wazua Sat, Apr 27, 2024

11 Pages<12345>»
Why investing in the NSE is fool's gold and a waste
young
#41 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 12:13:23 AM

Folks am not really bothered about the downward trend rather I go for dividends that are incremental or constant on few counters with yoy profit growth .

Those ones will recover I due time .

KCB, STANCHART, SAFCOM, JUB are just a few.

Most likely JUB will retain ritual ie 1:10 bonus every other year. FY 2018 is another one.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
mv_ufanisi
#42 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 12:15:24 AM

the deal wrote:
I wonder what you people will be posting once the bull run returns... We are closer to the bottom than before!

The NSE is like any business... There are good and bad times unfortunately these are the bad times at the NSE... Stay strong...

What if things get worse at the NSE? Because there is no magic cure for the poor performance of the bourse. We have had a string of companies going bankrupt or getting deregistered from the NSE. The GEMS segment doesn't seem to attract any high quality businesses.

So it seems that the NSE might itself have a fundamental problem; there are likely less than 20 investable companies in the NSE whereas in the real world there are a lot of well performing businesses who are quietly making money and see no urgency or need to list at the NSE. If this pipeline problem is not corrected, we will have an NSE that doesn't really reflect the economy and is full of old companies.

The only people who have made real money at the NSE are the shareholders who have listed their companies at the NSE as a way to liquidate their positions as well as facilitators like the brokers, legal and accounting firms. The guys waiting to buy at the NSE will likely be getting a fully priced, potentially overvalued company to buy into.
MugundaMan
#43 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 2:50:44 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:

What if things get worse at the NSE? Because there is no magic cure for the poor performance of the bourse. We have had a string of companies going bankrupt or getting deregistered from the NSE. The GEMS segment doesn't seem to attract any high quality businesses.

So it seems that the NSE might itself have a fundamental problem; there are likely less than 20 investable companies in the NSE whereas in the real world there are a lot of well performing businesses who are quietly making money and see no urgency or need to list at the NSE. If this pipeline problem is not corrected, we will have an NSE that doesn't really reflect the economy and is full of old companies.

The only people who have made real money at the NSE are the shareholders who have listed their companies at the NSE as a way to liquidate their positions as well as facilitators like the brokers, legal and accounting firms. The guys waiting to buy at the NSE will likely be getting a fully priced, potentially overvalued company to buy into.

Brilliantly put. Look at Home Afrika. Listed with fanfare and it was all a shell. The guy who cashed out went on to produce several more shells in the private sector including the dead in the water Longonot Gate venture that is yet to even construct a decent road through the land in 8 years! Let alone a much taunted golf resort city! The only major structure constructed is a gate - pun fully intended. Kurwitu which has never traded a single share in years Laughing out loudly - complete fraud. NBK, HFCK; all shells that should have collapsed decades ago - have been exposed multiple times by insiders that they are scrap metal with funny accounting and BILLIONS in hidden loans in default but very few pay attention. The "Sameer squad" companies - all speculative frauds. Tens of delisted companies - all fraudulent. KQ, Uchumi - all frauds struggling to climb out of massive looting sprees. Frauds left right and centre. The NSE long stopped tracking/being a barometer for the red hawtt 5%+ growth of the real economy because it does NOT reflect the real economy. Dumping a huge cache of one's monies in NSE is like playing real Russian Roulette with a friend for several hours and hoping to make it to work safely the next day. Gamble with a few coins..that is fine..but to invest big chunks...a big no no IMHO.
muandiwambeu
#44 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 5:30:04 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

Brilliantly put. Look at Home Afrika. Listed with fanfare and it was all a shell. The guy who cashed out went on to produce several more shells in the private sector including the dead in the water Longonot Gate venture that is yet to even construct a decent road through the land in 8 years! Let alone a much taunted golf resort city! The only major structure constructed is a gate - pun fully intended. Kurwitu which has never traded a single share in years Laughing out loudly - complete fraud. NBK, HFCK; all shells that should have collapsed decades ago - have been exposed multiple times by insiders that they are scrap metal with funny accounting and BILLIONS in hidden loans in default but very few pay attention. The "Sameer squad" companies - all speculative frauds. Tens of delisted companies - all fraudulent. KQ, Uchumi - all frauds struggling to climb out of massive looting sprees. Frauds left right and centre. The NSE long stopped tracking/being a barometer for the red hawtt 5%+ growth of the real economy because it does NOT reflect the real economy. Dumping a huge cache of one's monies in NSE is like playing real Russian Roulette with a friend for several hours and hoping to make it to work safely the next day. Gamble with a few coins..that is fine..but to invest big chunks...a big no no IMHO.

The best investment in Kenya is hitting. If you can't beat them, join them. Or just leave them and continue getting the hits.
Hiyo ingine ni porojo tu. You can not be comfortable anywhere in this country if you are not one of the following cliques, the hitters or the perpectual/ tirelss care givers (hitted) Kam uko hapo katikati nikuangaika tu!
So, it's not so late to adjust your new years resolutions and lifestyle. Choose your legue/playground wisely.
Mwanaume ni kukazana kunyongana na kukwepa kunyolewa ama kuvumilia kunyongwa na kunyolewasmile smile smile
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
MugundaMan
#45 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 9:26:03 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

The best investment in Kenya is hitting. If you can't beat them, join them. Or just leave them and continue getting the hits.
Hiyo ingine ni porojo tu. You can not be comfortable anywhere in this country if you are not one of the following cliques, the hitters or the perpectual/ tirelss care givers (hitted) Kam uko hapo katikati nikuangaika tu!
So, it's not so late to adjust your new years resolutions and lifestyle. Choose your legue/playground wisely.
Mwanaume ni kukazana kunyongana na kukwepa kunyolewa ama kuvumilia kunyongwa na kunyolewasmile smile smile

Hapo I disagree with you brathee,
Uhunyee is doing a good job of sustaining the anti corruption push. Slowly by slowly the hitters will have no rock to hide under. It is perfectly possible to live one's life quite cleanly, believe it or not. It just involves taking control of one's destiny and not in the manner you suggest. My interpretation of taking control of one's destiny is to be an owner of capital in a clean way, and to be content with the little God has blessed you with instead of letting greed overtake you in the quest to get more and more and more! Take for example Mugundaman. Hana deni na mtu, owns little compared to the billionaires out there yet God has put a roof over his head, three square meals on his family's table and bakshish ya kufanya investments hapa na pale as well as blessed him with robust health and a fulfilling religious life! What more can he ask for? As far as he is concerned, ana kila kitu! To me this is the Kenyan dream!
the deal
#46 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 1:17:48 PM

@mungundaman I will ask again... Which sectors of the Kenyan economy are doing well?

I don't want to here about state contracts or tenders...

It's well known fact in Wazua that Home Afrika was a no investment... Same as Sameer, NBK, KQ, Uchumi and Kirwitu...

As far as HF is concerned...they took alot of risk... When the rate cap came they were caught swimming naked... HF is also a barometer on how bad things are in Kenyas real estate sector... Corruption money has been inflating prices... Artificial demand...

Read this and weep https://www.businessdail...7938-kjjsa1z/index.html

The truth is Uhuru has F****d the Kenyan economy with Chinese loans!

So huge projects like SGR had no impact on NSE or anyone because everything was coming from China including workers!
Ali Baba
#47 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 1:49:38 PM

the deal wrote:
@mungundaman I will ask again... Which sectors of the Kenyan economy are doing well?

It's well known fact in Wazua that Home Afrika was a no investment... Same as Sameer, NBK, KQ, Uchumi and Kirwitu...

As far as HF is concerned...they took alot of risk... When the rate cap came they were caught swimming naked... HF is also a barometer on how bad things are in Kenyas real estate sector... Corruption money has been inflating prices... Artificial demand...

So huge projects like SGR had no impact on NSE or anyone because everything was coming from China including workers!
And then I hear the ignorants and psycophants say that he should be rewarded with a Prime Minister position after he retires in 2022.And the stupid say he is too young,"where will he go ?".Kwani where did his agemate Barrack Obama go??
MugundaMan
#48 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 3:35:40 PM

the deal wrote:

Real estate -red hawtt
Service industry -red hawtt
Agriculture -red hawtt
Fintech-red hawtt
Financial services -red hawtt
Manufacturing -doing reasonably well

Don't let a few crumbling companies on the casino fool you. The vast majority of companies in the sectors above are doing very well.
MugundaMan
#49 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 3:37:28 PM

And don't forget diaspora remittances!
the deal
#50 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 5:13:45 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:

Real estate -red hawtt
Agriculture -red hawtt
Fintech-red hawtt

Don't let a few crumbling companies on the casino fool you. The vast majority of companies in the sectors above are doing very well.

I wish you could backup your arguments with data or links

"Banking sector data for the first nine months of the year showed that non-performing loans rose to Sh326 billion from Sh260 billion in a similar period last year, driven by defaults from small businesses and the taxi sector. The data paints a picture of households and small traders taking loans that they are unable to service."

Link https://www.businessdail...7938-kjjsa1z/index.html

Fintech???" Those Apps are blowing up with defaults.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ... How is Real People doing?

Look at Suraya Properties not at the NSE but blowing up https://www.businessdail...9700-mxpc1xz/index.html

In fact Real Estate is becoming the biggest contributor of NPL's in the banking sector... Data from CBK... Why are folks defaulting on loans if they're making a killing? https://www.standardmedi...close-is-it-to-bursting

NSE is a safe haven... Just learn how to invest properly... Stop investing in monkeys Applause Applause Applause

young
#51 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 6:22:05 PM

NSE is a safe Haven ....just learn how to invest properly (without emotion). Don't invest in monkeys
FROM @ the deal

BUT

If by mistake you invested in monkeys , cut losses on time and re-invest on large cap value counters.

Yoy profit growth is an indication of value counters .
Some large cap value counters of yesteryears are now monkeys eg BAMBURI, NMG.

You have to screen and re-appraise your portfolio periodically .

I am a big beneficiary of NSE especially on dividend income (lots of interim and final dividends from year 2012 ). I have over 14 years experience in NSE.

I Invest for the long term.

For the first 7 years (2004 - 2011) I was a speculator , I got my fingers burnt severally , I almost quit NSE.
On a second thought I strategized as a long termer from 2011 to date , and it paid off mostly on dividend income on large cap value stocks.

This is my take as a foreign non resident investor.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
MugundaMan
#52 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 8:43:58 PM

the deal wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:

Real estate -red hawtt
Agriculture -red hawtt
Fintech-red hawtt

"Banking sector data for the first nine months of the year showed that non-performing loans rose to Sh326 billion from Sh260 billion in a similar period last year, driven by defaults from small businesses and the taxi sector. The data paints a picture of households and small traders taking loans that they are unable to service."

Fintech???" Those Apps are blowing up with defaults.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ... How is Real People doing?

Look at Suraya Properties not at the NSE but blowing up https://www.businessdail...9700-mxpc1xz/index.html

In fact Real Estate is becoming the biggest contributor of NPL's in the banking sector... Data from CBK... Why are folks defaulting on loans if they're making a killing? https://www.standardmedi...close-is-it-to-bursting

NSE is a safe haven... Just learn how to invest properly... Stop investing in monkeys Applause Applause Applause

Soma hapa

You can't go micro and extrapolate it to the whole economy ati because HAFR is doing bad the whole economy is doing bad. Very funny! At the macro level; you asked for it..here it is, latest ...2017. Red hawtt growth rates have since picked up significantly in all sectors in the four quarters of 2018. Very amusing how some think an economy growing at well over 5%+ (one of the highest growth rates in the world) is "doing bad" Laughing out loudly . Which economic measurements are they using?
the deal
#53 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 1:45:42 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:

Real estate -red hawtt
Agriculture -red hawtt
Fintech-red hawtt

Soma hapa

You can't go micro and extrapolate it to the whole economy ati because HAFR is doing bad the whole economy is doing bad. Very funny! At the macro level; you asked for it..here it is, latest ...2017. Red hawtt growth rates have since picked up significantly in all sectors in the four quarters of 2018. Very amusing how some think an economy growing at well over 5%+ (one of the highest growth rates in the world) is "doing bad" Laughing out loudly . Which economic measurements are they using?

The 5% growth rate is due to Government spending on vanity projects like SGR...

Unless you were a middle men or you had land near SGR I don't see how you benefited because the China man supplied everything...

MugundaMan
#54 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 7:16:52 AM

the deal wrote:

Unless you were a middle men or you had land near SGR I don't see how you benefited because the China man supplied everything...

Did you even soma the KNBS economic survey?
Where is the evidence of the above?
SGR is just a tiny fraction of the entire economy baba
SGR construction just started juzi juzi. Kenya has been growing at a red hawtt 5% since 2002! Where was SGR then?
Superprime1
#55 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 2:39:42 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly 'The Blue Economy' is the next phase of swindling Kenyans!
AndyC wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
Perhaps I have been a bit lucky in business but what I have found is that I feel that it is a much better use of my intellect, money and time precisely because I have a lot more control. It's the difference between being a spectator and standing on the sidelines, versus getting in the game yourself.

The good thing about the mistakes I've made in business is that I get better over time as I learn to avoid those mistakes. So it's something that has taken moving through a lot of failure to eventually get to success.

People are taught to be eternal optimists but you have to understand the fundamental forces that affect the NSE. It's not a pendulum that just goes back and forth without any reason.

Companies are real entities; they can go bankrupt and go to zero in value e.g. Mumias Sugar. I pity the shareholders who assumed that the company would come back simply because it was listed in the NSE. There are more real fundamental forces such as profitability and good governance which affect the direction that the markets take.

Let's take the example of Centum, their management have received perhaps billions in bonuses while shareholders have lost value. So you've got companies being run for the benefit of management not shareholders. This dichotomy relationship in an area with low trust and accountability is what makes the NSE a particularly more dangerous place to play in.

The NSE has stagnated over the past few years for some reason. No new companies are joining the NSE while a number of listed companies are practically dead or have delisted.
I agree with you.One of the major problems at NSE is lack of enforcement of the law.Secondly,I believe parastatals should not be listed as they are driven more by politics than real economic forces.Listed parastatals should either be de-listed or government should dilute its stake.The leadership at CMA since the departure of Stella Kilonzo has been wanting.We should get new leaders at CMA,Paul Muthaura,maybe should become an ambassador for Kenya in Kiribati.

KiribatiLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly would be perfect for the country's blue economy interests.

Superprime1
#56 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 2:49:36 PM

Kwanza huko "dustbowl of the dustbowl", wacha tu! Sad I bought some 'dirt-cheap' plots in the dustbowl of the dustbowl 2010/11, and my oh my, how I wish I went to the casino! While I have title deeds, man that place isn't developing (not perhaps until after 2022!) and one can't thus unlock the value any time soon, unless @Mugundaman is willing to buy me out! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
tom_boy wrote:
Wewe @shambaman, you are trying to paint a rosy picture of dustbowl investing but its nothing close.

First you must overcome the the capital huddle. The less your capital, the more likely you are to be relegated to periphery of dust bowl, yaani dustbowl of the dustbowl.

Those places are the ones where you pay deposit and wait for subdivision or mara title processing. If you have 8 to 5 job, just doing the due diligence is a problem. You have to rely on the broker, a crook most likely, to do the so called "due dilligence". This is because the alternative is to take leave and go camp there.

Doing search is a whole day affair. Dont even mention chasing the title deed.

You then discover that the land has no beacons, or beacons were removed by herdsmen. Sasa tafuta surveyor. Then you fence it to avoid further issues with shamba imefika wapi.

5yrs down, fence has been stollen. Posts have long been used as firewood by herdsmen and wire been sold to other guys.

Then you leave the kaplot for 10yrs, when you come back, you cant even remember where it was. Again, tafuta surveyor to redo beacons.

Then your neighbour shows up and claims your beacons are wrongly done and encroached on his shamba. Dispute inaingia papo hapo. You now have a " hung" shamba. Cant develop, cant sell.

These are real risks in mugunda investing esp huko dustbowl.

Superprime1
#57 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 2:59:23 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
the deal wrote:

Did you even soma the KNBS economic survey?
Where is the evidence of the above?
SGR is just a tiny fraction of the entire economy baba
SGR construction just started juzi juzi. Kenya has been growing at a red hawtt 5% since 2002! Where was SGR then?

The 5% GDP growth is comprised of:
1. Remnants of SGR construction
2. Civil servants and state officers' salaries
3. Trickles of looting
4. Creative figures from KNBS, being the rubberstamp for Uhu'looto' stats

With a 8% 2017 inflation rate, who the heck felt a 5% GDP growth? You can shout your answer from the dustbowl. (20marks)
Superprime1
#58 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 3:37:30 PM

I feel you @mv_ufanisi.

However, asking everyone to quit NSE isn't solving the problem that ails it. Kenyans have been let down by lousy regulators, prosecutors and the justice system (or lack of it).

That's why people become billionaires overnight (don't get me wrong; not via sports bettingShame on you ) and know they will get away with it and even become MCAs, MPs, Senators, Governors, and Presidents (and Deputy Presidents).

Corruption. Kleptocracy. KRA-tocracy. etc. are many of the problems that bedevil the country, and the NSE in a huge way.

These are the problems that should be resolved.
Because no matter what you do (passive investments, business, land/property etc.), you can be sure some of these ills will find their way there.

Right now, I wouldn't touch a Corporate Bond in Kenya with a 10-foot pole, as they say. Soon, Treasury Bonds may become toxic (what with goons mortgaging the sovereignty of the country's assets). Don't even speak of fixed deposits, which can go up in smoke in a whim. In business, you encounter a harsh environment, and fraudsters lurk everywhere (and you won't be assisted to bring them to book), yet you may still make it honestly.

It's doom and gloom if you look all around. That's why we can't just give up. We want you to find us here when your business finally needs capital injection. We want to be confident when giving you our money. We want to sleep well at night knowing that if you had massaged the Information Memorandum, you will rot in jail and we will get back our money. Yet, this will only be possible when we can trust the system to live up to the theory. But this will be till that time when the revolution comes.
mv_ufanisi wrote:
Why investing in the NSE is a waste of your intellect and money and is the Kenyan reincarnation of "fool's gold"

definition:
fool's gold is also known as pyrite iron, fool's gold is a gold-colored mineral that is often mistaken for real gold but has no value

1. Your investment is subject to the whims of the market and a lot of factors outside your control. If it was your small business facing these challenges at least you have the opportunity to deal with the problems yourself or talk to that resourceful friend that could sort you out. At the NSE you have to stand on the sidelines and wring your hands as management fumbles with simple things that you would know how to deal with.

2. You will get a false sense of achievement. Naturally when the market goes up you will be on a false high. You won't understand why you were successful, preparing you to make large mistakes in the future. Your high will be more similar to that of a gambler than that of a business owner who has acquired real knowledge and experience.

3. You are entrusting your money with management in an environment of low trust and poor law enforcement. How many NSE companies have had corrupt management? It doesn't even matter if the company is doing well or not. Your company could be in a great industry where it should be making a lot of profits but management finds a way to steal the value from you in the form of bonuses, side deals and tenders to related parties etc. There are many companies in the NSE where management has done very well for themselves in the last 5 years while shareholders have lost value.

4. We as a continent are not there yet. We have very few companies listed in African stock markets precisely because we have too few companies in Africa. We are in an time period where we are called to be pioneers and build companies, yet unfortunately most of us have been educated using a syllabus suited for the developed world Wall Street BS. Your situation as an African if you look towards the West or specifically the US for inspiration should be more similar to the pioneers who first immigrated to the United States of America and had to build everything from scratch. That is where most African countries are. Not Wall Street level! The smart person is the one that can tell the difference.

5. It's a poor investment. You are much better off putting your hard earned money in CBK treasury bills and bonds and getting 9%-10% a year than losing 40%-60% of it in the NSE. If you want unlimited upside possibility take a small percentage of your assets say 10% and either start a small company or fund one where you have the ability to use your intellect, connections and money to grow the value of your investment. Worst case if you lose the 10% you still have the 90% of your assets intact.

6. You will waste your time and intellect analyzing the NSE than using it to solve society's problems and generate wealth for yourself. There are brilliant people on Wazua with great intellect and insights but unfortunately that is wasted because they are not able to implement their ideas. That intellect would generate a lot more return solving problems in a small company.

That is why a few years ago, I sold all my NSE equity, started a company in stead and made a lot lot more return for myself while creating much needed jobs in the economy.

MugundaMan
#59 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 7:00:58 PM

Superprime1 wrote:

The 5% GDP growth is comprised of:
1. Remnants of SGR construction
2. Civil servants and state officers' salaries
3. Trickles of looting
4. Creative figures from KNBS, being the rubberstamp for Uhu'looto' stats

With a 8% 2017 inflation rate, who the heck felt a 5% GDP growth? You can shout your answer from the dustbowl. (20marks)

-100 marks to you for flunking Economics 101 in your first year at Garissa University Laughing out loudly

Are the IMF and World Bank figures also under the thumb of "Uhu'looto'"s "rubberstamp Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ? Wazoo kweli is a funny place!

MugundaMan
#60 Posted : Sunday, December 30, 2018 7:03:23 PM

Superprime1 wrote:
Kwanza huko "dustbowl of the dustbowl", wacha tu! Sad I bought some 'dirt-cheap' plots in the dustbowl of the dustbowl 2010/11, and my oh my, how I wish I went to the casino! While I have title deeds, man that place isn't developing (not perhaps until after 2022!) and one can't thus unlock the value any time soon, unless @Mugundaman is willing to buy me out! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wacha lies! We can spot them from 100 miles away. Where in dustbowl and for how much. (I doubt he will respond Laughing out loudly ) that is how you know some ferras on Wazoo are 100% bandia!