wazua Sat, Apr 27, 2024

11 Pages<1234>»
Why investing in the NSE is fool's gold and a waste
mv_ufanisi
#21 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2018 11:18:14 PM

Perhaps I have been a bit lucky in business but what I have found is that I feel that it is a much better use of my intellect, money and time precisely because I have a lot more control. It's the difference between being a spectator and standing on the sidelines, versus getting in the game yourself.

The good thing about the mistakes I've made in business is that I get better over time as I learn to avoid those mistakes. So it's something that has taken moving through a lot of failure to eventually get to success.

People are taught to be eternal optimists but you have to understand the fundamental forces that affect the NSE. It's not a pendulum that just goes back and forth without any reason.

Companies are real entities; they can go bankrupt and go to zero in value e.g. Mumias Sugar. I pity the shareholders who assumed that the company would come back simply because it was listed in the NSE. There are more real fundamental forces such as profitability and good governance which affect the direction that the markets take.

Let's take the example of Centum, their management have received perhaps billions in bonuses while shareholders have lost value. So you've got companies being run for the benefit of management not shareholders. This dichotomy relationship in an area with low trust and accountability is what makes the NSE a particularly more dangerous place to play in.

The NSE has stagnated over the past few years for some reason. No new companies are joining the NSE while a number of listed companies are practically dead or have delisted.
tom_boy
#22 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 8:43:59 PM

In Kenyan investing, it seems you can lose money no matter what you do

Keep it in the bank, and the bank shuts down ala Chase and Imperial

Keep it in a money market fund and you risk a 30% haircut courtesy of Nakumatt bond.

Go to NSE, crooks all over the place.

Try start a biz, kanju regulations, lazy dishonest employees etc etc

Invest offshore and Kenyan inflation will gobble up your 3-4% usd gains per annum while intermediaries feast on whats left.

Do real estate and have to deal with approvals systems that are just gravy trains for the powers that be.

Yenyewe, bora uhai.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
muandiwambeu
#23 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 9:02:36 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Keep it in a money market fund and you risk a 30% haircut courtesy of Nakumatt bond.

Invest offshore and Kenyan inflation will gobble up your 3-4% usd gains per annum while intermediaries feast on whats left.

Do real estate and have to deal with approvals systems that are just gravy trains for the powers that be.

Yenyewe, bora uhai.

Worst of all, recanted approvals. ASAP demolitions and u r grounded squarely. How I wish that before any demolitions, the officers responsible are bound to and commits to reinstate the affected developers before demolitions are executed. Inch ya wanna niinji⛄
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
MugundaMan
#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 9:14:17 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Yenyewe, bora uhai.

ha! ha! ha! ha! ha! Very funny!
I hope you are not trying to equate the casino (NSE) and investing in crooked chopdi banks to the vast and sweet and safe real estate industry in Kiinya!
I have invested in mugundas for years and got approvals and am yet to "lose money" so far! In fact the values of my property have gone juu juu juu zaidi to the point I am almost tempted to sell. Riparian land demolitions, swindles etc can all be avoided by simple due diligence and common sense. The negative storos you hear are maybe 0.01% of transactions in the industry as opposed to the casino where guaranteed 100% have been shaved since this bear run began!
tom_boy
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 11:01:22 PM

Wewe @shambaman, you are trying to paint a rosy picture of dustbowl investing but its nothing close.

First you must overcome the the capital huddle. The less your capital, the more likely you are to be relegated to periphery of dust bowl, yaani dustbowl of the dustbowl.

Those places are the ones where you pay deposit and wait for subdivision or mara title processing. If you have 8 to 5 job, just doing the due diligence is a problem. You have to rely on the broker, a crook most likely, to do the so called "due dilligence". This is because the alternative is to take leave and go camp there.

Doing search is a whole day affair. Dont even mention chasing the title deed.

You then discover that the land has no beacons, or beacons were removed by herdsmen. Sasa tafuta surveyor. Then you fence it to avoid further issues with shamba imefika wapi.

5yrs down, fence has been stollen. Posts have long been used as firewood by herdsmen and wire been sold to other guys.

Then you leave the kaplot for 10yrs, when you come back, you cant even remember where it was. Again, tafuta surveyor to redo beacons.

Then your neighbour shows up and claims your beacons are wrongly done and encroached on his shamba. Dispute inaingia papo hapo. You now have a " hung" shamba. Cant develop, cant sell.

These are real risks in mugunda investing esp huko dustbowl.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
MugundaMan
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 3:19:53 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Wewe @shambaman, you are trying to paint a rosy picture of dustbowl investing but its nothing close.

First you must overcome the the capital huddle. The less your capital, the more likely you are to be relegated to periphery of dust bowl, yaani dustbowl of the dustbowl.

Those places are the ones where you pay deposit and wait for subdivision or mara title processing. If you have 8 to 5 job, just doing the due diligence is a problem. You have to rely on the broker, a crook most likely, to do the so called "due dilligence". This is because the alternative is to take leave and go camp there.

You then discover that the land has no beacons, or beacons were removed by herdsmen. Sasa tafuta surveyor. Then you fence it to avoid further issues with shamba imefika wapi.

5yrs down, fence has been stollen. Posts have long been used as firewood by herdsmen and wire been sold to other guys.

Then you leave the kaplot for 10yrs, when you come back, you cant even remember where it was. Again, tafuta surveyor to redo beacons.

Then your neighbour shows up and claims your beacons are wrongly done and encroached on his shamba. Dispute inaingia papo hapo. You now have a " hung" shamba. Cant develop, cant sell.

tom-boy,
Notice that in your very long response you have not mentioned anything to do with "losing money" on your mugunda smile. What you have mentioned is the regular toil that comes with every single activity in life that a non-lazy person easily deals with. It's like me starting to whine about how investing in stocks is a hazard because it might rain while you are standing outdoors just as you are trying to execute a trade on your cellphone. Or that a bird may dump its droppings all over your phone right before you set your bid price. Or that your broker on the other end of the trade may collapse and die from indigestion because of having too much fombe and matumbo for lunch, if you are calling in the trade. Obviously you wouldn't take my whine seriously because all these things have zero to do with making or losing money on the NSE except in a very indirect and irrelevant way.
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 6:59:58 AM

Interesting thread.. Very interesting smile

tom_boy
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 7:13:05 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

tom-boy,
Notice that in your very long response you have not mentioned anything to do with "losing money" on your mugunda smile. What you have mentioned is the regular toil that comes with every single activity in life that a non-lazy person easily deals with. It's like me starting to whine about how investing in stocks is a hazard because it might rain while you are standing outdoors just as you are trying to execute a trade on your cellphone. Or that a bird may dump its droppings all over your phone right before you set your bid price. Or that your broker on the other end of the trade may collapse and die from indigestion because of having too much fombe and matumbo for lunch, if you are calling in the trade. Obviously you wouldn't take my whine seriously because all these things have zero to do with making or losing money on the NSE except in a very indirect and irrelevant way.

My point is that even the investment strategy called " buy dustbowl" is riddled with potential very real pitfalls where your investment can get lost sometimes even without your knowledge. It is tedious, requires alot of time input and forces you to use third parties that are unregulated i. e brokers and intermediaries. For persons who are used to the process, it appears easy. For those who are new, the brokers will smell your newness and capitalise on it one way or another. So risks are kibao.

I wish we had data on how many people have been duped while buying land and value lost plus opportunity cost of that value lost then compared with those who purchased successfully and net value gained at the end of 10yrs. We would then compare to NSE over the same period.

The problem is that with land investment, only the victors story gets told.

I never imagined one could lose money in a money market fund but it has happened, right here in KE.
MugundaMan
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 7:52:06 AM

tom_boy wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

tom-boy,

My point is that even the investment strategy called " buy dustbowl" is riddled with potential very real pitfalls where your investment can get lost sometimes even without your knowledge. It is tedious, requires alot of time input and forces you to use third parties that are unregulated i. e brokers and intermediaries. For persons who are used to the process, it appears easy. For those who are new, the brokers will smell your newness and capitalise on it one way or another. So risks are kibao.

I wish we had data on how many people have been duped while buying land and value lost plus opportunity cost of that value lost then compared with those who purchased successfully and net value gained at the end of 10yrs. We would then compare to NSE over the same period.

I never imagined one could lose money in a money market fund but it has happened, right here in KE.

tom_boy,
And my counter point was that with effort and proper due diligence one can easily get "used to the process" so that the pitfalls, fears and dangers you allude to become non-factors when investing in real estate in Kenya.There are literally millions of title deeds in Kenya today. I myself have been investing in property for years and have never been swindled on a deal even once - thanks to thorough due diligence and common sense. Yet the mishaps in the industry are not reported by the media to be in the millions -they are few and far between. But one may watch the media and think the sky is falling on everyone's head because Taj mall got demolished (one single incident out of millions of smooth transactions). You do not even need concrete data, just do an informal survey. How many people do you know around you who own property got swindled during their transactions. I know so many property owners yet maybe only one or two have lost their savings in a real estate deal in Kenia. How? By investing in the exact way you have delineated above: thinking the process is "too tough" so leaving it to "brokers" or thieving relatives (instead of a competent lawyer) to do even basic due diligence. Not visiting a plot in ten years.Ten years?? Not fencing, nor having a contingency plan to gain possession immediately after purchase. In extreme cases the person does no due diligence at all, they walk into Ngogoyo Bar and Lodge, have a beer with a stranger who "sells" them a plot at the table. They Mpesa the guy the small "booking fee" or give a large deposit in cash, never to hear from the guy again. Who is to blame for such stupidity? Surely not Kenya's solid, vast and beautiful real estate industry! To be fair, the banking industry in Kenia is also quite solid as long as one banks in the reputable banks. Not the peni mbili muhindi banks with chopdi systems or the "political banks" that are just a shell and can collapse at any moment. Again, Common sense and due diligence come in handy in selecting where to bank. I personally do not bank with any bank that does not have a reputable international footprint beyond the borders of Kenia.
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 9:32:20 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

tom-boy,

tom_boy,
And my counter point was that with effort and proper due diligence one can easily get "used to the process" so that the pitfalls, fears and dangers you allude to become non-factors when investing in real estate in Kenya.There are literally millions of title deeds in Kenya today. I myself have been investing in property for years and have never been swindled on a deal even once - thanks to thorough due diligence and common sense. Yet the mishaps in the industry are not reported by the media to be in the millions -they are few and far between. But one may watch the media and think the sky is falling on everyone's head because Taj mall got demolished (one single incident out of millions of smooth transactions). You do not even need concrete data, just do an informal survey. How many people do you know around you who own property got swindled during their transactions. I know so many property owners yet maybe only one or two have lost their savings in a real estate deal in Kenia. How? By investing in the exact way you have delineated above: thinking the process is "too tough" so leaving it to "brokers" or thieving relatives (instead of a competent lawyer) to do even basic due diligence. Not visiting a plot in ten years.Ten years?? Not fencing, nor having a contingency plan to gain possession immediately after purchase. In extreme cases the person does no due diligence at all, they walk into Ngogoyo Bar and Lodge, have a beer with a stranger who "sells" them a plot at the table. They Mpesa the guy the small "booking fee" or give a large deposit in cash, never to hear from the guy again. Who is to blame for such stupidity? Surely not Kenya's solid, vast and beautiful real estate industry! To be fair, the banking industry in Kenia is also quite solid as long as one banks in the reputable banks. Not the peni mbili muhindi banks with chopdi systems or the "political banks" that are just a shell and can collapse at any moment. Again, Common sense and due diligence come in handy in selecting where to bank. I personally do not bank with any bank that does not have a reputable international footprint beyond the borders of Kenia.

Obiero lost his investment in dustbowl
Ali Baba
#31 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 1:53:39 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Perhaps I have been a bit lucky in business but what I have found is that I feel that it is a much better use of my intellect, money and time precisely because I have a lot more control. It's the difference between being a spectator and standing on the sidelines, versus getting in the game yourself.

The good thing about the mistakes I've made in business is that I get better over time as I learn to avoid those mistakes. So it's something that has taken moving through a lot of failure to eventually get to success.

People are taught to be eternal optimists but you have to understand the fundamental forces that affect the NSE. It's not a pendulum that just goes back and forth without any reason.

Companies are real entities; they can go bankrupt and go to zero in value e.g. Mumias Sugar. I pity the shareholders who assumed that the company would come back simply because it was listed in the NSE. There are more real fundamental forces such as profitability and good governance which affect the direction that the markets take.

Let's take the example of Centum, their management have received perhaps billions in bonuses while shareholders have lost value. So you've got companies being run for the benefit of management not shareholders. This dichotomy relationship in an area with low trust and accountability is what makes the NSE a particularly more dangerous place to play in.

The NSE has stagnated over the past few years for some reason. No new companies are joining the NSE while a number of listed companies are practically dead or have delisted.
I agree with you.One of the major problems at NSE is lack of enforcement of the law.Secondly,I believe parastatals should not be listed as they are driven more by politics than real economic forces.Listed parastatals should either be de-listed or government should dilute its stake.The leadership at CMA since the departure of Stella Kilonzo has been wanting.We should get new leaders at CMA,Paul Muthaura,maybe should become an ambassador for Kenya in Kiribati.
AndyC
#32 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 2:52:36 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

I agree with you.One of the major problems at NSE is lack of enforcement of the law.Secondly,I believe parastatals should not be listed as they are driven more by politics than real economic forces.Listed parastatals should either be de-listed or government should dilute its stake.The leadership at CMA since the departure of Stella Kilonzo has been wanting.We should get new leaders at CMA,Paul Muthaura,maybe should become an ambassador for Kenya in Kiribati.

KiribatiLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly would be perfect for the country's blue economy interests.
XSK
#33 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 2:53:16 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Yenyewe, bora uhai.

@tom_boy I share the highlighted pain. I never thought I would see this ever!

I have seen it courtesy of amana

You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#34 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 7:15:01 PM

XSK wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

Yenyewe, bora uhai.

@tom_boy I share the highlighted pain. I never thought I would see this ever!

I have seen it courtesy of amana

Gai. What did Amana capital do to your savings?

Mike Ock
#35 Posted : Friday, December 21, 2018 2:30:14 AM

tom_boy wrote:

Yenyewe, bora uhai.

Man. In this Kenya, once you find something that is working for you(job/freelance/business/investing), hold on for dear life and milk it for all it's worth.
hamburglar
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2018 1:37:11 PM

Man. In this Kenya, once you find something that is working for you(job/freelance/business/investing), hold on for dear life and milk it for all it's worth.
[/quote]

Very wise sentiments. Stick it out the whole way and don’t even try to dabble into other ventures that you are not familiar with. Stick to what you know best and milk it to death. I always see people who have a somewhat successful trade or job trying their hand at things they have no clue in and at the expense of what was working for them. More often than not, both gigs end up going belly up because of greed. Nothing wrong with delving into other things but make sure you don’t divagate from your cash cow. That’s the point.
the deal
#37 Posted : Friday, December 28, 2018 5:25:21 PM

I wonder what you people will be posting once the bull run returns... We are closer to the bottom than before!

The NSE is like any business... There are good and bad times unfortunately these are the bad times at the NSE... Stay strong...
Muthawamunene
#38 Posted : Friday, December 28, 2018 9:09:11 PM

the deal wrote:
I wonder what you people will be posting once the bull run returns... We are closer to the bottom than before!

The NSE is like any business... There are good and bad times unfortunately these are the bad times at the NSE... Stay strong...

The tide is ebbing away. You can almost see those dollars flying back home to be put to rest by the Fed as it reduces it's balance sheet.

Counters that had been nicknamed "growth stocks" and given lofty multiples are getting whacked mercilessly; just look at Equity.

These are the times when true investors step to the plate. Those who believe in growth. Those who are in it to buy part of a business that they see something in.

These investors will reap cash flow in form of dividend if these growth companies actually grow. Age and time are your friends. Choosing the right stock here is as important as choosing a mate.

We pray for health, good fortune and that we maintain income so that we won't have to sell at an inopportune time.
mv_ufanisi
#39 Posted : Friday, December 28, 2018 10:53:32 PM

the deal wrote:

The NSE is not like any business. It is a constituent of a number of businesses listed within it.
I think the NSE has fundamental problems within it that makes it an inaccurate or misleading measure of economic activity and results in Kenya.
the deal
#40 Posted : Saturday, December 29, 2018 12:06:44 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
the deal wrote:

The NSE is not like any business. It is a constituent of a number of businesses listed within it.
I think the NSE has fundamental problems within it that makes it an inaccurate or misleading measure of economic activity and results in Kenya.

Hmmm which sectors of the Kenyan economy are these which are delivering exceptional results?

Please I don't want to hear about state contracts or tendering...I don't consider people who build they're businesses via state contracts as real entrepreneurs!