wazua Wed, Apr 24, 2024

10 Pages<1234>»
Safaricom FY 2018/19
Spikes
#21 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 11:39:23 AM

Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

However ,I'm more concerned with the continuous decline in revenue growth to 7% ( 2018- 10% ,2017- 18%) .

My guess is the share will hit 30 max and decline to mid-20's in the very short-term

Decline of revenue YoY is a red flag...You must keep vigil when things starts worsening you jump out of this ship .
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Ericsson
#22 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 11:45:11 AM

Now to look at M-PESA in a little more detail. The number of chargeable transactions per customer per month has increased to 12.2. This has grown steadily at a CAGR of 18% from 7.4 transactions a month just three years ago.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#23 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 11:53:15 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Kenyans have borrowed Sh45 billion through Fuliza since it was launched in January.

Crazy stuff, this one will be a cash-cow the way it is design. Those opposed to mobile loans what say you smile smile smile
Ericsson
#24 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 12:02:50 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Kenyans have borrowed Sh45 billion through Fuliza since it was launched in January.

Crazy stuff, this one will be a cash-cow the way it is design. Those opposed to mobile loans what say you smile smile smile

Safaricom KES 240 billion revenue mix
Voice 36.6%
M-PESA 31.2%
Mobile Data 16.1%
Fixed data 3.4%
Messaging 7.3%
Others 5.4%
nairobby
#25 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 12:03:59 PM

Spikes wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

However ,I'm more concerned with the continuous decline in revenue growth to 7% ( 2018- 10% ,2017- 18%) .

My guess is the share will hit 30 max and decline to mid-20's in the very short-term

Decline of revenue YoY is a red flag...You must keep vigil when things starts worsening you jump out of this ship .

Decline in revenue growth**
Spikes
#26 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 12:30:48 PM

nairobby wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

YES! That is it.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#27 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 12:35:25 PM

Spikes wrote:
nairobby wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

Decline of revenue growth YoY is a red flag...You must keep vigil when things starts worsening you jump out of this ship .

YES! That is it.

smile Anyway yote ni sawa. But i think there will be growth in data and mpesa over the next 3 years due to innovation and new products. Also Equitel is now inside so reduced competition. Telkom/airtel ni wanyonge hawana uwezo hawana nguvu kabsaa!!!
young
#28 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 1:27:07 PM

xtina wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

Great stuff Applause Applause though I do not understand why supply is 8x demand. I thought it would go to 30+ but now I see it has lost 0.55, from 29.55 to 29.00. Oh well, if it goes down, time to load more.

There is something peculiar about Safaricom counter over the years.

The peak stock price is factored in before release of FY results.

So for those speculating the price of 29 to 30 Bob seems like the peak for now.

Recall at this moment more people are selling than buying including foreign investors who are market makers.
Anyone that sold or is selling now prior to FY result should be contented as they might have likely bought at sub 25 Bob a few months back.

For long termers like us am looking forward to buying at sub 26 in some months ahead .

Safaricom as a counter fundamentally is not strong . Her sustained growth in PBT and net income consistently over the years is her strongest point .

That is why yours truly is still camping with her all these years since 2008 and have been buying in tranches thereafter .

Link about foreign investors(speculators) exiting Safaricom prior to bumper result announcement below

https://www.businessdail...098098-lh2cir/index.html
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#29 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 1:47:20 PM

young wrote:
xtina wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

Great stuff Applause Applause though I do not understand why supply is 8x demand. I thought it would go to 30+ but now I see it has lost 0.55, from 29.55 to 29.00. Oh well, if it goes down, time to load more.

Recall at this moment more people are selling than buying including foreign investors who are market makers.
Anyone that sold or is selling now prior to FY result should be contented as they might have likely bought at sub 25 Bob a few months back.

For long termers like us am looking forward to buy at sub 26 in some months ahead .

Safaricom as a counter fundamentally is not strong . Her sustained growth in PBT and net income consistently over the years is her strongest point .

That is why yours truly is still camping with her all these years since 2008 and have been buying in tranches thereafter .

Link about foreign investors(speculators) exiting Safaricom prior to bumper result announcement below

https://www.businessdail...98098-lh2cir/index.html

100% true

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#30 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 2:45:34 PM

Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

Decline in revenue growth? Or is it a matter of the law of large numbers? In absolute terms is there a decline?
#31 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 2:50:22 PM

young wrote:
xtina wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

For long termers like us am looking forward to buying at sub 26 in some months ahead .

Buy the rumor, sell the news.
Ericsson
#32 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 4:53:40 PM

rwitre wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Profit after tax at ksh.63.4bn
Earnings per share at ksh.1.58
Dividend per share at ksh.1.25
Special dividend of ksh.0.62 per share

Good stuff Applause Applause Applause

Profit before tax ksh.91.86bn
#33 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 5:27:47 PM

Ericsson wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Profit after tax at ksh.63.4bn
Earnings per share at ksh.1.58
Dividend per share at ksh.1.25
Special dividend of ksh.0.62 per share

Good stuff Applause Applause Applause

Profit before tax ksh.91.86bn

Ulijaribu sana bro Applause Applause Applause

Ericsson wrote:
guru267 wrote:
young wrote:
Safaricom has printed 29.00 Bob today .

Hope there will be good news in tomorrows FY results

Buy the rumor sell the news. I hope people don't get caught out in this frequent trap.

Profit before Tax at ksh.94bn

Dividend ksh.1.25 per share

#34 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 5:34:15 PM

That's close to $1bn
#35 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 6:23:33 PM

Safaricom innovates, invests, etc and makes 91bn (PBT). GoK gets 35% of this.
Then GoK gives away 24bn to loss-making KQ.
rwitre
#36 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 6:32:50 PM

young wrote:
xtina wrote:
Pirate wrote:
Profitability is solid.

Buy the rumor, sell the news.

This is a retirement stock. Cash rich, solid management, market dominance, innovative products.

Park capital here, you're safe and guaranteed returns for the foreseeable future (unless GoK plants some visionless puppet as CEO after Collymore exits).

Capital gains will come slowly. You can buy SCOM and sleep peacefully since it has been proven to perform even when the "dynamic duo" are tanking the rest of the economy. 40 billion shares with millions traded every session means there is enough liquidity to get in and get out any day.

Pension schemes, unit trusts, sovereign wealth funds- they like such.

young
#37 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 7:43:44 PM

That's close to $1bn

UPDATE
$1bn = ksh 999.999bn +1

Not
Ksh 99.99bn +1
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#38 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 8:00:51 PM

young wrote:
That's close to $1bn

UPDATE
$1bn = ksh 999.999bn +1

Not
Ksh 99.99bn +1

1usd = 100 ksh

Snap this is a shilling not Naira
young
#39 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 8:25:02 PM

That's close to $1bn

Yes you are right, as I have cross checked again .
#40 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2019 8:34:28 PM

young wrote:
That's close to $1bn

UPDATE
$1bn = ksh 999.999bn +1

Not
Ksh 99.99bn +1

1usd = 100 ksh

Snap this is a shilling not Naira