Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land
2. Put in necessary infrastructure e.g sewage, roads etc
3. The KMRC will provide loans with subsidized interest rates
4. Tax exemption for developers meeting a certain target

Asante Swenani. Umesikia fununu za bei?

Nimeskia ranging from 0.5M-3M

But pia kuna for the wealthy, I heard that 30% of all the buildings will be for people like you who can afford the houses at market rates.

you do 24 floors to sell at 0.5m per unitd'oh! Unless you are making them korogocho style. Makes sense at around 5-7m. Anything less is building vertical slums. You will be doing 24 floors without working lifts, garbage collection, water pumping. You will end with the US projects where you get mugged on 5th floor on your way to your 13th floor, hookers and junkies all around and cops covering some murder scene.

What is the cost of constructing a two bedroom house 80m2 excluding cost of land?

The firms bid and the contracts were awarded in 2016. With those billions you can't do 0.5 m houses.

Bachelors/Jevanjee estates will be developed by Jabavu Village Limited at a cost of Sh9.1 billion.

About 1,500 units will be added to the current 80 units.

Lordship Africa was awarded a contract to build 2,500 houses in Ngong Road estate at a bid sum of Sh24 billion.

New Ngara estate will be redeveloped by KCB/S&L, which won a Sh9 billion tender to put up 1,500 houses in the area

https://www.the-star.co....-of-new-houses_c1460336

Did the big 4 start in 2016 or 2017?
#22 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 7:25:34 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

But pia kuna for the wealthy, I heard that 30% of all the buildings will be for people like you who can afford the houses at market rates.

you do 24 floors to sell at 0.5m per unitd'oh! Unless you are making them korogocho style. Makes sense at around 5-7m. Anything less is building vertical slums. You will be doing 24 floors without working lifts, garbage collection, water pumping. You will end with the US projects where you get mugged on 5th floor on your way to your 13th floor, hookers and junkies all around and cops covering some murder scene.

What is the cost of constructing a two bedroom house 80m2 excluding cost of land?

The firms bid and the contracts were awarded in 2016. With those billions you can't do 0.5 m houses.

Bachelors/Jevanjee estates will be developed by Jabavu Village Limited at a cost of Sh9.1 billion.

Lordship Africa was awarded a contract to build 2,500 houses in Ngong Road estate at a bid sum of Sh24 billion.

New Ngara estate will be redeveloped by KCB/S&L, which won a Sh9 billion tender to put up 1,500 houses in the area

Reality & realization of the Big 4 actually started in the 2018/2019 budget. Remember they first came up during Jamhuri day celebrations last year.
#23 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 7:55:17 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

Our in-house guru, @architect, has tackled this issue quite often.

His figures were as follows.

1. Low quality e.g. huruma - 15K per Sqm.
2. Zimmerman/ lower middle-class - 20K per Sqm.
3. High end e.g. Kilimani - 25K to 50K depending on finishes.
#24 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 8:00:32 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

Our in-house guru, @architect, has tackled this issue quite often.

His figures were as follows.

1. Low quality e.g. huruma - 15K per Sqm.
2. Zimmerman/ lower middle-class - 20K per Sqm.
3. High end e.g. Kilimani - 25K to 50K depending on finishes.

Are the above figures inclusive of developers profit or exclusive?
#25 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 8:06:07 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

Reality & realization of the Big 4 actually started in the 2018/2019 budget. Remember they first came up during Jamhuri day celebrations last year.

The people saying it's impossible fail to realize that
1.Developers will be given free land
2.Govt will provide the necessary infrastructure-Hopefullysmile
3.Developers and buyers will access subsidized credit.
4.Developers will be allocated 30% of project land to be sold at market rate on land which they acquired at Kes.0.00 million and used subsidized credit
5.Developers will have certain tax incentives.

On paper,I think it's doable
Fyatu
#26 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 8:39:23 PM

A piecemeal and fragmented approach to affordable housing as was proposed by Kidero will not achieve massive affordable housing and will open avenues of corruption and exploitation of Kenyans. Statistics that are always peddled around by the media show that there is a deficit of 200000 houses. Thus, building 2000 houses here and another 500 there cannot fill this gap.Furthermore,Planting apartments within properly planned city estates of yesteryears defeats the purpose of dignified living.

I remember watching the legendary Micky Weche(a resident of Madaraka estate for many years) lamenting how those ugly NHC apartments planted in the estate recently have denied kids of playing fields, caused perennial water shortages and other ills associated on fitting 1000 people in a space that can only accommodate 100 or trying to drive 50000 cars on a road that has capacity for only 2000 cars.

Yes, this is not Angola but the government in Angola has demonstrated that it is possible to purposely work towards uplifting the living standards of wananchi by building from scratch proper and well thought out projects. H.E. Uhuru should break ground in Mavoko first and ensure that whatever is built there resembles at the very least Nyayo estate embakassi in terms of physical plan(google map Nyayo embakasi and see what i mean)
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
wukan
#27 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 9:04:59 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

GoK does not work like that ati you make a speech during Jamhuri and things happen. The housing agenda and redevelopment of eastlands was started under Moi then perfected under Kibaki Nairobi metropolitan ministry and an action plan developed all part of vision 2030. Actually the developments are way behind schedule. It's only now that Uhuru has prioritized them as legacy matters.
#28 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 9:14:02 PM

Fyatu wrote:
A piecemeal and fragmented approach to affordable housing as was proposed by Kidero will not achieve massive affordable housing and will open avenues of corruption and exploitation of Kenyans. Statistics that are always peddled around by the media show that there is a deficit of 200000 houses. Thus, building 2000 houses here and another 500 there cannot fill this gap.Furthermore,Planting apartments within properly planned city estates of yesteryears defeats the purpose of dignified living.

I remember watching the legendary Micky Weche(a resident of Madaraka estate for many years) lamenting how those ugly NHC apartments planted in the estate recently have denied kids of playing fields, caused perennial water shortages and other ills associated on fitting 1000 people in a space that can only accommodate 100 or trying to drive 50000 cars on a road that has capacity for only 2000 cars.

Yes, this is not Angola but the government in Angola has demonstrated that it is possible to purposely work towards uplifting the living standards of wananchi by building from scratch proper and well thought out projects. H.E. Uhuru should break ground in Mavoko first and ensure that whatever is built there resembles at the very least Nyayo estate embakassi in terms of physical plan(google map Nyayo embakasi and see what i mean)

How many houses can the govt put up in Mavoko? How many houses has the Angolan govt provided?

The best way to put up and sustain affordable housing is by relaxing the market dynamics that make housing inaccessible. I believe Kenyans would live even as far as Naivasha/Nakuru/Emali if the transport infrastructure was in place.

In the US as an example, most of those who work in New York live in New Jersey a 100+KM distance and commute every day.

When it comes to housing you have to look at the bigger picture, the traffic from mlolongo to town takes you about 2hrs during peak times - add 5K more residents in the current state those commuting from mavoko to Nrb will take about 5hrs to get home or work.

Uhuru will need a network of commuter trains inplace first before anything else.
Fyatu
#29 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 9:35:49 PM

Fyatu wrote:

How many houses can the govt put up in Mavoko? How many houses has the Angolan govt provided?

The best way to put up and sustain affordable housing is by relaxing the market dynamics that make housing inaccessible. I believe Kenyans would live even as far as Naivasha/Nakuru/Emali if the transport infrastructure was in place.

In the US as an example, most of those who work in New York live in New Jersey a 100+KM distance and commute every day.

When it comes to housing you have to look at the bigger picture, the traffic from mlolongo to town takes you about 2hrs during peak times - add 5K more residents in the current state those commuting from mavoko to Nrb will take about 5hrs to get home or work.

Uhuru will need a network of commuter trains inplace first before anything else.

I think its 5000 units in mavoko. I cannot put a number on the houses built in Angola.

Anyway, i agree with you fully about market dynamics and that is why i said this project must be well thought out. Someone here on wazua hypothesized about the SGR corridor from Athi river all the way to Naivasha but still more is reqired in terms of infrastructure and change of mentality from Kenyans themselves
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#30 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:06:56 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

GoK does not work like that ati you make a speech during Jamhuri and things happen. The housing agenda and redevelopment of eastlands was started under Moi then perfected under Kibaki Nairobi metropolitan ministry and an action plan developed all part of vision 2030. Actually the developments are way behind schedule. It's only now that Uhuru has prioritized them as legacy matters.

Come on don't lie whereas we have documents over & over on the 4 big agendas. This is my area. Ask & I will refer you to the necessary documentation. 4 big agendas started in December 2017. Hiyo ya whatever ni yako boss.
Fullykenyan
#31 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:17:12 PM

The first thing the government should do, is to set infrastructure for both light rail and inter city/ town rail system. If an area is suffering from constant traffic jams, you dont just expand roads. Expanded road system has never solved any traffic snarl-ups, however, an improved railway system goes a long way in improving smooth transport operations.
As from october, i will be working 150 kilometeres away from home, however, it will only take me 55 minutes from my door to the office.
I wonder what our engineers learn in those universities of ours
#32 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 12:36:30 AM

Fullykenyan wrote:
The first thing the government should do, is to set infrastructure for both light rail and inter city/ town rail system. If an area is suffering from constant traffic jams, you dont just expand roads. Expanded road system has never solved any traffic snarl-ups, however, an improved railway system goes a long way in improving smooth transport operations.
As from october, i will be working 150 kilometeres away from home, however, it will only take me 55 minutes from my door to the office.

Nothing! They only go to get papers. You cannot talk of mass housing projects without a proper road n rail network. And matatus will not be the answer either. No more new road is needed in Nairobi. They just need a light rail connecting the metropolis mks-athiriver-kajiado-limuru
Thitifini
#33 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 1:09:24 AM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

Come on don't lie whereas we have documents over & over on the 4 big agendas. This is my area. Ask & I will refer you to the necessary documentation. 4 big agendas started in December 2017. Hiyo ya whatever ni yako boss.

Hehehe. Alright @AA. @Wukan, very true.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
wukan
#34 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 10:02:45 AM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

So how do you explain this tender for Parkroad, Starehe, Shauri Moyo from the year 2014?

https://www.kenyaenginee...n-development-tender-2/
#35 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 1:01:57 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

So how do you explain this tender for Parkroad, Starehe, Shauri Moyo from the year 2014?

https://www.kenyaenginee...n-development-tender-2/

The tender was not done as part of/under the big 4 agenda

1. This invitation for Expression of Interest follows the guidelines as expressed in the Public Private Partnership (PPP) Act of 2013.

2. The Government of Kenya through the Ministry of Land, Housing and Urban Development under National Housing Programme seeks to facilitate, through multiple strategies, development of over 300,000 housing units across the country. Most of the housing development will be done through PPP contractual arrangements. The programme commences with the construction of over 6,000 housing units in parcels of land located in Nairobi City county. The projects shall comprise financing, design, construction and management of housing units and associated amenities as indicated below:

wukan
#36 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 1:22:20 PM

Kwani which Big 4 agenda housing projects is the president launching?

And yesterday, Transport Cabinet Secretary James Macharia said the President would launch various housing projects in a month’s time. “The Government has given more emphasis to housing and all the planning is already done. It is now action time and in four weeks, the President will launch seven key housing projects in Nairobi.” Speaking at the official launch of the Habitat Country Programme Document, the CS said the projects woudl then be rolled out in other counties. “We are beginning with Park Road, Kiambiu and Starehe in Nairobi, and Mavoko in Machakos. This is part of the 500,000 housing units the President has promised to build in his final term,” Macharia said, adding that the Government, in collaboration with county governments, would build 2,000 housing units in each county.
Read more at: https://www.standardmedi...unch-7-housing-projects

Those ones for counties may not happen in your lifetime
Fullykenyan
#37 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 2:04:53 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:

Nothing! They only go to get papers. You cannot talk of mass housing projects without a proper road n rail network. And matatus will not be the answer either. No more new road is needed in Nairobi. They just need a light rail connecting the metropolis mks-athiriver-kajiado-limuru

The best thing that could happen to nairobi is the phasing out of matatus and they be replaced with a reliable transport system. A reliable transport system will subsidise ticket fares for students, the old and for those with disability. This is what happens in serious countries
#38 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 5:23:31 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:

The best thing that could happen to nairobi is the phasing out of matatus and they be replaced with a reliable transport system. A reliable transport system will subsidise ticket fares for students, the old and for those with disability. This is what happens in serious countries

A tram running from through Outer ring road - Jogoo rd - Haile sellasie - community all the way to ngong would take away 50% of all matatus in Kenya
#39 Posted : Friday, August 24, 2018 8:50:41 PM

#40 Posted : Sunday, August 26, 2018 7:24:11 AM

Funding to come from the salaried ....

https://www.standardmedi...und-uhuru-s-housing-bid