wazua Mon, Apr 29, 2024

8 Pages123>»
M7 Social Media TAX -Excellent
Realtreaty
#1 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2018 8:50:36 PM

Applause Applause
On the first social thought I thought M7 must be a mad frustrated old man milking the young lads and lasses off their wealth

After reading his aim I can now tell they should start the SMtax in Kenya as well and keep our funds in Kenya than on those Facebook billionaires, those twitterags, those yahoobags, those instagrammers, those Vodafoneirs etc and develop our economy.

In fact make it 5% in Kenya as we are far much ahead and smarter than UGs

Why has Rotich not seen this?

Who support M7 like me to tell Parliament to have Thinking people than think tanks?

Bravo M7 for seeing how those PIGs get wealth out from our pockets.smile smile smile smile

https://www.businessdailyafrica....647636-t7ecis/index.html
#2 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2018 10:09:16 PM

It's a terrible idea to tax social social media. It would be ok if other countries are doing the same but now most Ugandans will not be able to keep up with the rest of the world. It's also obvious that the well to do of Uganda will not be affected, only the poorer. I think M7 is also afraid of an 'Arab spring' kind of resistance that can be raised through social media by foreign countries, as a dictator, even I would be afraid of platforms that offer these levels of freedom to people.

As for Kenya, this would be a terrible idea too because it a sector or platform that offers some sort of dreamy hope for the young, frustrated, unemployed Kenyans.

Realtreaty
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 07, 2018 1:34:55 PM

It's a terrible idea to tax social social media. It would be ok if other countries are doing the same but now most Ugandans will not be able to keep up with the rest of the world. It's also obvious that the well to do of Uganda will not be affected, only the poorer. I think M7 is also afraid of an 'Arab spring' kind of resistance that can be raised through social media by foreign countries, as a dictator, even I would be afraid of platforms that offer these levels of freedom to people.

As for Kenya, this would be a terrible idea too because it a sector or platform that offers some sort of dreamy hope for the young, frustrated, unemployed Kenyans.

Liar Liar
Re-read it again with open mind.
You have lost a lot because of a corrupted head in the past.
Re-read Bro,
#4 Posted : Saturday, July 07, 2018 4:03:25 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Applause Applause
On the first social thought I thought M7 must be a mad frustrated old man milking the young lads and lasses off their wealth

After reading his aim I can now tell they should start the SMtax in Kenya as well and keep our funds in Kenya than on those Facebook billionaires, those twitterags, those yahoobags, those instagrammers, those Vodafoneirs etc and develop our economy.

Who support M7 like me to tell Parliament to have Thinking people than think tanks?

Bravo M7 for seeing how those PIGs get wealth out from our pockets.smile smile smile smile

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Museveni's communication team are miles ahead of their counterparts in Africa. Simple clear statement. The social media tax is a brilliant idea.

I read that Uganda reduced their import bill from $7B to $5B. If true,then we should seriously consider sending Uhuru there for attachment.
#5 Posted : Saturday, July 07, 2018 5:10:47 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Applause Applause

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Museveni's communication team are miles ahead of their counterparts in Africa. Simple clear statement. The social media tax is a brilliant idea.

I read that Uganda reduced their import bill from $7B to $5B. If true,then we should seriously consider sending Uhuru there for attachment.

Crypto currency is taking root too with Binance setting shop. They probably lowered tax to compete against WeChat/Alibaba and our MPesa

#6 Posted : Saturday, July 07, 2018 7:10:18 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Applause Applause

I think uzee itawamaliza

Tax is not supposed to enrich gov't.

It is supposed to allow a gov't offer a service. Exactly which service is the gov't of Museveni offering to FB users?

I have read his simplistic statement.

He says social media is for gossiping and is a luxury.

If you and Museveni use FB for gossiping it's not my fault. Just because you are lazy and don't know how to use modern communication devices doesn't mean that I'm Immoral.

You guys sound like the fellas who use the internet to go to Pornhub.

It is just sad to see our friends in TZ being told to get a license to blog. Our friends in UG being told that using whatsapp is a luxury they should pay for..

Now we have neanderthals here on wazua who support such nonsense. Like that fella who wanted to make everyone pay 6k for posting their own personal videos on YouTube.

Boss, time has passed you by.

Ati tax for going to Facebook. I mean. Kama siujinga, ujinga ndio nini?

#7 Posted : Saturday, July 07, 2018 9:04:03 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Applause Applause

I think uzee itawamaliza

It is supposed to allow a gov't offer a service. Exactly which service is the gov't of Museveni offering to FB users?

If you and Museveni use FB for gossiping it's not my fault. Just because you are lazy and don't know how to use modern communication devices doesn't mean that I'm Immoral.

It is just sad to see our friends in TZ being told to get a license to blog. Our friends in UG being told that using whatsapp is a luxury they should pay for..

Now we have neanderthals here on wazua who support such nonsense. Like that fella who wanted to make everyone pay 6k for posting their own personal videos on YouTube.

@alma1 I also don't understand how they don't get that taxing social media that is not charged around the world is retrogressive. It would take us back to the stone ages. What exactly is wrong with gossip? Gossip is not an invention of social media. The dictator is afraid of open message sharing.

#8 Posted : Saturday, July 07, 2018 10:30:25 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Applause Applause

I think uzee itawamaliza

@alma1 I also don't understand how they don't get that taxing social media that is not charged around the world is retrogressive. It would take us back to the stone ages. What exactly is wrong with gossip? Gossip is not an invention of social media. The dictator is afraid of open message sharing.

Without gossip there would be no wazua

FRM2011 would never talk about raira
realtreaty would not tell us about the kikuyu kingdom
Impunity would not make us puke
Angelica would not be with the Tokyo guy
I would vote for Ruto

Wazua would be dead as a dodo. These people don't even have a like button yet.

Museveni is stupid. He's always been stupid. He's trying to get a fiefdom.

Hata Ruto amekataa mambo ya watoto wa wale kuwa president.

Ati chochomendia tax.....We shall work on you as we worked on that Ezekiel fella. Utanyamaza ama uende UG ao Tanzania.

Kitawelekana.

#9 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 12:14:37 AM

I am sorry - I don't agree! First of all - the fact that government can just decide to place a tax on something so abitrary is rather off with me. You cannot tax what is not paid for and what is not sold! if my mother gives me food - you cannot abtrarilly come up with a tax on it. Tax on trade - yes! let them tax where someone is buying or selling or property is changing hands. but taxes for taxes sake - no! I saw some idiots deciding to tax selfies taking... like what? what is wrong with people?

Secondly, people always need to ask themselves... what is the "greater good"... the "common good"... the single outcome we are seeking for and thus we are directing our efforts towards. This is normally informed by what ideology we as a country are following. in my opinion our "greater good" should not be to raise funds for government! no... it's to maximize individual quality of life.

Finally, of course what these lawyers don't know (because it's always lawyers that come up with such rent seeking ideas) is that technology does not really follow them and pretty soon people will be doing something totally different to circumvent them. wait and see.
#10 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 2:25:50 AM

How exactly would this tax be implemented? Will it be a tax on data? Is there a way of segmenting data so that you pay more for being on Facebook than being on Wikipedia?

Or would it be an entrance fee? As in the government will block access to Facebook on all phones and computers until you pay the tax then you get access? Is this possible?

Mimi sielewi mambo ya technology sana so somebody help me understand how it can be done. At this time I just want to understand how it will be done before I can even think if it is a good idea or not.
#11 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 11:23:24 AM

How exactly would this tax be implemented? Will it be a tax on data? Is there a way of segmenting data so that you pay more for being on Facebook than being on Wikipedia?

Or would it be an entrance fee? As in the government will block access to Facebook on all phones and computers until you pay the tax then you get access? Is this possible?

Mimi sielewi mambo ya technology sana so somebody help me understand how it can be done. At this time I just want to understand how it will be done before I can even think if it is a good idea or not.

You can segment. It's how China and a few other countries regulate the use of internet. Same way some misguided employers disable or regulate FB for employees to 'increase' employee production.

#12 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 3:59:26 PM

You can segment. It's how China and a few other countries regulate the use of internet. Same way some misguided employers disable or regulate FB for employees to 'increase' employee production.

How and where is this done? Is it a software program that the Government takes to Safaricom and tells them to install in their server or is it something CCK does?
Realtreaty
#13 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 9:01:29 PM

Africans never start anything before the white and the Indians exhaust it.

If this was introduced by Britain we would just jump in.

Britain is a beneficiary as they own Vodafone that milk our men and women.

The USA govt owns most of the social media and so we run and pay them without any tax going back to us but they receive wholesome as we again run to borrow from them

We tend to be too clever doing nothing (Professor Obel explained the weakness of being African)

We want to speak more English more than the English people but it does not help us as we do not still understand it.

Just because M7 started it (and he is not first one as those owners pay taxes they import from foolish countries) he skim him and call him names.

Time to remember why we were called Niggers.!!!

#14 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 9:06:37 PM

How and where is this done? Is it a software program that the Government takes to Safaricom and tells them to install in their server or is it something CCK does?

All government have control over the net in their respective countries. People think the internet is borderless. Not so. If Egypt and the others wanted to avoid the Arab spring, they would have but they underestimated it.
There is nothing coming into a country that the government doesn't have a control over, just like flights over our airspace. No government would allow this kind of uncontrollable technology in their country. Think about it, the time baba was sworn in, did you see any videos of the occasion on the net? Did you receive a whatsapp video of the swearing in within that day or week?

So, how the charging would work is, you have to log-in each time depending on your social media tariff. The mobile and internet provider could create a per minute, hour, daily, weekly, monthly or even annual charge as the charge is known. The charge should be equal to the tax with no extra charge. I think the providers should charge the government a tariff for collecting on their behalf.

davidkenya
#15 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 12:51:32 PM

hey.let me explain how this whole website blocking is done.frat of all a big middle finger to Museveni and his backward thinking.now when a government want to block websites all it says to the internet service providers in the country is to block for instance facebook.on the internet providers end they will for instance for facebook look at all the ip blocks that have been awarded to facebook under the different asn numbers they have and block those ip blocks from going through their network (the isp's network).so when you try to access the blocked website you get redirected to a message saying its blocked.But in this day and age its futile to block websites.he's how my fellow Ugandans can bypass the is blockade

1.Get a vpn.this is obvious.either paid or free they can go for a free vpn like www.vpngate.net or a paid one like https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/

2. they access the blocked website through the tor browser by downloading the browser here https://www.torproject.o...ects/torbrowser.html.en

3. or they can be adventurous and set up their own vpn buy getting a vps from digital ocean for instance and then installing openvpn on it. https://m.do.co/c/20c173f86910

4. or if the blockages is toooo aggressive like in china then they can use shadowsocksr https://shadowsocks.org/

all in all its very futile to lock social media
Realtreaty
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2018 9:21:08 PM

Kenyans are peculiar people.
Facebook = Payable
Instagram = Payable
Twitter = Payable
Google = payable
etc
What M7 meant is part of what we pay to these foreign companies should stay in our country of origin as a 0.5% levy (tax) payable by the ISPs

What the hell are we too cleverly trying to convey when we say NO?
Safaricom is 40 % owned by Vodafone then part of the money they earn by selling credits to us to log into social media should be retained in country 0.5%
M7 word of gossip was an example of how unknowingly lose ourselves for the benefit of others.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2018 9:43:39 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Facebook = Payable
Instagram = Payable
Twitter = Payable
Google = payable
etc
What M7 meant is part of what we pay to these foreign companies should stay in our country of origin as a 0.5% levy (tax) payable by the ISPs

Safaricom is 40 % owned by Vodafone then part of the money they earn by selling credits to us to log into social media should be retained in country 0.5%
M7 word of gossip was an example of how unknowingly lose ourselves for the benefit of others.

0.5% of What? What if you use office Internet? Or your company had a "free" whatsapp and facebook plan. What if you use Facebook once a month. Is the 0.5% still applicable? The problem is that people don't understand business models. Totally... how does Facebook make money from you? How does Google make money from you? Why punish the ISP and user but not the company making money?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2018 10:06:26 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Facebook = Payable
Instagram = Payable
Twitter = Payable
Google = payable
etc

0.5% of What? What if you use office Internet? Or your company had a "free" whatsapp and facebook plan. What if you use Facebook once a month. Is the 0.5% still applicable? The problem is that people don't understand business models. Totally... how does Facebook make money from you? How does Google make money from you? Why punish the ISP and user but not the company making money?

I agree. Taxing wazua and face book is upus as @alma would say.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2018 3:00:35 PM

Hii maneno mimi bado elewa.

1. If I use my FB app, using Safaricon data, is there any financial transaction that takes place between Safaricon and FB? And if there is, who pays who, and for what?

2. Is there any money that leaves our economy courtesy of FB, other than the repatriated Safcon (vodafone) data profits?

3. FB does free marketing in our territory, and makes money via adverts. Isn't it just a matter of time before they start paying taxes to host countries?

Someone elaborate.

Maybe, just maybe, Uganda will be the trigger!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 11, 2018 5:42:51 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Facebook = Payable
Instagram = Payable
Twitter = Payable
Google = payable
etc

It is not 5% . Tax payable is UGX 200 per day per mobile subscriber. All other users can use the line via hotspot once it is paid for.