wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Tithing:Scamming in the name of God and the 13 Tribes of Israel
iyunadeblog
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 1:35:51 PM

What’s tithing?
Who was the first person to tithe in the bible?
The 13 Tribes of Israel.
When and why did tithing become a law in the Old Testament?
Is it necessary for Christians under Grace to tithe?
WHAT’S TITHING?
Tithing = Tenth!
And all the tithe of the land, whether of the seed of the land or of the fruit of the tree, is the LORD’S: it is holy unto the LORD. ( Leviticus 27:30 ).

Tithe or Tenth is the proportion of a harvest dedicated for Religious purposes in the early days of Judaism.
Adams’ family made sacrifices to the Lord, but they never offered a tenth of their harvest unto the Lord.

WHO WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO TITHE IN THE BIBLE?
The very first person to tithe according to the records of the Bible is Abraham! Abraham offered a tenth of the spoils of war to Melchizedek, not under any compulsion by the law, nor because he wanted to be rich by paying tithes. Remember, he tithed from the spoils of war and not from his properties.
Genesis 14: 20:

Click here to read more about this topic: Tithing
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 1:55:53 PM

iyunadeblog wrote:

What’s tithing?
Who was the first person to tithe in the bible?
The 13 Tribes of Israel.
When and why did tithing become a law in the Old Testament?
Is it necessary for Christians under Grace to tithe?
WHAT’S TITHING?
Tithing = Tenth!
And all the tithe of the land, whether of the seed of the land or of the fruit of the tree, is the LORD’S: it is holy unto the LORD. ( Leviticus 27:30 ).

Tithe or Tenth is the proportion of a harvest dedicated for Religious purposes in the early days of Judaism.
Adams’ family made sacrifices to the Lord, but they never offered a tenth of their harvest unto the Lord.

WHO WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO TITHE IN THE BIBLE?
The very first person to tithe according to the records of the Bible is Abraham! Abraham offered a tenth of the spoils of war to Melchizedek, not under any compulsion by the law, nor because he wanted to be rich by paying tithes. Remember, he tithed from the spoils of war and not from his properties.
Genesis 14: 20:

Click here to read more about this topic: Tithing

If those tithing have no problem, be and let them be.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 3:33:46 PM

Tithing appears to be a law that must be followed if a human is to keep contact and harmony with God.

The first person to tithe is likely to have been Adam. If the records show Abraham and Melchizedek participating in such an exchange then it must have been an institution. Adam is of the order of Melchizedek, hence it must be that Adam tithed.

That the institution survives is good news. Even in the case of abuse of office by stewards of God's Kingdom.
Drobos fly
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 5:08:01 PM

Many reason that tithing is an old testament thing and we shouldn't be doing it, well here's what Jesus had to say about it......

Luke 11:42

“But woe to you Pharisees! For you tithe mint and rue and all manner of herbs, and pass by justice and the love of God. These you ought to have done, without leaving the others undone."

It follows that it should never be used by preachers to extort anything from anyone. Many who practice so, will be answerable and dearly so because of the hypocrisy of using God's word to enrich themselves. Tithing is an act of faith, an act that demonstrates you acknowledge who is your provider, without such a mentality, tithing is more or less in vain.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 5:25:26 PM

Tithing is not the same as offering sacrifice, is it?

I think tithing was borrowed from ancient Babylonian parables
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 6:36:43 PM

A sacrifice is for propitiation after the commission of a sin or transgression. A tithe is an act of remembering and affirming a socioeconomic relation between humans and God.

It is a consequence of knowledge of the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, whose history is ancient and probably goes into ancient times before Egypt or Sumer.

The Babylonians might have been a strong force in the time of compiling the Torah by virtue of keeping the tradition alive.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 6:56:28 PM

A sacrifice is for propitiation after the commission of a sin or transgression. A tithe is an act of remembering and affirming a socioeconomic relation between humans and God.

It is a consequence of knowledge of the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, whose history is ancient and probably goes into ancient times before Egypt or Sumer.

The Babylonians might have been a strong force in the time of compiling the Torah by virtue of keeping the tradition alive.

The babylonian parable talks about paying yourself 10% (save) and invest after a year.(For every 10 coins you get, take out for use but one...and your purse will be fattened.) Me thinks this parable was borrowed and included in the holy txt by pharisees, changing it to take that 10% to "God"
iyunadeblog
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 7:11:23 PM

The babylonian parable talks about paying yourself 10% (save) and invest after a year.(For every 10 coins you get, take out for use but one...and your purse will be fattened.) Me thinks this parable was borrowed and included in the holy txt by pharisees, changing it to take that 10% to "God"

back what you say with scriptures! The writer of the article quoted lots of scriptures to back up his write-up why tithing is a scam today. Read the blog post here: https://www.iyunadeblog.com/tithing/ and counteract him with scriptures
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 7:13:58 PM

The parable could also be understood that the Babylonians had ingrained an idea that can be demonstrated from the trees I've mentioned above. And the Israelites emphasized an aspect of it that contrasted with the Babylonians. But the philosophy had the same roots.
iyunadeblog
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 11:27:26 PM

Tithing was right for the Hebrews because it was law, but for Christians, it's wrong! Giving to the poor and less privileged is the right thing to do today.
hamburglar
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 6:40:16 AM

Religious low IQ idiots who can’t even afford to put food on their tables are the first ones to give these conmen pastors tithe money to buy homes in Runda and gas guzzling SUVs. There is some stupidity in this world that can never really be explained. A religious idiot with torn shoes and a patched up shirt going to church every Sunday on an empty stomach to give money to some conman entertainer that will go have a five course meal with his family at an expensive fancy restaurant after the service. While the religious idiot goes home nickel and diming coins to buy food for his starving family. How can people be so stupid?

I know a pastor who always has lunch with like 12 of his extended family members every Sunday after service at a very very exclusive restaurant. Meanwhile, his proverbial sheep look worse than real sheep. Poverty stricken lot who worship this conman. Keep tithing to these pastors all you want, that’s your problem religious people, after all, stupid is as stupid does.
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 9:38:15 AM

I have 2 opinions on this...
Opinion 1: Tithing is in the bible and a practice widely practiced by Christians in poor countries/societies. To me it's in the same bracket as betting So Kama hutoi... wacha panganga...
I remember a certain song by Jemimah Thiongo... UMBEA!! she asks...
...♫Wewe watoa ngapi kati ya sadaka?...♪ama zako zaliwa zingali mfukoni♫...Umbea Umbea♪

Opinion 2: A fool and his money are soon parted! Tithing will not make you rich... (unless you receive them), you may make more money from betting on whatever platform than tithing. Having said that... mimi sitoi! so wacha nikule popcorn as people discuss how the wisdom of the ancients is applicable today

#13 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 10:20:00 AM

Opinion 1: Tithing is in the bible and a practice widely practiced by Christians in poor countries/societies. To me it's in the same bracket as betting So Kama hutoi... wacha panganga...
...♫Wewe watoa ngapi kati ya sadaka?...♪ama zako zaliwa zingali mfukoni♫...Umbea Umbea♪

Opinion 2: A fool and his money are soon parted! Tithing will not make you rich... (unless you receive them), you may make more money from betting on whatever platform than tithing. Having said that... mimi sitoi! so wacha nikule popcorn as people discuss how the wisdom of the ancients is applicable today

I will disagree on the matter of poor countries . Most of the big churches and church institutions including faith based NGOs are financed by tithes from the West.
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 10:46:23 AM

I will disagree on the matter of poor countries . Most of the big churches and church institutions including faith based NGOs are financed by tithes from the West.

that's why I added 'societies'. really rich people have never tithed Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly there are middleclass enclaves in the west that 'give' towards faith based organizations. of course there are exceptions to this but 'generally speaking'... rich/wealthy people don't give so that they become rich/wealthy - they give WHEN they are rich/wealthy...
Mtu Biz
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 10:51:45 AM

Everyone has a right to education via personal experience.

Sola Scriptura

#16 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 10:56:08 AM

I will never give anyone my money ati 10%

That one go tell the pastor if you wish. Tuone which fire you guys are waiting for me to go to.

Ati give a rich lazy bone shouting and screaming motivational speaker 10% in the name of going to heaven... That is bribing Jesus.

You can stay with that heaven...

However, I have every reason to help with what I can afford those that need real help. More than the 10% when the case arises..

#17 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 11:19:52 AM

Tithing is about recognizing God's provision to an individual. As such a human can never be wealthy in relation to God.

And the objective of humanity can never be amassing of wealth as far as relation to and with God is concerned.

To argue in terms of wealth and envy of people eating nyama choma is to fail to understand who God is and how He relates with humanity.
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 11:34:14 AM

Tithing is about recognizing God's provision to an individual. As such a human can never be wealthy in relation to God.

And the objective of humanity can never be amassing of wealth as far as relation to and with God is concerned.

To argue in terms of wealth and envy of people eating nyama choma is to fail to understand who God is and how He relates with humanity.

hamburglar
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 1:43:38 PM

Shouldn’t these pastors be arrested for swindling gullible people? I honestly think what they do is a crime.
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 3:33:17 PM

hamburglar wrote:
Shouldn’t these pastors be arrested for swindling gullible people? I honestly think what they do is a crime.

I think it should be the tithers to be arrested and not pastors