wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

Kingdom Securities Online Trading Down
zone_of_silence
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 4:59:22 PM

Hello all.

Any info on why Kingdom Securities online trading site has been down for the second day today?

I have lost a great opportunity due to this outage.

I bought CIC shares following the news by KSL that it is a buy. So, I went in and bought CIC shares on Tuesday this week (not with a long term objective but with the intent of cashing in on the effect of such news).

So I went in at Kshs. 4.60 and today, it was my time to drop it and make that extra cash as per my goal. However, KSL website has been down since yesterday. So, I have LOST that opportunityPray as the price today dropped to 4.9 from yesterdays 5.05. Ahead of me with the price drop and the website outage, I foresee a TRAGEDY.

Both their main site(https://kingdomsecurities.co.ke/)

and their trading website (http://trading.kingdomsecurities.co.ke/)

are down.

What a loss for me. Anyone who has been affected by this broker's outage. What could be the reason for this prolonged outage?
Kwiklana
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 6:04:09 PM

@zone_of_silence sorry about the lost trading opportunity. I almost developed ulcers today as there is a counter I really wanted to keep a close eye on, and bolt out if necessary. Thank heavens it did not become necessary today.

They rectified it briefly in the morning but then it went down again. After sometime I was sent a link which was taking too long to connect and kept timing out. Am seriously hoping they are working on it...I did not even want to know the reason for the outage...I just wanted the damn thing to work!!
zone_of_silence
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 6:40:23 PM

@Kwiklana,thanks for your reply. Great for you that the need to bail out ceased to exist during the outage period.

Such an outage adds another layer of risk to trading. The outage comes unannounced and with no timelines on when it will end.

The outage subjects an investor to rely on two things:

1. Luck: So, that during the outage, the prices don't tank.

2. Hope: The hope that the prices don't slide during the outage period. Hope as well that the website will be back in good time before losses are suffered.

Lets hope (do point 2) that the website will be working soon.
Kwiklana
#4 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 9:21:29 AM

Looks like we are stuck again with the KSL OST!
littledove
#5 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 12:17:26 PM

Kwiklana wrote:

they are not serious, and as usual they are not answering calls
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#6 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 12:22:57 PM

littledove wrote:
Kwiklana wrote:

Thats really annoying...
cyruskulei
#7 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 12:30:21 PM

littledove wrote:
Kwiklana wrote:

Thats really annoying...

Pole sana.

Thats very unfortunate and unacceptable. Especially when the services are being charged.

Loosing money due to inefficient systems.

I dont know if one day we can ask for compensation from some of this firms due to their negligence and inefficiencies.

May be for now, explore other ways of managing your account. Or you will be suffer pressure and stress which are very expensive in the long run.
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

#8 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 12:53:35 PM

Can't you call them to place a trade?
myStocks is pretty good for live prices.
zone_of_silence
#9 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 3:00:59 PM

The market is closing and KSL online trading platform is still dead.

Pesa Nane
#10 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 4:13:24 PM

zone_of_silence wrote:

Movement PAP! Do not entertain mediocrity. Choices abound
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#11 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 4:39:33 PM

zone_of_silence wrote:

If I may ask, what is so special to you about Kingdom Securities Limited's online trading platform that you stick to it even when it lets you down so brazenly?

There are other avenues to trade securities, including smartphone based platforms.

Pray do tell.
zone_of_silence
#12 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 4:44:49 PM

Yeah. Pesa nane I,ve got to move. Monday, I'll have to do another broker. loss imeingia pap.

@VVS. Thanks for that suggestion.

Given that you (VVS) ni mzee wa kuheshimika, Am going to find out how I can register with mystock. I normally use their website for checking daily trading.

VVS, I have looked at their demo.How do you trade on mystocks. Do you send them your purchase orders via email? Can you put a buy/sell order in realtime without email? I have looked at their demo on their website but I can't get to see how orders are placed.
Pesa Nane
#13 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 5:29:35 PM

zone_of_silence wrote:
Yeah. Pesa nane I,ve got to move. Monday, I'll have to do another broker. loss imeingia pap.

@VVS. Thanks for that suggestion.

Given that you (VVS) ni mzee wa kuheshimika, Am going to find out how I can register with mystock. I normally use their website for checking daily trading.

VVS, I have looked at their demo.How do you trade on mystocks. Do you send them your purchase orders via email? Can you put a buy/sell order in realtime without email? I have looked at their demo on their website but I can't get to see how orders are placed.

Stock Trading is done via stock brokers.

List of NSE Registered Stock Brokers

Dyer & Blair Investment Bank Ltd
Goodman Tower, 7th floor,
P.O. Box 45396 00100
Tel: 3240000/2227803/4/5
Fax: 2218633
Email: shares@dyerandblair.com
Web: www.dyerandblair.com

Suntra Investment Bank Ltd
Nation Centre,7th Floor,
P.O. Box 74016-00200
Tel: 2870000/247530/2223330/2211846/0724- 257024, 0733-222216
Fax: 2224327
Email: info@suntra.co.ke
Web: www.suntra.co.ke

Kingdom Securities Ltd
Co-operative Bank House,5th Floor,
P.O Box 48231 00100
Tel: 3276940/3276256/3276154
Fax: 3276156
Email: info@kingdomsecurities.co.ke

Sterling Capital Ltd
Barclays Plaza, 11th Floor, Loita Street,
P.O. Box 45080- 00100
Tel: 2213914/244077/ 0723153219/0734219146
Fax: 2218261
Email: info@sterlingib.com
Web: www.sterlingib.com

NIC Securities Limited
Ground Floor, NIC House, Masaba Road,
P.O.Box 44599-00100
Tel: 2888 444 / 0711 041 444
Fax: 2888 505
Email: info@nic-securities.com
Web: www.nic-securities.com

African Alliance Securities
Transnational Plaza, 1st Floor, Wing B,
P.O. Box 27639 - 00506
Tel: +254 20 276 2000/ +254 20 276 2600
Fax: +254 20 221 6070
Email: info@africanalliance.com
Web: www.africanalliance.com

CBA Capital Limited
CBA Centre Mara Ragati Road Junction, Upper Hill,
P.O. Box 30437-00100
Tel: 0202884000/+254 20 2884000 / 365, 0711056365
Fax: 0202734616

Barclays Financial Services Limited
Waiyaki Way,
West End Building, Floor 5
Tel: + 254 (0)20 4254000 / + 254 (0)20 4254501 / +254 711 097000
Email: Barclays.kenya@barclays.com

Francis Drummond & Company Limited
Hughes Building, 2nd floor,
P.O. Box 45465 00100
Tel: 318690/318689
Fax: 2223061
Email: info@drummond.co.ke
Web: www.drummond.co.ke

Old Mutual Securities Ltd
IPS Building, 6th Floor,
P. O. Box 50338- 00200
Tel: 2241379, 2241408
Fax: 2241392
Email:info.oms@oldmutualkenya.com
Web: www.oldmutual.co.ke

AIB CAPITAL LTD
Finance House, 9th Floor,
P.O. Box 11019-00100
Tel: 220178 / 2212206
Fax: 2210500
Email: info@aibcapital.com
Web: www.aibcapital.com

ApexAfrica Capital Ltd
The Riverfront, 1st Floor, Prof. David Wasawo Drive, Off Riverside Drive ,
P.O. Box 43676- 00100
Tel: +254-020-7602525/020 2226440 
Email: invest@apexafrica.com
Web: www.apexafrica.com

Standard Investment Bank Ltd
ICEA Building, 16th floor,
P. O. Box 13714- 00800
Tel: 2228963/2228967/2228969
Fax: 240297
Email: info@sib.co.ke

Renaissance Capital (Kenya) Ltd
Purshottam Place ,6th Floor, Westland , Chiromo Road,
P.O BOX 40560-00100
Tel: 3682000
Fax: 3632339
Email: infokenya@rencap.com
Web: www.rencap.com

Equity Investment Bank Limited
Equity Centre, Hospital Road, Upper Hill,
P.O Box 75104 – 00200
Tel: +254-20-2262477 Mobile: +254-732-112477/+254-711-026477
Fax: +254 20 2711439
Web: www.equitybankgroup.com

Securities Africa Kenya Limited
The Exchange Building, 2nd Floor,Westlands Road,
P.O Box 19018-00100
Tel: +254-735 571530, +254-714 646406
Email:infoke@securitiesafrica.com
Web: www.securitiesafrica.com

Ngenye Kariuki & Co. Ltd. (Under Statutory Management)
Corner House, 8th floor,
P. O. Box 12185-00400
Tel: 224333/2220052/2220141
Fax: 2217199/241825
Email: ngenyekari@wananchi.com
Web: www.ngenyestockbrokers.co.ke

SBG Securities Ltd
CfC Stanbic Centre, 58 Westlands Road,
P. O. Box 47198 – 00100
Tel: 3638900
Fax: 3752950
Email: sbgs@stanbic.com
Web: www.sbgsecurities.co.ke

ABC Capital Ltd
IPS Building, 5th floor,
P.O. Box 34137-00100
Tel: 2246036/2245971
Fax: 2245971
Email: headoffice@abccapital.co.ke

Faida Investment Bank Ltd
Crawford Business park, Ground Floor, State House Road,
P. O. Box 45236-00100
Tel: +254-20-7606026-35
Fax: 2243814
Email: info@fib.co.ke
Web: www.fib.co.ke

Kestrel Capital (EA) Limited
2nd Floor, Orbit Place, Westlands Road,
P.O. Box 40005-00100
Tel: 251758/2251893,2251815,2250082
Fax: 2243264
Email: info@kestrelcapital.com
Web: www.kestrelcapital.com

Genghis Capital Ltd
1st Floor, Purshottam Place Building, Westlands Road,
P.O Box 9959-00100, Nairobi Kenya
Tel: +254 730145000 / +254 709185000
Fax: 246334
Email: info@genghis-capital.com

KCB Capital
Kencom House 2nd Floor,
P.O Box 48400 – 00100
Tel: +254 711 012 000 / 734 108 200, +254 20 3270000 / 2851000 / 2852000
Email:investmentbanking@kcb.co.ke
Web: kcb.co.ke

EFG Hermes Kenya Limited
Orbit Place, 8th Floor, Westlands Road,
P.O Box 349, 00623
Tel: +254 (020) 3743040
Email: kenyaoperations@EFG-HERMES.com
Web: www.EFG-HERMES.com

Source: NSE
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
zone_of_silence
#14 Posted : Friday, July 27, 2018 6:03:11 PM

@amathenge, which are the smartphone based please? I,ll be happy to try those. There is really no reason why I am stuck with KSL. Its only that I subscribed to it a long time ago based on a recommendation from my own brother.(My reply has come in a little late because this website still places a hours restriction between replies on my side).

Pesa-nane thanks for that. I've seen this list before. I'm wondering how VVS does his thing with myStock since its not on that list. I don't know who amongst these brockers is the better/the best. Any recommendations? (though I've read some other old threads in this website on the issue of "the best brockers")? I'd prefer one that uses Chella software or its equivalent.
#15 Posted : Saturday, July 28, 2018 8:34:09 AM

zone_of_silence wrote:
@amathenge, which are the smartphone based please?

Copy and Paste Extract

M-Shares is a mobile trading platform developed by SBG Securities that enables individuals to trade in the Nairobi Securities Exchange

M-shares is a solution that enables you to trade using your mobile phones.

This platform enables you to buy and sell shares, fund your trading accounts, receive payments and get market information from your mobile devices.

All you need to do is dial *209#, register and start trading.

This service is available for clients on Safaricom, Airtel.

M-Shares is only available to Individuals.

Charges are encountered only when a trade is executed as follows;

• For a transaction above Kshs 100,000 – 1.85% per transaction.

• For a consideration below Kshs 100, 000 – 2.12% per transaction

These charges include brokerage commission and statutory charges.

For further information, click here
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 28, 2018 9:05:46 AM

myStocks provides data but one cannot trade using it.
I use it to see the live prices, trades and get data.
For chartists, it provides graphs/charts too.

For trades, one has to use a broker's online system and/or contact them.

I think all brokers use Chella for the back office since that is the standard. I do not know about the online trading platform.
zone_of_silence
#17 Posted : Saturday, July 28, 2018 10:16:58 AM

@aemathenge. Thanks for that sbg link.

@vvs thanks for that. Much respect for ya.

This weekend I'm going through these brockers' websites and doing my research extensively. An outage just before or after T+3 with a price drop is such a catastrophe for the short term "speculator".