wazua Fri, Apr 26, 2024

8 Pages123>»
Affordable Housing by Government of Kenya
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2018 8:05:00 PM

Please excuse my ignorance but someone please educate me on how the government is planning to provide affordable housing.

Will they build houses and then rent them so that GOK becomes a landlord?

Will they build houses and sell them?

Will they develop land, as in roads, water, power sewage and then sell plots for people to build houses?

Have the plots of land on which this affordable housing will be constructed been identified?

How affordable are the houses going to be? What price does the GOK hope to provide the houses?

I just got concerned because right now the average mortgage in Kenya is for Ksh. 150,000 per month for 20 years.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2018 9:00:10 PM

Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land
2. Put in necessary infrastructure e.g sewage, roads etc
3. The KMRC will provide loans with subsidized interest rates
4. Tax exemption for developers meeting a certain target
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2018 9:09:11 PM

Gava is emersed in debt, big 4 is dying pole pole.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2018 11:00:07 PM

Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

Asante Swenani. Umesikia fununu za bei?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2018 11:53:34 PM

Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

These are pipe dreams, unless Uncle Sam steps in

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Fyatu
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 9:19:50 AM

Please excuse my ignorance but someone please educate me on how the government is planning to provide affordable housing.

Will they develop land, as in roads, water, power sewage and then sell plots for people to build houses?

Have the plots of land on which this affordable housing will be constructed been identified?

How affordable are the houses going to be? What price does the GOK hope to provide the houses?

I just got concerned because right now the average mortgage in Kenya is for Ksh. 150,000 per month for 20 years.

We were told ground breaking will be in May 2018. We are now in August approaching September but not even the construction of a shiny plaque(for mtukufu rais) in the proposed sites has been done. Meanwhile, it has been all kizungu mingi na catwalk by the technocrats responsible for making affordable housing possible.Kenyans are damned. In some countries the government just calls mu-shina and tell them to build complete new cities alafu kesi baadaye...hata kama title deed ya KPA bandari ama JKIA itatumiwa kama collateral pia ni sawa

see LINK

Huko sio tafadhali...sijui pris...sijui mnataka nifanye nini? Wananchi and future generations are suffering and exploited by some landlords from certain ethnicities. Nyumba ni giza, plus hakuna maji, plus hakuna owanja ya watoto...sio boda boda zooming by, sio wines and spirits na umalaya..sio sewage...yawa! The problem of housing in Kenya is even threatening our heritage. Huko stoney Athi and the larger Kajiado wildlife habitats are getting lost by the minute due to our greed for blotis where we intend to build ugly flats like those found in Ruaka, pipeline, mathare north,githurai, mwiki and other slums

The same zeal we built SGR and rendered akina Joho jobless huko Mombasa should be applied in housing and bring sense to some people that if you want to build rentals, build houses that you and your family can live in without msongamano. Kanjo and county government should be cleaned up and get rid of the incompetent planning and urbanization officers who got jobs through nepotism and employ young graduates scatterd all over the nation
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 9:29:01 AM

There is plenty of land in Nairobi. They should start by demolishing these old Eastlando estates & building decent housing.
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 10:39:19 AM

Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

Nimeskia ranging from 0.5M-3M

But pia kuna for the wealthy, I heard that 30% of all the buildings will be for people like you who can afford the houses at market rates.
wukan
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:13:33 AM

Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

But pia kuna for the wealthy, I heard that 30% of all the buildings will be for people like you who can afford the houses at market rates.

you do 24 floors to sell at 0.5m per unitd'oh! Unless you are making them korogocho style. Makes sense at around 5-7m. Anything less is building vertical slums. You will be doing 24 floors without working lifts, garbage collection, water pumping. You will end with the US projects where you get mugged on 5th floor on your way to your 13th floor, hookers and junkies all around and cops covering some murder scene.
Fyatu
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:35:18 AM

GK should simply forcefully repossess land for the greater national good. What the technocrats at the concerned ministry keep whining about is just plain procrastination...wanachelewesha wa Kenya.

After repossessing land they can build slums that look lLike this where atleast in case of a fire a single house can burn to the ground without burning other houses and a Kenyan can give directions to relatives from ushago using house number and street name. With proper housing security is improved as well as general welfare.

inawezekana na itawezekana....Alfred Mutua's proverb
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:35:34 AM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

you do 24 floors to sell at 0.5m per unitd'oh! Unless you are making them korogocho style. Makes sense at around 5-7m. Anything less is building vertical slums. You will be doing 24 floors without working lifts, garbage collection, water pumping. You will end with the US projects where you get mugged on 5th floor on your way to your 13th floor, hookers and junkies all around and cops covering some murder scene.

Where in the US is this found?

#12 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:37:19 AM

Fyatu wrote:

We were told ground breaking will be in May 2018. We are now in August approaching September but not even the construction of a shiny plaque(for mtukufu rais) in the proposed sites has been done. Meanwhile, it has been all kizungu mingi na catwalk by the technocrats responsible for making affordable housing possible.Kenyans are damned. In some countries the government just calls mu-shina and tell them to build complete new cities alafu kesi baadaye...hata kama title deed ya KPA bandari ama JKIA itatumiwa kama collateral pia ni sawa

see LINK

Huko sio tafadhali...sijui pris...sijui mnataka nifanye nini? Wananchi and future generations are suffering and exploited by some landlords from certain ethnicities. Nyumba ni giza, plus hakuna maji, plus hakuna owanja ya watoto...sio boda boda zooming by, sio wines and spirits na umalaya..sio sewage...yawa! The problem of housing in Kenya is even threatening our heritage. Huko stoney Athi and the larger Kajiado wildlife habitats are getting lost by the minute due to our greed for blotis where we intend to build ugly flats like those found in Ruaka, pipeline, mathare north,githurai, mwiki and other slums

The same zeal we built SGR and rendered akina Joho jobless huko Mombasa should be applied in housing and bring sense to some people that if you want to build rentals, build houses that you and your family can live in without msongamano. Kanjo and county government should be cleaned up and get rid of the incompetent planning and urbanization officers who got jobs through nepotism and employ young graduates scatterd all over the nation

"Mnataka nifanye nini sasa?"

Fyatu
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 11:39:33 AM

Fyatu wrote:

see LINK

"Mnataka nifanye nini sasa?"

Kenyans should remember that there have been much lesser promises than big 4 that were never fulfiled...e.g., 4 stadiums, laptops, 10000 kms of road etc
wukan
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 2:21:02 PM

Fyatu wrote:
GK should simply forcefully repossess land for the greater national good. What the technocrats at the concerned ministry keep whining about is just plain procrastination...wanachelewesha wa Kenya.

After repossessing land they can build slums that look lLike this where atleast in case of a fire a single house can burn to the ground without burning other houses and a Kenyan can give directions to relatives from ushago using house number and street name. With proper housing security is improved as well as general welfare.

inawezekana na itawezekana....Alfred Mutua's proverb

Govt can always take over any land provided it compensates. There is plenty of empty land in Nairobi even in high end neighborhoods. The first housing pilot is on 5000 acres in Mavoko owned by GoK. Of course public procurement procedures is delaying the projects.

The slum upgrading you are proposing was tried out disastrously in Mathare 4A. Slum upgrading should be simple 4-5 floors either well connected to public transport nodes or sandwiched in higher income neighborhoods. In Kileleshwa there are some decent slums areas which can be upgraded to social housing. Another area was the deep sea slums(parklands) which could have easily be upgraded into decent social housing.

The problem is see in Nairobi is this horrible concept of concentrating poor people in one area. It does not help them escape their poverty. They need access to income to start improving their livelihoods. That income comes from the poor providing goods and services to higher income areas. All the Eastlands(ofafa, Marish, Jeri) were colonial slum upgrading initiatives. The end product has been poverty trickling down the generations.
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 3:28:23 PM

Won't KE Government be crazy ati to BUY LAND to build houses in Nairobi, or near Nairobi, for the convenience of middro crass and slum dwellers who have taken a mbukinya express, or were born in the city and forgotten how many titles and land people's in ushago have which they conveniently ignore, and on top of that ati compensate them Laughing out loudly watu sii watajengewa kwao ama nini?. Some of these houses nowadays can be carried in a lorry to the poor folks up country. This not Angola, or SA, or socialist TZ, or Ethiopia, or fighting South Sudan where people don't have titles, Those who have come to Nairobi can take care of themselves, not to be built for houses, not unless you are going to work in a place like Konza City, where am going to do something in particular, but you can't just take a matatu and put a shed there, barabara zimetegenezwa, stima zimefikishwa, solar iko na njia zingine zitatoka Konza, pesa mashinani imefanywa Nairobi slums and the shady towns may soon become ghost towns and if you want to stick there, you will need to live in a good lively secure neighbourhood. This houses will mostly be in the landed counties, and not the Cities. That is the angle am approaching this problem from. Urban to rural migration. This goes hand with boosting agriculture, and manufacturing.
A New Kenya
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 3:46:42 PM

Why construct in Nairobi? Why not Kajiado Kisumu Kakamega? We should be moving out of Nairobi. And govt should not construct but enable investors to provide affordable housing. We cannot rely fully on socialism a bigger % of the population is unemployed
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 4:02:43 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

What is the cost of constructing a two bedroom house 80m2 excluding cost of land?
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 4:59:20 PM

If you look at a Google Earth snapshop of Nairobi the one thing that stands out as far as space is concerned is the Nairobi National Park. 30,000 acres. The other is some desert looking area East and South East of the Ruai Sewage treatment plant. I do not know whether this is part of the infamous Embakasi Ranching Company land but there is a few tens of thousands of acres of empty space there.
wukan
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 5:00:53 PM

wukan wrote:
Mimi niliskia GOK will,
1. Provide land

What is the cost of constructing a two bedroom house 80m2 excluding cost of land?

The firms bid and the contracts were awarded in 2016. With those billions you can't do 0.5 m houses.

Bachelors/Jevanjee estates will be developed by Jabavu Village Limited at a cost of Sh9.1 billion.

About 1,500 units will be added to the current 80 units.

Lordship Africa was awarded a contract to build 2,500 houses in Ngong Road estate at a bid sum of Sh24 billion.

New Ngara estate will be redeveloped by KCB/S&L, which won a Sh9 billion tender to put up 1,500 houses in the area

https://www.the-star.co....-of-new-houses_c1460336

#20 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2018 5:02:28 PM

The answer to the housing problem lies in the alchemy of the people.

Only when each individual takes up the responsibility of ennobling his/her self will we have dignifying houses and an optimal environment for flourish.