wazua Wed, Apr 24, 2024

11 Pages«<34567>»
Safaricom HY 2018/2019
Ngogoyo
#81 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 3:07:35 PM

I did it a few months back, the team that did it was not making guess work.

Connected my TV to roku (non smart TV problems) and DSTV are still afraid of calling me wondering where their kshs 3,500 is going to every-month ... of course its going to on demand viewing, non-repetitive netflix

Multichoice needs to re-think their model otherwise no future for them.
Ericsson
#82 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 4:24:37 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:

Connected my TV to roku (non smart TV problems) and DSTV are still afraid of calling me wondering where their kshs 3,500 is going to every-month ... of course its going to on demand viewing, non-repetitive netflix

They still have a future,ask Kwese and GTV
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#83 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 4:31:40 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ngogoyo wrote:

They still have a future,ask Kwese and GTV

GTV Whah kweli that brings back nostalgia. I revolution that never was smile smile smile
Ericsson
#84 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2018 4:52:53 PM

The way Airtel operates Safaricom has no competition.
Telkom was the one that could tackle them but they lack ammunition to sustain the war on a long term
Ericsson
#85 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2018 5:34:45 PM

tandich
#86 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2018 6:33:18 PM

Ericsson wrote:
The way Airtel operates Safaricom has no competition.
Telkom was the one that could tackle them but they lack ammunition to sustain the war on a long term

If Telkom buys Zulu and streamlines service...
Ericsson
#87 Posted : Saturday, December 08, 2018 10:37:17 PM

Safaricom mpesa is down for several hours.

There is no competition or alternative apart from traditional cash
#88 Posted : Saturday, December 08, 2018 11:47:08 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Kwani where are Airtel money telcomcash etc?
rwitre
#89 Posted : Saturday, December 08, 2018 11:51:37 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Safaricom is essentially a utility firm right now. As evidenced by this MPESA outage, its services are needed whether the general economy is flying or crippled.
#90 Posted : Sunday, December 09, 2018 11:39:45 AM

rwitre wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Safaricom is essentially a utility firm right now. As evidenced by this MPESA outage, its services are needed whether the general economy is flying or crippled.
There's a need for alternatives so we aren't held hostage by one system going down. I wish SafCom well but I am glad I have always had more than one option.
#91 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 1:41:29 PM

Disclosure: I have a few Safaricom bought sub-24-ish d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Now 22

I am glad I didn't buy many but I was primed to and ended up buying something else. Applause Applause Applause

*Though I believe Saf is a money machine for now. Who knows what the future holds. Things are tough in Kenya!

Saf is down 33% from the highs.
Muthawamunene
#92 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 6:18:31 PM

rwitre wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Has aways been a utility.

If Visa ever went down, visa users would also be stranded. No need to split Safaricom up. Other players now have more incentive to market their services to merchants.

But this government of ours just likes to meddle and seem important.

I am a huge fan of Milton Friedman; government should stay out!
Ericsson
#93 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 2:32:06 PM

Muthawamunene wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

If Visa ever went down, visa users would also be stranded. No need to split Safaricom up. Other players now have more incentive to market their services to merchants.

Are the other players upping their game
cyruskulei
#94 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 12:53:13 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:
rwitre wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Are the other players upping their game

And now we can call across network for only 1.00. I dont know the magic that will happen after this special test offer. Sasa tutarudi polepole to the Better Option
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

Ebenyo
#95 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 5:36:15 PM

Disclosure: I have a few Safaricom bought sub-24-ish d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Now 22

I am glad I didn't buy many but I was primed to and ended up buying something else. Applause Applause Applause

*Though I believe Saf is a money machine for now. Who knows what the future holds. Things are tough in Kenya!

Saf is down 33% from the highs.

Safaricom is great in earnings(The most profitable company in east africa).Management by vodafone is great.Innovative and keen in observance of changing business environment.
I like it as an income investor.
Its downside is poor asset value to share.This will be solved when it expands e.g Ethiopia move.
But @vvs is a value investor.This one will be a tall order for you.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#96 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 12:30:07 PM

Safaricom has lost 20% share of voice in slightly over 1.5 years while Airtel's nearly trippled. Is it time for Scom to step down their high horse and start listening to their consumer & the market more?

#97 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 2:29:00 PM

Safaricom has lost 20% share of voice in slightly over 1.5 years while Airtel's nearly trippled. Is it time for Scom to step down their high horse and start listening to their consumer & the market more?

Trippling doesn't mean they are making money.
Ericsson
#98 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 5:27:31 PM

Airtel is being prepared for slaughter/to be sold
Ericsson
#99 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2018 5:51:42 PM

Though there was a marginal increase in the number of subscribers by 163,000
#100 Posted : Thursday, December 20, 2018 10:24:14 AM

Airtel has NEVER made even a single coin in Kenya!!! If you give free things/services and price the other services in an unsustainable manner, of course you will get numbers (pun intended!) but your losses will increase exponentially.

Anyone who buys Airtel Kenya will be left holding one serious monkey! 95% of Airtel subscribers have Safaricom lines. Any attempt by new owners to price services sustainably (profitably) and all these fellows revert to Safaricom in the blink of any eye kama findio kama ndrama!!!!