Gordon Ogada is BROKE. 230m SportPesa Winner
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 9:41:57 AM

https://biznakenya.com/gordon-ogada/

Ya dunia yetu kweli si chache

He won 230 mill, bought cows, built grand homes in the village for all his realtives a house in the city plus many cars and now has zero cash flows. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Gordon blew his win and nothing much to show for it

To add insult to injury he is still betting and hoping to win again Laughing out loudly

Jameni KCPE and KCSE should have a separate mini-test on financial literacy.
Mike Ock
#2 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 9:55:33 AM

He's not broke if he spent most of it on cows and houses
whiteowl
#3 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 9:59:25 AM

This is a way of keeping off money hungry relatives and friends.
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 10:31:50 AM

The write-up itself is vague & contradictory.
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 10:33:41 AM

He isn't broke. Even if he invested 100m only and makes 10% return per annum, he Will have an income of almost 1m per month which is more than enough to live an affluent life in Kenya.

If I won 230M I would spend it as follows:

1. Travel the world - 30m;
2. Give to various Charities - 10m;
3. Ostentation (housing, cars and other luxuries for self, family) - 50m;
4. Liquid Investments - 50m;
5. Illiquid Investments - 90m;
MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 11:11:37 AM

He isn't broke. Even if he invested 100m only and makes 10% return per annum, he Will have an income of almost 1m per month which is more than enough to live an affluent life in Kenya.

But this is exactly what the article says he did NOT do Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
He built grand mansions in the village for the relatives that can never be rented out to anyone for income, bought them cows, one grand mansion for himself to live in that pays him no rent, and a fleet of cars to drive nywee on the roads with. Where does it say anything is paying him any income? He himself says he does NOT have any income despite the massive winnings!Laughing out loudly
MugundaMan
#7 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 11:17:08 AM

whiteowl wrote:
This is a way of keeping off money hungry relatives and friends.

I highly doubt this. Remember he has already built his relatives mansions in the village so clearly if he wanted to do so (keep them off) he would not even bother to give them a coin.
MugundaMan
#8 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 11:22:01 AM

In a shocking revelation published by the Standard’s SDE, Ogada now says that he has nothing left, and sometimes goes without a dime in his pocket.

How much more clearer than that can it get? When someone has monthly income from his investments worth 200+ mill surely they will not be crying that they do not have a dime in their pocket! Laughing out loudly
MugundaMan
#9 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 11:29:50 AM

I think Ogada himself is the vague one because he does not want to admit he blew the money and other than his mansion and the parents mansion plus a few cars, no other "investments here and there" exist!
A brand new Range Rover costs well over 10 metre. He probably bought 5 of these types of pieces of metal alone. Then the house in a nice burb in Nairobi could easily eat up 120 metre depending on where. The mansions in shaggz and cows probably "ate" another 20 metre. The rest was blown on "raha" and clothes. So please believe him when he says he has no dime left!
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 12:36:27 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

But this is exactly what the article says he did NOT do Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
He built grand mansions in the village for the relatives that can never be rented out to anyone for income, bought them cows, one grand mansion for himself to live in that pays him no rent, and a fleet of cars to drive nywee on the roads with. Where does it say anything is paying him any income? He himself says he does NOT have any income despite the massive winnings!Laughing out loudly

Pesa ya gambling iko na laana

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#11 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 12:58:12 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

I think Ogada himself is the vague one because he does not want to admit he blew the money and other than his mansion and the parents mansion plus a few cars, no other "investments here and there" exist!
A brand new Range Rover costs well over 10 metre. He probably bought 5 of these types of pieces of metal alone. Then the house in a nice burb in Nairobi could easily eat up 120 metre depending on where. The mansions in shaggz and cows probably "ate" another 20 metre. The rest was blown on "raha" and clothes. So please believe him when he says he has no dime left!

That is exactly what i am saying and i think everybody else. From that article you cannot deduce anything. It was upto the 'journalist' to prod and get the facts rights, which s/he didnt, thereby making the article fake news. As @alma will tell this is some sleazy lazy journalist who was paid 10k by Ogada to advance this story that he is broke to shake of 'beggars'. He would have gone into details on the cost (not value) of the so called 'assets' if he was serious. If you can believe that article, then i have no words for you, not even worth kufunga nyama. Ni hayo tu.
cd04
#12 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 1:57:05 PM

This is exactly why you would end up broke. You have just listed how you would “get rid” of the money as quickly as possible, as though having it with you would burn a hole in your side.

If you have never earnt a million, you cannot keep a million. Keeping money is even harder than making money. All those ‘investments’ people make end up losing the most money, even better spend it on ‘raha’.
MugundaMan
#13 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:11:32 PM

cd04 wrote:

This is exactly why you would end up broke. You have just listed how you would “get rid” of the money as quickly as possible, as though having it with you would burn a hole in your side.

If you have never earnt a million, you cannot keep a million. Keeping money is even harder than making money. All those ‘investments’ people make end up losing the most money, even better spend it on ‘raha’.

Ouch. Unnecessary roughness!
#14 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:11:45 PM

He Just want to keep away relas and other hangers-on. There is some level of cash you get and even the cash itself does not want to leave you.
Chaka
#15 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:14:58 PM

MugundaMan
#16 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:20:40 PM

Gathige wrote:
He Just want to keep away relas and other hangers-on. There is some level of cash you get and even the cash itself does not want to leave you.

This part is what makes me highly doubt this:

Of course. I may have made a few mistakes here and there. But largely, I did fine. I think I would be more responsible.
And when asked how much he is worth, five months after joining the millionaires club, Gordon Ogada said:

“I can only count my properties (*2 mansions in the village & one in Nairobi*) for now. I don’t have money seating (sic) somewhere. That alone worries me at times. It is especially difficult convincing relatives and friends that I don’t have money in my pockets. They don’t understand. No one seems to understand. But I do, and that’s what matters for now.” Gordon Ogada says he still bets, and hopes to win again with SportPesa.

“I have intensified my football match analyses in a bid to win another jackpot. This time round, I will be more responsible with my spending,” he said, adding: “I have no immediate plans of stopping. I hope to win again someday.”

#17 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:46:02 PM

So the journalist wrote what Ogada told him but doesn't have the intelligence to dig deeper from other sources apart from the 'victim'. Come on this is third rate journalism.
#18 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:47:06 PM

I first heard about this guy being broke(or is it the other one? A guy from Kasarani) last year

Ati the guy went to Casinos in SA
#19 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:47:38 PM

Buy an IFB that would earn me 12.5% tax free per annum... That's... 28750000...2.395m per month....

Pay myself 1.395 pm.... Reinvest 1m every month... 500k to the primary for that month... 500k to scom shares.... Wash.... Rinse...Repeat...
MugundaMan
#20 Posted : Saturday, October 06, 2018 2:52:39 PM

Buy an IFB that would earn me 12.5% tax free per annum... That's... 28750000...2.395m per month....

Pay myself 1.395 pm.... Reinvest 1m every month... 500k to the primary for that month... 500k to scom shares.... Wash.... Rinse...Repeat...

Hii ni hesabu ngumu for Gordon, jameni. Come shrowry.