

Board: 1 GoK: 0

I hope he goes for another extra year to 2021. If this govt picks a CEO, there will be massive theft in Safaricom

Bob Collymore to remain as Safaricom boss for the next 12-15 months to compensate time spent while he was away on sick leave
#88 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:30:57 PM

Ericsson wrote:
watesh wrote:
rwitre wrote:

I hope he goes for another extra year to 2021. If this govt picks a CEO, there will be massive theft in Safaricom

Bob Collymore to remain as Safaricom boss for the next 12-15 months to compensate time spent while he was away on sick leave

Delaying tactics.
Ericsson
#89 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:31:44 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Kibaki/Narc/Grand coalition regime and Jubilee Regime
#90 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:34:25 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

How has that affected EABL?
Ericsson
#91 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:34:45 PM

Mastermind wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
watesh wrote:
rwitre wrote:

Delaying tactics.

“I’m here until the year 2020,” Collymore told reporters on the sidelines of a meeting. He was due to step down in August.

“I kind of owed the company... and the board and I agreed we will stretch that for a year.”
Ericsson
#92 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:36:21 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

In the previous regime local CEOs were given leeway to steer round companies and make them profitable and economy was booming.
In the current regime it's the opposite
#93 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 4:45:57 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

In the previous regime local CEOs were given leeway to steer round companies and make them profitable and economy was booming.

EABL has foreign Mgt and they cant hack it. So your theory is just an assumption
Ericsson
#94 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 5:17:01 PM

Ericsson wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

EABL has foreign Mgt and they cant hack it. So your theory is just an assumption

Profit before Tax may clock ksh.100bn++ by the time Bob Is exiting.
HY to be announced in November will give the guidance.
#95 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 5:29:07 PM

FUNKY wrote:

This is a terrible comparison. You totally miss the point!!!

The problem is the GOK + Safaricom (or any company actually) combination. And the Jubilee government at that!!

Kenyans can run stuff!!! We are mostly Kenyans here aren't we?? We run stuff our own way. Next you will tell us Equity is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Centum is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Chandaria...

Shida ni Serikali mzee. And the Kenyan who will be selected by individuals with other agendas other than the performance and profitability of the company.

Are we tugeza!!!???
Ericsson
#96 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 5:32:06 PM

FUNKY wrote:

The problem is the GOK + Safaricom (or any company actually) combination. And the Jubilee government at that!!

Kenyans can run stuff!!! We are mostly Kenyans here aren't we?? We run stuff our own way. Next you will tell us Equity is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Centum is run by a Kenyan, Sijui Chandaria...

Shida ni Serikali mzee. And the Kenyan who will be selected by individuals with other agendas other than the performance and profitability of the company.

Are we tugeza!!!???

Yes we are MaichBlack.Thanks for the way you have explained so that the likes of murchr can understand.
#97 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 5:50:30 PM

FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Safaricom is mainly run by Kenyans. The CEO was confined in a hospital for a year but the company didnt stop.

All those companies collapsing everyday are very privately run, ARM, being an example.

At the end of the day, the CEO answers to Vodacom not GOK, if not a Kenyan then it will be a South African, and if that's the case it will be another CFC
#98 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 6:10:33 PM

FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

Safaricom is mainly run by Kenyans. The CEO was confined in a hospital for a year but the company didnt stop.

All those companies collapsing everyday are very privately run, ARM, being an example.

At the end of the day, the CEO answers to Vodacom not GOK, if not a Kenyan then it will be a South African, and if that's the case it will be another CFC

GOK is playing a very dangerous game (for the company, shareholders, the industry etc.)

Their reasoning is that they are joint majority shareholders with Vodafone having 5% shareholding and GOK and Vodacom South Africa holding 35% each.

Don't be so sure of who GOK wants the CEO to be answering to!!! Serikali ni kuionea mbali!!! Wewe shinda hapo tu!!
#99 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 6:29:14 PM

FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

GOK is playing a very dangerous game (for the company, shareholders, the industry etc.)

Their reasoning is that they are joint majority shareholders with Vodacom having 5% shareholding and GOK and Vodacom South Africa holding 35% each.

Don't be so sure of who GOK wants the CEO to be answering to!!! Serikali ni kuionea mbali!!! Wewe shinda hapo tu!!

Correction'

Vodafone UK - 5%

If not a Kenyan then South African. When they bought the company, an internal email was circulated telling employees that this was good news for them as it brought about opportunities
#100 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 8:56:29 PM

FUNKY wrote:

Are we tugeza!!!???

1) ARM wasn't a drag on the taxpayer. The losses were borne by "private" guys.
2) NBK, KPLC, KQ, etc. The list is long. A competent CEO but one who owes his appointment to GoK is vulnerable.
3) KLM shares > GoK shares in KQ with Naikuni (ex-GoK) as CEO. Even then we saw what happened at KQ. Over $1bn lost in less than 7 years.