wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

11 Pages«<23456>»
Why investing in the NSE is fool's gold and a waste
Superprime1
#61 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 8:25:17 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Superprime1 wrote:
Kwanza huko "dustbowl of the dustbowl", wacha tu! Sad I bought some 'dirt-cheap' plots in the dustbowl of the dustbowl 2010/11, and my oh my, how I wish I went to the casino! While I have title deeds, man that place isn't developing (not perhaps until after 2022!) and one can't thus unlock the value any time soon, unless @Mugundaman is willing to buy me out! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wacha lies! We can spot them from 100 miles away. Where in dustbowl and for how much. (I doubt he will respond Laughing out loudly ) that is how you know some ferras on Wazoo are 100% bandia!

Precise location: 11km from Kiteng'ela (7km on Namanga Road from Equity Bank, in-road 4km). Titles read something like Kaputiei North... Looking back, I should have added to the few Safcom shares I had acquired during IPO, I'd be doing more than well with free money now (divs, capital gains and liquidity to boot). Today I advise young men to park their cash on the NSE as they make sober decisions on which route to follow in making wealth.
muandiwambeu
#62 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 8:28:00 PM

Superprime1 wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:
The 5% growth rate is due to Government spending on vanity projects like SGR...

Unless you were a middle men or you had land near SGR I don't see how you benefited because the China man supplied everything...

Did you even soma the KNBS economic survey?
Where is the evidence of the above?
SGR is just a tiny fraction of the entire economy baba
SGR construction just started juzi juzi. Kenya has been growing at a red hawtt 5% since 2002! Where was SGR then?

The 5% GDP growth is comprised of:
1. Remnants of SGR construction
2. Civil servants and state officers' salaries
3. Trickles of looting
4. Creative figures from KNBS, being the rubberstamp for Uhu'looto' stats

With a 8% 2017 inflation rate, who the heck felt a 5% GDP growth? You can shout your answer from the dustbowl. (20marks)

Uuui-loot-allSad Sad Sad Sad
Guaranas are guaraguararing up the counties and doing good too keep up the great growth.Laughing out loudly
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
Superprime1
#63 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 8:35:43 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Superprime1 wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:
The 5% growth rate is due to Government spending on vanity projects like SGR...

Unless you were a middle men or you had land near SGR I don't see how you benefited because the China man supplied everything...

Did you even soma the KNBS economic survey?
Where is the evidence of the above?
SGR is just a tiny fraction of the entire economy baba
SGR construction just started juzi juzi. Kenya has been growing at a red hawtt 5% since 2002! Where was SGR then?

The 5% GDP growth is comprised of:
1. Remnants of SGR construction
2. Civil servants and state officers' salaries
3. Trickles of looting
4. Creative figures from KNBS, being the rubberstamp for Uhu'looto' stats

With a 8% 2017 inflation rate, who the heck felt a 5% GDP growth? You can shout your answer from the dustbowl. (20marks)

Uuui-loot-allSad Sad Sad Sad
Guaranas are guaraguararing up the counties and doing good too keep up the great growth.Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly "Uuui-loot-all" it is!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
MugundaMan
#64 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 8:52:59 PM

Superprime1 wrote:

Precise location: 11km from Kiteng'ela (7km on Namanga Road from Equity Bank, in-road 4km). Titles read something like Kaputiei North... Looking back, I should have added to the few Safcom shares I had acquired during IPO, I'd be doing more than well with free money now (divs, capital gains and liquidity to boot). Today I advise young men to park their cash on the NSE as they make sober decisions on which route to follow in making wealth.

Are you making stuff up as you go along?
1. Exact location in Kaputiei North? Kimalat? Olturoto? Nearest landmark or centre? KAG exit? Where?
2. Size and amount you paid?

Tuone kama uta-answer or give us more vague lies Laughing out loudly

mulla
#65 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 11:29:06 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
Superprime1 wrote:

Are you making stuff up as you go along?
1. Exact location in Kaputiei North? Kimalat? Olturoto? Nearest landmark or centre? KAG exit? Where?
2. Size and amount you paid?

Tuone kama uta-answer or give us more vague lies Laughing out loudly

@mugundaman....what are your thoughts on Olturoto? Niko na kashamba about 3km after the town, which i am thinking of disposing.
MugundaMan
#66 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 2:32:08 PM

mulla wrote:

@mugundaman....what are your thoughts on Olturoto? Niko na kashamba about 3km after the town, which i am thinking of disposing.

Hang on to it like an armed robber to gold! Nairobi has nowhere else to expand except in our direction, baba. And remember dust bowl is ground zero of big four agenda Dancing
#67 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 2:50:28 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
mulla wrote:

Hang on to it like an armed robber to gold! Nairobi has nowhere else to expand except in our direction, baba. And remember dust bowl is ground zero of big four agenda Dancing

You will wait for Nairobi to come to you until you find that you are gone!!!! Your live once yawa!!!
S.Mutaga III
#68 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 3:08:38 PM

Just because you tried investing and failed doesn't mean that it is a fool's errand. This post is written from your personal perspective and shouldn't be generalized. You are probably a bad investor but an outstanding manager/entrepreneur which explains why you failed in stocks but succeeded in business. Not everyone is like you and that is why there are many ways of investing so that everyone can find whatever works best for him or her. A successful NSE investor might make a post claiming that entrepreneurship is a fool's errand, or property investing is a fool's errand. You see, it boils down to what you know best and where you find your success. Some people claim buying a matatu is a fool's errand, but others have made a kill from the same business. I can't code, does it make computer programming a bad career/fool's errand??
Bottomline: Just because you did not succeed in something doesn't warrant you calling it a fool's errand. Others have made it in the same.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
MugundaMan
#69 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 4:09:49 PM

You will wait for Nairobi to come to you until you find that you are gone!!!! Your live once yawa!!!

Double A,
Did you forget that 1/4 of Nairobi already sleeps in dust bowl (rongai, Kitengela, Ngong, Kiserian, kisaju and surroundings) at night? Laughing out loudly. Nairobi has already reached mighty dust bowl kitaaaaambo!
MugundaMan
#70 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 4:20:30 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
Just because you tried investing and failed doesn't mean that it is a fool's errand. This post is written from your personal perspective and shouldn't be generalized. You are probably a bad investor but an outstanding manager/entrepreneur which explains why you failed in stocks but succeeded in business. Not everyone is like you and that is why there are many ways of investing so that everyone can find whatever works best for him or her. A successful NSE investor might make a post claiming that entrepreneurship is a fool's errand, or property investing is a fool's errand. You see, it boils down to what you know best and where you find your success. Some people claim buying a matatu is a fool's errand, but others have made a kill from the same business. I can't code, does it make computer programming a bad career/fool's errand??
Bottomline: Just because you did not succeed in something doesn't warrant you calling it a fool's errand. Others have made it in the same.

Well spoken. Same applies to dustbowling. But returns never lie. How much has even a well above average picker on the NSE made over the past decade? My neighbour Ngash age 75 has probably made more by buying and holding several tens of acres in dust bowl over the past ten years than half the investors in NSE combined over the same period. And he is illiterate!
S.Mutaga III
#71 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2018 6:30:34 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Well spoken. Same applies to dustbowling. But returns never lie. How much has even a well above average picker on the NSE made over the past decade? My neighbour Ngash age 75 has probably made more by buying and holding several tens of acres in dust bowl over the past ten years than half the investors in NSE combined over the same period. And he is illiterate!

Every hustle has its pros. Personally, I believe that stocks offer the highest return on investment if you know what you are doing, compared to other asset classes. The ease of entry and exit is amazing, and stocks are more passive than real estate. With a sizable diversified portfolio of stocks bought at high dividend yields (9%+), you can even match rental property yields if the dividend grows.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
MugundaMan
#72 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 10:57:49 AM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Every hustle has its pros. Personally, I believe that stocks offer the highest return on investment if you know what you are doing, compared to other asset classes. The ease of entry and exit is amazing, and stocks are more passive than real estate. With a sizable diversified portfolio of stocks bought at high dividend yields (9%+), you can even match rental property yields if the dividend grows.

If I hear this statement one more time I might have to get rib surgery Laughing out loudly
Where do people pull this platitude from (always without proof).

You are talking of a paltry 9%, or even 20% total return - something most stock pickers would salivate at -if you are lucky) as if it is a big deal Laughing out loudly

What ROI does a hawker on the street who buys a bale of ladies jeans trousers for 14k that contains 120 pieces that he sells for 400 bob a piece (all gone in a month or less) with little to no overhead earn?

Safcon lends for as little as a day at about 7.5% interest (disguised as a processing fee) how much ROI is that for them annualized? (excluding the fact that they compound the monies paid back through further lending over the course of the year, further turbo boosting their returns!)

Mugundaman bought a prime mbloti in dustbowl from a drunkard at an approximate price of 9m an acre a few months ago. The value as of sasa hivi is easily 14m an acre. How much ROI is that annualized?? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Jameni, even a kiosk owner who buys purus (is this term still used these days?) at 100 bob a packet and sells the batch individually for 200 bob gross makes more of a return than a 9% pittance!

"Stock markets offer the highest return on investment".. on what planet? smile

young
#73 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 12:50:35 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

If I hear this statement one more time I might have to get rib surgery Laughing out loudly

You are talking of a paltry 9%, or even 20% total return - something most stock pickers would salivate at -if you are lucky) as if it is a big deal Laughing out loudly

What ROI does a hawker on the street who buys a bale of ladies jeans trousers for 14k that contains 120 pieces that he sells for 400 bob a piece (all gone in a month or less) with little to no overhead earn?

Safcon lends for as little as a day at about 7.5% interest (disguised as a processing fee) how much ROI is that for them annualized? (excluding the fact that they compound the monies paid back through further lending over the course of the year, further turbo boosting their returns!)

Mugundaman bought a prime mbloti in dustbowl from a drunkard at an approximate price of 9m an acre a few months ago. The value as of sasa hivi is easily 14m an acre. How much ROI is that annualized?? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Jameni, even a kiosk owner who buys purus (is this term still used these days?) at 100 bob a packet and sells the batch individually for 200 bob gross makes more of a return than a 9% pittance!

@Mugundaman
Your yardstick is out of point.

Yes with 14k for 1 bail you can do that but with 28 bails at 376k, the story is different in terms of absolute returns and ability to sell all . Here more fixed cost is involved ....transportation, storage, shop space, or more overhead cost by constant harassment by other hawkers and city council of Nairobi.
Its not so easy.....Even KRA will come in.

MY THOUGHTS.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
S.Mutaga III
#74 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 1:42:49 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

As I said, you must be new here. Go through stocksmaster's threads from the past. You might learn a thing or two.

What is 20% return compounded for say 5 years? Also, seasoned investors make much more than 20% a year in stocks.

Seriously?? Are you trying to compare a hawker's ROI with that of an investor with millions?? If so, what ROI would that hawker get with 50 million to invest?? Also, why aren't you a hawker because obviously, his/her returns are better than what you get on your plots.

Have you considered the expenses Safcom pays? Taxes, salaries, etc. Have you considered the billions of shillings it has invested in that infrastructure and in security?? That 7.5% cannot be used to calculate ROI because it is a gross figure.

How many months ago?? Can we verify?? Have you tried selling that land or are you relying on random figures quoted by brokers in the streets. How easy is it to sell? I also bought a plot eons ago at 2 million in 2014. Guess what, the best I can get from it is 4 million right now. 100% return, but after how many years???

Dude. If you start comparing people trading tens or hundreds of thousands with those investing millions, you can as well sell your land and invest in kiosks or hawking. Lead by example. The comparison is nonsensical.

I understand your obsession with land. But you need to learn contextualization. When you start giving examples of hawkers and kiosk owners, and throwing figures like 7.5% without thinking whether they can be used to calculate ROI, you are really insulting people's intelligence here. After all, you should practice what you preach by selling your prime land and being a hawker because that is your line of reasoning.
MugundaMan
#75 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 2:20:26 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

As I said, you must be new here. Go through stocksmaster's threads from the past. You might learn a thing or two.

What is 20% return compounded for say 5 years? Also, seasoned investors make much more than 20% a year in stocks.

Seriously?? Are you trying to compare a hawker's ROI with that of an investor with millions?? If so, what ROI would that hawker get with 50 million to invest?? Also, why aren't you a hawker because obviously, his/her returns are better than what you get on your plots.

Have you considered the expenses Safcom pays? Taxes, salaries, etc. Have you considered the billions of shillings it has invested in that infrastructure and in security?? That 7.5% cannot be used to calculate ROI because it is a gross figure.

How many months ago?? Can we verify?? Have you tried selling that land or are you relying on random figures quoted by brokers in the streets. How easy is it to sell? I also bought a plot eons ago at 2 million in 2014. Guess what, the best I can get from it is 4 million right now. 100% return, but after how many years???

Dude. If you start comparing people trading tens or hundreds of thousands with those investing millions, you can as well sell your land and invest in kiosks or hawking. Lead by example. The comparison is nonsensical.

I understand your obsession with land. But you need to learn contextualization. When you start giving examples of hawkers and kiosk owners, and throwing figures like 7.5% without thinking whether they can be used to calculate ROI, you are really insulting people's intelligence here. After all, you should practice what you preach by selling your prime land and being a hawker because that is your line of reasoning.

*response loading*
MugundaMan
#76 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 6:13:08 PM

young wrote:

Yes with 14k for 1 bail you can do that but with 28 bails at 376k, the story is different in terms of absolute returns and ability to sell all . Here more fixed cost is involved ....transportation, storage, shop space, or more overhead cost by constant harassment by other hawkers and city council of Nairobi.

MY THOUGHTS.

young,
But who do you think sells to the mitumba sellers? Do you think his returns are a paltry 9% as well smile?
Seems you guys have very little contact with real businesses on the front lines and the types of returns they are making.
I wanted to respond to our broda above but realised it will be an exercise in futility because his mind is fixed on single digit returns over maaaany years as a slow and sure key to building capital and he is too wise to be convinced oderwise. I do not blame him though because 20 years ago I used to think like him.
Angalia huyu mama and think carefully.

5 acres of onions
Input "not very high" in her own words
Total cost of production not exceeding 100k per season
Mints 700k to 1m per acre from that investment over a mere 4.5 months
How much return is that?
Isitoshe we have not accounted for the cap gains on the value of land assuming she owns it.
hanging on to crumbling LKL (assuming it does not implode due to fraud) on the casino might take 30 years to give the types of returns this mama makes in one season Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
If some of you guys cannot see it then I better keep quiet because nottin I say can't help you-oo

#ExpandYourFinancialMinds
young
#77 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 9:53:04 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
young wrote:

MY THOUGHTS.

young,
But who do you think sells to the mitumba sellers? Do you think his returns are a paltry 9% as well smile?
Seems you guys have very little contact with real businesses on the front lines and the types of returns they are making.
I wanted to respond to our broda above but realised it will be an exercise in futility because his mind is fixed on single digit returns over maaaany years as a slow and sure key to building capital and he is too wise to be convinced oderwise. I do not blame him though because 20 years ago I used to think like him.

5 acres of onions
How much return is that?
Isitoshe we have not accounted for the cap gains on the value of land assuming she owns it.
hanging on to crumbling LKL (assuming it does not implode due to fraud) on the casino might take 30 years to give the types of returns this mama makes in one season Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
If some of you guys cannot see it then I better keep quiet because nottin I say can't help you-oo

Thanks anyway @Mugundaman but still I COMPLETELY disagree with you .

I feel there is no point arguing on this ANY FURTHER .

The onion lady nonetheless has labour cost , transportation , weeding/watering and cost of seedlings, adverse weather to contend, also thieves/security and pesticides costs with which she may be economical or ignorant to factor in. These will far surpass the 100k input to realize 700k and above.

My policy is a mix of stocks and real estate so am very comfortable thus far as a good source of passive income for a retiree like me.

I love your insightful knowledge and contributions on real estate. Please keep it up. They are inspirational, I do share some with my younger Kenyan friends to learn to THANK ME FIRST AND I WILL THANK YOU LATER FOR THEM IF THEY PULL THROUGH.

Thanks and happy new year......

Regards
Mzee @young

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
S.Mutaga III
#78 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 10:19:31 PM

young wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
young wrote:

MY THOUGHTS.

young,

5 acres of onions
How much return is that?

The onion lady nonetheless has labour cost , transportation , weeding/watering and cost of seedlings, adverse weather to contend, also thieves/security and pesticides costs with which she may be economical or ignorant to factor in. These will far surpass the 100k input to realize 700k and above.

My policy is a mix of stocks and real estate so am very comfortable thus far as a good source of passive income for a retiree like me.

I love your insightful knowledge and contributions on real estate. Please keep it up. They are ibspirational, I do share some with my younger Kenyan friends to learn to THANK ME FIRST AND I THANK YOU LATER FOR THEM.

Regards
Mzee @young

Arguing with this Mugundaman character is insulting your intelligence. He is fixated on 9% returns for stocks and I don't know where he got that figure from because one can even make 100% in a year. What he doesn't realize is that land isn't the only sound investment out there. Additionally, he has a habit of using gross returns figures while calculating ROI which is extremely misleading. In the example above (farming), he only quoted a gross figure. He didn't deduct any inputs and expenses because he doesn't know what those expenses were. He also ignored market risks. For farm produce, if your onions mature when everyone else's does, you get very low prices. That is a risk. Also, farming has other risks apart from market risks.

@Mugundaman, the stock market is a casino to those who don't know how to invest - people like you. If you don't know what you are doing, it is indeed a casino and I understand where you are coming from.

Personally, I believe that both land and stocks can be great investments. If you suck at investing in stocks, it doesn't warrant calling it a casino like the way Mugundaman does. Just admit you don't know how to play the market, and focus on real estate. Don't call it a casino because you failed in it Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
young
#79 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2019 10:47:21 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
young wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
young wrote:

MY THOUGHTS.

young,

5 acres of onions
How much return is that?

I love your insightful knowledge and contributions on real estate. Please keep it up. They are ibspirational, I do share some with my younger Kenyan friends to learn to THANK ME FIRST AND I THANK YOU LATER FOR THEM.

Regards
Mzee @young

Arguing with this Mugundaman character is insulting your intelligence. He is fixated on 9% returns for stocks and I don't know where he got that figure from because one can even make 100% in a year. What he doesn't realize is that land isn't the only sound investment out there. Additionally, he has a habit of using gross returns figures while calculating ROI which is extremely misleading. In the example above (farming), he only quoted a gross figure. He didn't deduct any inputs and expenses because he doesn't know what those expenses were. He also ignored market risks. For farm produce, if your onions mature when everyone else's does, you get very low prices. That is a risk. Also, farming has other risks apart from market risks.

@Mugundaman, the stock market is a casino to those who don't know how to invest - people like you. If you don't know what you are doing, it is indeed a casino and I understand where you are coming from.

Personally, I believe that both land and stocks can be great investments. If you suck at investing in stocks, it doesn't warrant calling it a casino like the way Mugundaman does. Just admit you don't know how to play the market, and focus on real estate. Don't call it a casino because you failed in it Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=37102
mv_ufanisi
#80 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2019 12:49:07 AM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

I didn't fail at NSE stock picking; I just found a way that works much better at achieving my financial goals.

Your current post above could have been written by a gambler on SportPesa to defend gambling.

My thesis is that investing in the NSE is like planting your seed on less fertile soil because as it is, the NSE is fundamentally flawed. There are other more fertile soils out there for the person who is keen to outperform in the long term.

I hope that the kind of person who is keen to outperform will check out these other options!