wazua Fri, Apr 19, 2024

11 Pages<12345>»
Safaricom HY 2018/2019
#41 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 7:33:12 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Safaricom CEO Bob Collymore admits Mpesa 1Tap and Masoko were a failure
"Some of the biggest lessons we have learnt in the last year are a result of the failure of products such as Mpesa 1Tap and Masoko to take off as planned"

It's good that SafCom is trying all these things. Mistakes or failures will happen. A firm that has NO mistakes/failures might be cooking the books.

The now mighty Apple had some duds eg Apple Newton
Microsoft, Sony and Nissan have had their share of problems.

If SafCom can learn from their "mistakes/failures" then they will come back strong.
Realtreaty
#42 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 8:26:01 PM

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
I do not want all these stories, my question is where is the Interim Dividend?
I was projecting a 50 cts DVDSad Sad Sad Sad

Other stories to be given to beginners
Ericsson
#43 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 8:32:46 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
I do not want all these stories, my question is where is the Interim Dividend?
I was projecting a 50 cts DVDSad Sad Sad Sad

Other stories to be given to beginners

How do they pay interim dividend when they are still paying full dividend?
I wasn't expecting one.
Chill for full year dividend at between 1.20-1.30
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#44 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 8:45:24 PM

Ericsson wrote:
"Some of the biggest lessons we have learnt in the last year are a result of the failure of products such as Mpesa 1Tap and Masoko to take off as planned"

1Tap - The terminals at Supermarkets didn't work, frustrated cashiers. Inadequate training for the merchants.

Masoko - The failure started with the name. "Masoko" sounds like monkeys.
#45 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 8:56:53 PM

Ericsson wrote:

It's good that SafCom is trying all these things. Mistakes or failures will happen. A firm that has NO mistakes/failures might be cooking the books.

The now mighty Apple had some duds eg Apple Newton
Microsoft, Sony and Nissan have had their share of problems.

If SafCom can learn from their "mistakes/failures" then they will come back strong.

Oh OK. And KQ trying New York as a potential new income earner is unacceptable.. Very balanced thinking

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#46 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2018 8:58:19 PM

Ericsson wrote:

1Tap - The terminals at Supermarkets didn't work, frustrated cashiers. Inadequate training for the merchants.

Training is important as well as good quality equipment and connections. This can be fixed. Start with the Carrefours and the like who are open to new ideas.

Masoko - The failure started with the name. "Masoko" sounds like monkeys.

What are you smoking? I think it has to do with the general reluctance/trust to buy online BUT this will change over time Laughing out loudly

#47 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 11:34:07 AM

Saf wants 280k/day as the new M-Pesa limit. This will improve Saf's earnings from fees as both value and transactions increase.

There's also a global tie-up with Western Union.
Ericsson
#48 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 11:47:27 AM

Saf wants 280k/day as the new M-Pesa limit. This will improve Saf's earnings from fees as both value and transactions increase.

Soon they will join the interim dividends bus
Ericsson
#49 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 12:41:37 PM

Kwese TV Parent company Econet is shutting down Kenya Operations
https://pbs.twimg.com/me...rTzQCsWsAAD8rT.jpg:large
watesh
#50 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 12:51:10 PM

They should take it to 200k single transaction (together with 200k as how much your mpesa can hold)then a 500k single day transaction limit. This will be good for business payments. Or have business have their own special mpesa numbers whose transaction limits are in the millions.
#51 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 1:13:53 PM

watesh wrote:

They should take it to 200k single transaction (together with 200k as how much your mpesa can hold)then a 500k single day transaction limit. This will be good for business payments. Or have business have their own special mpesa numbers whose transaction limits are in the millions.

Businesses already have that option

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#52 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 1:55:22 PM

SafCom at 22.50 but do I wait or pull the trigger?
[Cash is tight and I will have to tighten my belt over the holidays but...]
My next dividend (Unga) is at the end of Jan...
#53 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 2:10:56 PM

I still predict Safaricom will trade between 15-20.
#54 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 2:33:10 PM

what did investors expect that has fallen short?
#55 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 2:42:32 PM

mlennyma wrote:

Market is bearish. Bear spares no one
Ebenyo
#56 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 2:48:11 PM

mlennyma wrote:

Market is bearish. Bear spares no one

Too bad for me with this bear and sina dau bana.otherwise opportunities ziko mop sana.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#57 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2018 6:16:18 PM

Applause Applause Applause As a new buyer, except for a few I bought earlier, this would very good news! At 15, it would be a great entry point as long as the fundamentals do not change.
#58 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2018 7:18:12 PM

Safricom keeps on winning
https://www.safaricom.co...ess-release/release/491

Safcom needs to offer "home security" as well with the Home Fibre packages.
Home Internet
Mobile Internet/service
Home Insurance
Home Security
Ericsson
#59 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2018 7:24:35 PM

Home Internet
Mobile Internet/service
Home Insurance
Home Security

Good product but out of reach of the majority
#60 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2018 8:18:23 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Home Internet
Mobile Internet/service
Home Insurance
Home Security

Good product but out of reach of the majority

True but segmentation. Make small gains everywhere. Toyota sells the popular and workhorse Probox as well as the much pricier and luxury Lexus.

VW sells mass market cars and I think also owns Audi and Porsche.